We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Guatemala 4 business” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Suites Guatemala City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Suites Guatemala City to your Saves list
Clarion Suites Guatemala City
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   14 Street 3-08 Zona 10, Guatemala City 01010, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 47 Hotels in Guatemala City
Costa Rica
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Guatemala 4 business”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Excellent food, beautiful restaurant area, strategic location, Comfortable rooms, amazing view of Guatemala City, Oustanding service, a detail to improve, the hotel must to install modern lcd or Led TV.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionSuites, Reveue Manager at Clarion Suites Guatemala City, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Mr. Retana, thank you for your comment. We are glad that you enjoy your stay in our hotel.

We also thank you for your suggestion, we will consider it.

We look forward to hearing from you soon.

Best Regards,

Alejandra Samayoa
revenuemanager@clarionguatemala.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    56
    12
    4
    6
See reviews for
21
21
11
87
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

It is difficult to find anything negative to say about this Hotel, in which all of the rooms are suites. My wife and I stayed here on a vacation for 6 nights, and everything about this hotel was first-rate. Our 2-room suite was very clean, modern, well-maintained, and well-serviced. Everybody on the hotel staff was exceptionally friendly and eager to be of service. Once you have made your reservations, you can email the hotel and they will make sure the free hotel shuttle van is there to pick you up (in our particular situation, the shuttle van was out of service when we arrived, so the hotel arranged for a taxi, and we were met by a taxi driver holding up a sign with our name, and the hotel paid for the trip). The hotel itself is only a short distance from the airport; however, it is on the opposite side of the runway from the passenger terminal, so the trip takes about 10 minutes. Nearly everyone at the hotel speaks English, so don't worry if you don't speak Spanish. The hotel has a very nice restaurant, as well as a bar & lounge area. The restaurant has a continental breakfast buffet, as well as a full breakfast buffet (you can order from the menu as well). The same restaurant serves dinner, and the prices are reasonable. Two of the managers in the restaurant, Marco and Angel, were very friendly and helpful, and the entire staff reflected that warmth. Overall, the price was very reasonable for a hotel of this caliber, even though the breakfast and internet were not included in our rate. The area near the hotel is full of hotels, restaurants, and shops, and we felt comfortable walking - even after dark. The only negative was that there is a nightclub nearby to the north of the hotel, and you can hear the music in your room at night if your room faces north. When we mentioned the noise, they graciously offered us a room on the other side of the hotel, which resolved the problem. Otherwise, we can't say enough good things about this hotel, and we would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, request a room that doesn't face to the north, since you will hear t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionSuites, Reveue Manager at Clarion Suites Guatemala City, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for sharing your experience in our hotel. We are glad that you had a pleasant stay and also that you enjoy staying with us.

We will send your comments to all of our personnel and share your good experience and comments about their service.

We hope to see you soon.

Best Regards,

Alejandra Samayoa
revenuemanager@clarionguatemala.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

very nice and helpful staff, very clean hotel, in the middle of the city. It is located in a walking distance from a big mall in Guatemala city. They have a shuttle bus to and from the airport, just to save on transportation. I advice you not to drive in Guatemala if you don't speak fluent Spanish.
Nobody speaks a word in English except in big hotels. This city is not ready for American tourism.
There are no street names and no signs for any highways.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionSuites, Reveue Manager at Clarion Suites Guatemala City, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your comments and we are glad that you had a good experience in our hotel.

Our street and avenues are sign with numbers that how we identify it.

Hope next time that you are visiting we can help you in this matter.

Thank you and hope to see you soon.

Best Regards,

Alejandra Samayoa
Revenue Manager
revenuemanager@clarionguatemala.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

My husband and I had been on a mission trip up in the mountainous region of Guatemala. On the way home, we stayed at the Clarion. It was very nice--suite with two televisions, nice HOT shower with great water pressure, comfy bed, and ICE!! The hotel staff prepared a yummie breakfast for our group at 4:30 am prior to departure. The eating area was beautiful....felt like you were alone on an enchanted island with rock cliffs and lots of greenery. It was a great experience after being out in the "boonies" so to speak! Ha!

Room Tip: Suites opeining to the eating area were a little loud at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionSuites, Reveue Manager at Clarion Suites Guatemala City, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments, we are glad that you had a pleasant stay in our hotel, and also that you enjoy our Restaurant "La Poza".

We hope to be your host in the future.

Best Regards,

Alejandra Samayoa
Revenue Manager
revenuemanager@clarionguaetmala.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Note that my one star is relative to the type of hotel and price per night (e.g., business-class hotel for lots of money).

