We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to call home in the center of the city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coperacha

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Coperacha to your Saves list
Coperacha
4 Av 2-03 zona 2, Guatemala City, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Stony Brook, New York
1 review
“A place to call home in the center of the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Guatemala City is a place that has always made me nervous, so when I had to stay for two weeks to do research, I was apprehensive to say the least. Staying at La Coperacha and in zone 2 made my time in Guate far more comfortable than I ever expected. Not only is the place clean and comfortable, but the staff and the other guests were amazingly helpful and friendly. The breakfasts are good, the coffee flows freely, and it was quiet enough that I was able to sleep at a reasonable hour every night. The location is hard to beat: a 10 minute walk from the Plaza Mayor in a nice, surprisingly quiet part of the city center, with everything you need a couple blocks away. To those reviewers who complain about the safety of the neighborhood, this is as good as it's going to get in the middle of Guatemala City. Stay off the streets at night and use common sense.

The best part of La Coperacha are the people who work and reside there. Lucien, the manager, was quick to respond to e-mails, arranged airport pick-up, and was always willing to help his guests with travel advice and arrangements. Maria and Ofelia make a good Guatemalan breakfast and keep the place clean. Special thanks to Luis, La Coperacha's taxista of choice, who ferried me all over the city for two weeks, came on short notice, and always provided good company along the way.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    3
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
1
5
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Very cheap private double ($10) and the nicest people. Arranged a ride for me from the airport, shared drinks with us, made delicious homemade breakfast in the morning, and even walked me to the phone shop and helped me set up a phone plan.

Its a quirky and funky spot, but they really care about their guests and I would definitely stay there again!

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

The owner is quirky but awesome. Our bus arrived early into Guatemala city and he let us in at 5:30 in the morning. We were served breakfast with the best eggs we’ve ever eaten and we were in our room by 7 am. Our room was spacious, quiet, and clean with a much needed mosquito net. The bathrooms were clean and had hot water.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Good hostel. Very nice atmosphere, friendly staff! Lucien, the manager makes you feel very welcome. Good breakfast! Patio to stay relaxed on the hammacks. Location near the historic center and the local market. Recommended!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

The good - Very charming interior. Very good sized rooms. Clean. Decent showers although the toilets need to be refurbished - particularly the seats.
The bad - Difficult to find due to the way Guate does it's addresses and the fact that there is no sign on he building. Location is not great in the north of the city with little (safe) public transport around. Also, a guest told me he was mugged the previous day in the nearby plaza. No en suite bathrooms. The middle-aged manager woke me up in the morning to say that my room was reserved for that day even though I'd said to someone else the previous day that I would be staying for 2 nights. (The manager of Quetzalroo told me this guy has a drink problem and there are often complaints about the way he runs things - I didn't get the chance to experience any other problems as I checked out straight away)
The privates are 10 US dollars a night which is good for the city but I guess is reflected in the location - and service from the manager

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Good and safe place in the middle of Guate City. Big rooms, showers, toilets, good breakfast. Relax and chill possibilities. Right now i'm hanging around in the hammock and writing this rating full relaxed. :) once i will be back here again!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambergris Caye, Belize
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I really appreciate this place, nice area (shops around), place was safe , hot showers, coffee anytime, great breakfast, nice living room, laundry service, room was clean, wifi, cheap prices, friendly staff, good advises. I'd recommend it !!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guatemala City hotels
0.6 mi away
Barcelo Guatemala City
Barcelo Guatemala City
#7 of 48 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 stars 846 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel Guatemala City
Radisson Hotel Guatemala City
#13 of 48 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 stars 379 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Ajau
Hotel Ajau
#26 of 48 in Guatemala City
3.5 of 5 stars 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
La Inmaculada Hotel
La Inmaculada Hotel
#2 of 48 in Guatemala City
4.5 of 5 stars 131 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clarion Suites Guatemala City
Clarion Suites Guatemala City
#8 of 48 in Guatemala City
4.0 of 5 stars 193 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dai Nonni Hotel
Dai Nonni Hotel
#4 of 48 in Guatemala City
4.5 of 5 stars 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coperacha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coperacha

Address: 4 Av 2-03 zona 2, Guatemala City, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Coperacha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coperacha Guatemala/Guatemala City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coperacha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.