We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Que Cool!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quetzalroo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Quetzalroo to your Saves list
Quetzalroo
6ta Avenida 7 - 84 zona 10, Guatemala City 10110 , Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Kalispell, Montana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Que Cool!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

I visited Quetzalroo on my way through Guatemala City, and had a great time talking with the owner. The rooms were clean and the staff was really polite. And the owner was very passionate about Guatemala, and sharing his culture with other people. Definitely worth staying at. Also, he directed me to other places to visit in Guatemala, which was great.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    30
    12
    9
    8
See reviews for
17
47
96
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Johns, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

The folks at the hostel are friendly enough and the place is quite clean, but there are a few things I did not appreciate:
1. The mattress was extremely soft, I woke up with a backache
2. The breakfast included is very small: 2 pieces of toast, a very small amount of fruit, and a cup of coffee or tea. Good homemade jam, though!
3. They do not provide a bath towel: you have to pay USD$1
4. You have to walk through other peoples' room (the dorm room) in order to get to the private room
5. Although they say the shuttle to and from the airport is included, I really don't appreciate the pressure of huge signs everywhere that say "tip our driver" or "tip our staff", seems tacky to me
6. There are no signs outside or even inside, so if you are not coming with their shuttle, it is hard to find.
7. Manuel was so insistent about offering his tours many times, even though we said we were not interested

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We arrived in Guatemala City, not really knowing what to expect. Had some people tell us to skip it, but I prefer to find out what a place is like on my own. We booked into the Quetzaroo to make things easy. They came and picked us up from the airport, once we got there, we were welcomed in like a family. Manual and Marco were extremely passionate and enthusiastic about their city and county. They hand drew a map and gave us some recommendations for places to check out on our tour through Guatemala, and they really nailed it. It was our only "lonely planet" guide book we had, 1 page front and back, it worked out well. As we travelled and met other backpackers they confirmed everything on our map, without knowing about our recommendations. While there, Willy, took us out on the "must do" city tour. You are just walking around the city and taking some buses, a great way to see the beautiful clean city. Willy is also just an unbelievable person. Type of person you feel like you've known all your life after only two days.

These guys deserve a five star rating just for the experience, knowledge and family like atmosphere they provide.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arden Hills, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Quetzalroo is a great hostel. It is charming and friendly and a little bit funky in the best possible way. The building is airy, colorful, clean and safe. The people there are friendly, helpful and passionate about their beautiful country. I strongly recommend starting your visit to “Guate” at Quetzalroo with Manuel, Marcos, Marie and Willy. They will help make your experience a memorable one.
When you get up in the morning to have coffee, homemade bread and “sweet baby jesus” jam in the reception area, you will invariably see Manuel holding court at the kitchen table. He spends hours getting to know his guests and giving them real insider information on what to see and do in Guatemala. He is passionate about Guatemala and his passion is infectious.
When we visited in Guatemala, we were planning to go to Lake Atitlan. Manuel not only helped us arrange transportation, he and his Mom rode with us to Antigua where we had lunch at a great little “hole in the wall” we never would have found without Manuel’s guidance. Then they traveled to Atitlan with us and showed us how to hire a boat to get around the lake. Later in the trip, he took several of us in the hostel’s van to get Guatemalan fried chicken at Pollo Campero. The chicken was good, but watching Manuel banter with the people at the restaurant was hilarious.
If you want a quiet, predictable (sterile) place to stay, there are plenty of hotels in Guatemala that will feel like hotels you can stay at in virtually any country in the world. If you want to experience Guatemala on a livelier, more personal level, you should stay at Quetzalroo .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Manuel has INCREDIBLE hospitality and sharing of EXTRA special places in Guatemala City. He runs a great hostel and is the perfect person to begin your Guatemalan experience with. He truly cared about showing us what his country had to offer. He drove us to Antigua and really navigated us around the city. He and his mother then made sure we made it to Lake Atitlan safely. His hostel is brightly colored, comfortable, and has a great feel to it. Please support this family owned business dedicated to improving Guatemala and educating outsiders to the greatness that already is Guatemala.

William and Marcus do a great walking tour. We loved Willy! If you go, be sure to be ready to get to know the staff. They do a great job sitting down at breakfast and getting to know you and your wishes for your trip. They then give you recommendations for your time in Guatemala that you wouldn't have found/couldn't have found on line.

We walked around the hostel at night (Zone 10) and found a lot to eat and were never bothered. There was plenty to eat within a one mile radius.

Be sure to print out the rooms you reserved. We were mistaken once and they were mistaken once. Without internet readily available, we didn't have a way to come together on a misunderstanding until Manuel returned.

Room Tip: Get a private room! (though I slept wonderfully in the dormitory room)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

All the positive points about this hostel would take up more space than allocated. The UNIQUE highlights are how they give so much time, energy and effort to every individual guest experience. On top of this they also are involved in contributing towards organisations and their inidividual employees to make the county better. Of course all the usual positives exist, clean, safer than my home, friendly to the point of an educated community that is aware of the country's situation is being created. Every night was fun thanks to the team! Thank YOU Marco, Manuel, Anna Isabel, Maria, Blanca, Ilde, Gliselda, Deniz, Winston. Hugs and more I MISS YOU ALL TONS!!!

Room Tip: Possibly on the other side from the office, tell the desk personnel what you desire is and they will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

QuetzalRoo,is much more than a hostel, I felt like my place in Guatemala, I had great time there, their staff is on service 100%, very friendly and very kind, besides they are very organized, and clean, their VAN is ready to take you on excursion to have fun, I had a really great experience, location is very central, safe, and comfortable, their customer service is more than that, they become your friends, always provide suggestions about where to go / where to visit according to your interest, they really care, and I learned a lot about their culture, Thank you Quetzalroo
Congratulations Manuel for your hostal

now I feel that I have to go to guatemala soon. I highly recommend to everyone

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Quetzalroo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quetzalroo

Address: 6ta Avenida 7 - 84 zona 10, Guatemala City 10110 , Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Quetzalroo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quetzalroo Guatemala/Guatemala City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quetzalroo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.