We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home away from home!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quetzalroo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Quetzalroo to your Saves list
Quetzalroo
6ta Avenida 7 - 84 zona 10, Guatemala City 10110 , Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A home away from home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I can't review this hostel highly enough! The owners (Manuel, Marcos, and family) make you feel right at home and the staff goes above and beyond to accommodate your every need. The vibe is welcoming, friendly, helpful, and fun! I have stayed with them on 3 different occasions all with the same outstanding service. If you're ever in Guate, don't waste your time searching for another place because...THIS IS THE ONE!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    30
    12
    9
    8
See reviews for
17
47
96
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Exceptional on every level. The advice and friendliness of the owner and staff are second to none comfy mattresses, roomy and clean. Good fun. Nothing is too much trouble. Highly recommended ... Good tunes in the van too, Manuel graciasss.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan la Laguna, Guatemala
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I've stayed with Manuel and the staff at Quetzalroo several times in the past year while living in Guatemala. When I have flights that leave early or arrive late I like to stay with them and take advantage of being in the city and having a complementary ride to/from the airport.

Back in March a friend of mine lost his passport, money and credit cards and the staff at Quetzalroo went with us to the National Police to file a report (needed to get a new passport at the US Embassy) and helped connect him with the on call desk at the embassy to get info.

The staff will create spontaneous trips to restaurants in the city and will load-up their van and head out. They work hard to create a good time in the city, yet at the same time, if I am beat from my travels I can hang at the hostel and get a decent night's sleep -I like this.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I was initially somewhat skeptical about Quetzalroo because it's somewhat pricier than other hostels in the area. However, it was totally worth it. We got a private room with tons of light and clean, comfortable beds. Free breakfast, coffee, WiFi, and a video room with tons of movies. Plus, free transport to and from the hostel (within Guate), which saves a bunch on cab fees.

Marcus and Manuel, the owners, totally made this place. They were always quick to offer rides and take us places at night. They said their goal was to disprove the notion that Guatemala City is dingy or dangerous, and for me, they definitely succeeded. I would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Quetzalroo is a great place to get to know Guatemala City, the largest city in Central America, a sprawling, energetic, surreal metropolis of fascinating (and often frightening) juxtapositions, often bypassed by most tourists for the more conventionally picturesque destinations of Antigua and Atitlan.
Excellent location near the airport with free pickups, in Zone 10, the Zona Viva, an affluent and safe, but expensive, section of the city, with few cheap eats but a great variety of nightlife. Engaging English-speaking owners, a extremely friendly and helpful staff, with a level of service rarely encountered in hostels (e.g. ready-made beds), and a congenial atmosphere.
The location guarantees a high level of safety in a city travelers are routinely warned is 'too dangerous.' At the same time, it makes the hostel more expensive than most in Central America, and with its luxurious malls, upscale shops and restaurants, Zone 10 lacks the edgy appeal of the Centro, especially the pedestrian Paseo de la Sexta (Avenida), one of the few places where Guatemalans of all classes converge, but North America and European tourists will find themselves more at home in the bars and clubs of Zona Viva, patronized by the hip, cosmopolitan students from nearby private universities, and the owners offer excellent tours of Guatemala City, helping guests who are often only passing through to discover the highlights .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tegucigalpa, Honduras
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Quetzalroo is absolutely perfect in every possible way - safe location in Zona 10, clean rooms and bathrooms, Wi-Fi, delicious breakfast, affordable rates, friendly staff. Having backpacked Latin America, I know these are the essentials and Quetzalroo has them covered. I will definitely stay here again.

I passed through Quetzalroo during Semana Santa on a personal journey to find my biological parents. Manuel, one of the owners, sat down and had an in-depth discussion with me about the details, connected me with another woman who had undertaken and similar search, and volunteered to help me retrieve paperwork from a local government office. When the government was slow and bureaucratic he sent his driver back 7 times until the job was complete.

I really appreciate that Quetzalroo is more than just a hostel; it's an intersection for culture and service in Guatemala City!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

This hostel, and the owners Marcus and Manuel, totally made Guatemala City for me. Not only is the hostel set up in an interesting apartment setup, but there's also free wifi. Not only is breakfast included, but it's also delicious and the coffee is too. Not only are the rooms comfortable and clean, but the staff is also kind and helpful.

Above all though, Quetzalroo is owned by two guys who really know how to run a hostel. Brothers Marcus and Manuel were kind, friendly, engaging, and a whole lot of fun. Want to go out on the town? They'll take you. Want to see the sights? They'll take you. Want to just chill and have a chat? They'll chat with you. I had such a great time hanging out with them. But they're not just fluff: both of them are very knowledgable about the city and its history. Plus, they seem to know everyone, so it's easy to get around and see what you want to see and eat where you want to eat. I had the best time at Quetzalroo, and I will highly recommend it to everyone who is even considering going to Guatemala City.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quetzalroo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quetzalroo

Address: 6ta Avenida 7 - 84 zona 10, Guatemala City 10110 , Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Quetzalroo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quetzalroo Guatemala/Guatemala City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quetzalroo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.