Pros: The rooms are clean and nice, and the staff leave candies on your pillow.

Cons...

1) You have to pay $8 a night for internet access (the cost of a nice meal in Guatemala).

2) The walls are thin and you can hear into the hallways. The beds are really uncomfortable, with a strange sheet, blanket, sheet layering job.

3) Our shower did not drain properly and the shower nozzle had a 6 ft spray that leaked all over the floor.

4) If you try to take a taxi from the hotel, you are going to get ripped off. We were charged 85Q for a ride to the zoo, which is about 6 blocks away. As soon as we wised up and started catching taxis down the street, we realized we could get a ride all the way to zona 1 for half that.

5) If you try to take a shuttle from the hotel, you are going to get ripped off. They offered us shared transportation to Antigua for $20 per person. I found my own transportation via Atitrans for $10 per person.

6) The couches in the rooms are horribly uncomfortable.

7) The staff are friendly, but will also try to rip you off. They seem to constantly try to get you to use "partner services" that charge 2-5x more than average prices for the same quality. Likewise, the front desk staff and business center will often feign ignorance of cheaper options. We were told that there was NO BUS TO ANTIGUA by the front desk, multiple times, and offered an $80 taxi ride. In experience #5 (shuttle to Antigua), I returned to the guy who tried to sell me shuttle seats for 2x the price and told him that Atitrans does it for half of that, to which he replied "well go call Atitrans, then".


Bottom line: this was the worst hotel we stayed at during our 3-week trip to Guatemala. All of the mid-range and budget hotels we stayed at were more comfortable, more helpful, and far FAR cheaper. If you want to spend lots of money at a fancy place, I'd suggest you look at other hotels in the area. For a supposedly 5-star hotel, this one sucked plain and simple.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionSuites, Revenue Manager at Clarion Suites Guatemala City, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Received cordial greetings from our behalf.

We send our most sincere apologies for the experience that you had, enclosed find our comments:

1. Our High speed internet access is not included in rate our cost as you indicate is USD$8.00 per 24 hours.

2. We appreciate your comment and will check about this.

3. We will check this with our maintenance department to avoid a future inconvenience.

4. N/A

5. N/A

6. Thank you for your comment.

7. Business Center provides service arrange by a Travel Agency, we will check their prices compare with other companies in order to avoid any additional charge, and also see if was a private transportation.

Thank you for letting us know all your experience, we hope that you give us the oportunity to serve you in the future.

Best Regards,

Alejandra Samayoa
Revenue Manager
revenuemanager@clarionguatemala.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

Just stayed there last week. The hotel has great service, friendly staff, and an excellent location. The buffet breakfast in the hotel restaurant was very good at a fair price. The hotel gym is well equipped and has a great view of the city. Also, the hotel's location is excellent as it's close to resturants like Los Ranchos, Mejico Lindo, and Fontabella that were all great. The impresive and modern Oakland mall is also a few blocks away. Would definitely recommend the hotel to a friend.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionSuites, Revenue Manager at Clarion Suites Guatemala City, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

It´s nice to know that you enjoy your stay in our country but also in our hotel.

We are glad that your experience exceed your expectations.

We hope to see you soon.

Best Regards,

Alejandra Samayoa
Revenue Manager
revenuemanager@clarionguatemala.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This hotel is wonderful! It is my place of choice to stay whenever I am in Guatemala City, about once a year. The rooms are very comfortable, the staff is attentive and the food in the restaurant exceeds all expectations! No, its not the Ritz, but in regards to cleanliness, convenience, assistance and comfort, it ranks high with me!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionSuites, Reveue Manager at Clarion Suites Guatemala City, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments.

We are glad that you enjoy your stay in our hotel. We will share your good comments to all our personnel.

Hope to see you soon.

Best Regard,

Alejandra Samayoa
Revenue Manager
Hotel Clarion Suites Guatemala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Suites Guatemala City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Suites Guatemala City

Address: 14 Street 3-08 Zona 10, Guatemala City 01010, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Guatemala City
#7 Business Hotel in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Suites Guatemala City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Suites Hotel is located at the heart of the "Zona Viva" the commercial district of Guatemala city, near from the most important Offices, International Banks, Embassies, Organisms, Restaurants, Entertainment Center and the most exclusive Malls. It is the only hotel in Guatemala that has the ALL SUITES concept, with 172 suites of 52 square meters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Clarion Suites Guatemala City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Suites Guatemala City Hotel Guatemala City
Clarion Hotel Guatemala City
Clarion Guatemala City
Guatemala City Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Suites Guatemala City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.