We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Suites Guatemala City

Save Saved
You added Clarion Suites Guatemala City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Suites Guatemala City
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   14 Street 3-08 Zona 10, Guatemala City 01010, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 47 Hotels in Guatemala City
Israel
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A very good value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

A very nice suite at a price of a room in a very good zone of town.
Food is good. Stuff are very friendly (Especially Maria from the Bar which can make a great Mujito cocktail). Rooms are very clean, large and well equipped.
Gym can use some update.

Room Tip: I had rooms at two different flors on two visits and both were very nice and fairly the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionSuites, Revenue Manager at Clarion Suites Guatemala City, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments. We are glad that you had a great stay and that you enjoy it.

We hope to see you soon.

Best Regards,

Alejandra Samayoa
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    49
    11
    4
    6
See reviews for
20
19
11
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Karlskrona, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

This is a regular Clarion Hotel, very basic size of the room, is clean, comfortable, easy to get to. There is a shuttle from/to the Airport no charge, ok is very nearby.
Is very nearby a lot of restaurants in Zona 10. The breakfast is good compare to other hotels in Guatemala City. But is quite expensive compared to similar hotels that include WiFi or breakfast in the rate. The service in the hotel is better than others in the City, and the staff has a lot of attentions to the customers.

As most of the hotels in Guatemala City the furniture doesn't look that new as well. Gym is small but with very basic things.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionSuites, Revenue Manager at Clarion Suites Guatemala City, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your comments about our hotel and staff.

We are glad that you enjoy your stay.

We hope to see you soon.

Best Regards,

Alejandra Samayoa
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaragua Do Sul, SC
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

We stayed at the hotel not by choice, but because we had no reservations and there was no other available, the only available room was in the 16th floor of Clarion, and to be honest, it looked old and I wasn´t very excited about staying there at first. Fortunately I was wrong, we had a very pleasant stay. Confortable, quiet, really nice staff.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionSuites, Revenue Manager at Clarion Suites Guatemala City, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinio with our Tripadvisor readers.

We inform you that we are in a processing of changing our internet service at suites at wifi, with high speed and this will assure a better quality and efectiveness.

We hope you give us the opportunity to serve you in the future.

Best Regards,

Alejandra Samayoa
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

The condition of the rooms its a little old. From my point of view what you pay for what you get its low...

They charge you for the internet when the other ones give it for free, in addition the speed its not good.

The hotel ita not business oriented....

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night, the service is standard nothing special, very nice room, the problem was that they charged us twice without authorization, the company notice me all the charges at the moment on my cellphone, we complain but so far nothing has been resolved

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionSuites, Revenue Manager at Clarion Suites Guatemala City, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Tahnk you for your comment, unfortunately a pre-authorization was made to your debit card, and and the end of the stay you provided a credit card.

We now solved this situation, and what we do, was to send a letter to your local bank.

We send our appologies for all the invonceniences.

Best Regards,

Alejandra Samayoa
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Stayed at the Clarion when Westin Camino Real was booked weekend of March 28-30.
Overall, this place is a way better deal then the Camino, and with a few tweaks, it would be a five star.

Upside:

a.Clarion is in the zona viva, where you can walk during the daytime. Note: Don't carry beyond the hotel your Ipad, iPhone, or anything else you wouldn't want to surrender; Guatemala is rated one of the 20 most dangerous cities in the world. Clarion is also surrounded by 24 hour shops and restaurants. Although the Camino Real is just two blocks away, if you are dead tired at the end of the day, walking less than half a block to a restaurant or a 24 hour store, versus the two blocks from the Camino, oddly makes a difference.
b. very helpful and friendly reception and staff (I sent them email with boarding passes, by the time I made it downstairs, they were already printed out).
c. big rooms, many with views. small but serviceable flat screens. unstocked mini fridge that fits big water bottles; good beds.
d. reasonable room service. A+ service; B food, with one qualifier: The $10 breakfast is huge and worth every penny. It will keep you tanked until mid-afternoon. (fresh juice; plate of fresh fruit; scrambled eggs with bacon; toast; pot of coffee). Camino charges twice as much.
e. gym is actually decent sized (three treadmills, separate weight room; located on 17th floor, view of city while you're sweating it out). Camino Real gym is more upscale, but it's in basement and local use it for $10, which is not great when crowded.
f. ATM machine in well guarded lobby.
g. bar and restaurant are reasonable.
h. small store (water, wine, Hershey chocolates, tchotchkes) with funky hours (9-10pm week days, sometimes open weekends).
i. hotel cabs always at the ready outside, and they are spotless and reliable.
j. last but not least: It's $50 a night cheaper than the Camino Real, when you factor in the free Internet ($15 a day at Camino). My room, with taxes and internet (and free welcome drink: beer or vodka, go figure...), was $86 a night. The internet is fantastic and fast; even better, and unlike the Camino, which gouges travelers for everything they touch, the Clarion gives you a one-time password which you do not have to re-set every time you open your Mac or PC.

What would push Clarion up to *****:
a. better a/c: because the Clarion's walls, all 17 floors of them, are mostly windows, it's hot, and a/c is barely functional. Instruct cleaning staff not to turn off a/c during the day when you are out.
b. hardwood floors, while spotless, are hard, and a throwaway pair of slippers would be nice.
c. biz center is not a biz center, it's in a corner of the hotel mini-mart. Hotel needs a dedicated room for biz travelers.
d. room service is inconsistent: waiters who deliver it are wonderful, but ordering is funky: I ordered a chef salad and the guy on the phone told me it did not come with dressing. I asked if they had dressing. He told me they had oil and vinegar. I said fine. When food arrived, there was a soup cup filled with Thousand Island dressing, one part mayo to 100 parts water.
e. restaurant could use a serious facelift. It has this huge waterfall in the back that, somewhat incongruously is set in a gloomy, dark room.
f. no pool, but who has time to use it.
g. keep the store open on weekends and get a dedicated credit card machine so the cashier doesn't have to run your charge over to the front lobby.

Bottom line:

If you are looking to relax or you have kids who will live in the pool, go to the Camino or the Barceló Although, with the latter, ask yourself if you want to be in zone nine; it's dicey.The Reforma Avenue, which divides zone ten (Camino Real and Clarion) from zone nine (Barceló) is a bigger deal than it looks on Googlemaps: there is nowhere to walk in zone nine, even in the daytime, while zone ten offers options, and zone nine is dangerous. I witnessed an armed hold-up at the drive through window of the McDonald's down the street from the Barceló when I was coming in from the airport one night.

If you are looking to do business but you don't want to get gouged: Clarion.

If price is no object: The Camino, I guess, but insist on a decent room (tell them you want a pool view) or you will get one with no windows, or one directly above the disco, or one facing the a/c compressors.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionSuites, Revenue Manager at Clarion Suites Guatemala City, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are glad that you enjoy your visit in Guatemala, and also in our hotel. We would like to thank you for all the details that you have share to the tripadvisor readers.

As well as we will take your suggestions.

We hope to see you soon.

Best Regards,

Alejandra Samayoa
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontariariario
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We stayed at the Clarion Suites, Guatemala City before our flight home from a wonderful stay in Panajachel and Santa Cruz, Guatemala. As it was a 3 hour trip from Pana to Guatemala City, we wanted the security of being near the airport the night before our trip. What a great choice the Clarion Suites was! First class all the way, from reception to the room to the restaurant, to the shuttle service to the airport! The staff were very helpful. Everything in the suite was super-clean and well-appointed. I cannot comment on the internet service as we did not carry our computer with us, but there was a computer available in the Business Centre. Kudos also to Expedia - not a glitch in the check-in or check-out. Highly recommend as your pre-flight accommodation.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionSuites, Revenue Manager at Clarion Suites Guatemala City, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are glad that you enjoy your visit in our country and also in our hotel. We hope to see you soon and of course that you experience to stay again with us.

It will be a pleasure to see you again.

Best Regards,

Alejandra Samayoa
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Suites Guatemala City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Suites Guatemala City

Address: 14 Street 3-08 Zona 10, Guatemala City 01010, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Guatemala City
#7 Business Hotel in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Suites Guatemala City 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Suites Hotel is located at the heart of the "Zona Viva" the commercial district of Guatemala city, near from the most important Offices, International Banks, Embassies, Organisms, Restaurants, Entertainment Center and the most exclusive Malls. It is the only hotel in Guatemala that has the ALL SUITES concept, with 172 suites of 52 square meters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Clarion Suites Guatemala City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Suites Guatemala City Hotel Guatemala City
Clarion Hotel Guatemala City
Clarion Guatemala City
Guatemala City Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Suites Guatemala City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.