We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Soo Amazing..;-) my place in Guatemala” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quetzalroo

Save Saved
You added Quetzalroo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Quetzalroo
6ta Avenida 7 - 84 zona 10, Guatemala City 10110 , Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Miami, Florida, United States
1 review
“Soo Amazing..;-) my place in Guatemala”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

QuetzalRoo,is much more than a hostel, I felt like my place in Guatemala, I had great time there, their staff is on service 100%, very friendly and very kind, besides they are very organized, and clean, their VAN is ready to take you on excursion to have fun, I had a really great experience, location is very central, safe, and comfortable, their customer service is more than that, they become your friends, always provide suggestions about where to go / where to visit according to your interest, they really care, and I learned a lot about their culture, Thank you Quetzalroo
Congratulations Manuel for your hostal

now I feel that I have to go to guatemala soon. I highly recommend to everyone

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    210
    26
    9
    9
    8
See reviews for
17
44
88
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

I payed to much and got:
Stuff stolen
Mosquto bites
Bad sleep from staff talking loudly in phone at night and listning to loud music in the morning(both could be heard very well in the dorm)
Inappriatly touched
Feeling of strees and discomfort
A shower turning cold in the middel of it

All a disapointing ending to Guatamala.

Wish a choose somewhere else.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Quetzalroo turned a pit stop in Guatemala City into a total trip highlight! I can't say enough about this hostel and would recommend it to everyone. The hostel was clean, centrally located, safe, etc but the total highlight was the staff and the atmosphere. The owner, Manuel, really goes above and beyond to make every traveler feel comfortable and introduces them to each other - it fosters a great environment at the hostel. This is especially great for the solo travelers. He also really makes an extra and genuine effort to help each guest with their trip and introduce them to Guatemala City. In my experience, I went on the morning tour - then he took me to a museum and an university to speak with local students about current events in Guatemala. At the end of the day, he invited a bunch of us to come with him to a private party in the city - not a guaranteed aspect of Quetzelroo's service but definitely gives you an idea of how above and beyond the owner and his family and staff go for their guests. It's amazing - I learned a ton about the city and really enjoyed this hostel! Don't stay anywhere else :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Louis, Missouri, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

In April 2013 I had to travel to Guatemala City on fairly short notice as relates to research I do for my job. Out of respect for funding and budgets, I opted to stay at a hostel as opposed to a more expensive hotel. Nonetheless, from past experience, I was fairly loathe to be a part of the hospital / backpacker scene, but the location of Quetzalroo was absolutely perfect, in zona 10 directly across the street from my mentor's office (so in the end I decided to go against my better judgment of avoid the hostel scene).
Not only did I have a productive trip, Quetzalroo more or less turned my fairly negative opinion of the hostel culture on its head while allowing me to be well rested, well fed and happy for a number of meetings. This place is a bargain and the people working there are absolute gems.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Top Contributor
220 reviews 220 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Had a great time here. Such a welcoming place run by a family and makes every guest feel apart of the family. It can seem chaotic at times because they are always busy and packed, but that lends to the wonderful atmosphere of the place. The staff and owners are so helpful and knowledgeable about getting around Guate. They are so hospitable as well. I was craving a snack and they provided one! I felt like I was visiting the fun home of friends. Area is safe. Rooms (private and dorm) are fine. Bathrooms too. The homemade jam provided at breakfast is great! Love the rooftop area as well. Driver will pick/drop you off wherever you need. Would definitely recommend this place. If you are coming to Guatemala City, you have to come here!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I arrived at night to Guatemala City during Easter to packed hotels. Manuel and Marco welcomed me into their beautiful hostel despite their lack of space. They gave me a couch, a home-made dinner, good company and a ride to my bus in the morning, all for 100 quetzales (13 USD). I am so grateful! I will return. Thank you Quetzalroo!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

the hostal calls itself a travel hub. And that´s so totally true!!
they pick you up / bring you to and from the airport and you can organize many trips starting from there.
We arrived very late at night in Gautemala City (at a time you don´t feel very secure there). It was no issue to call them and they were there after 5 minutes!
Manuel (the owner/manger?) is very friendly, speaks perfect english and a good host.
But the best was the homemade bread for breakfast and "yummy mummy" - the fruit jams of his mother which they offer every morning!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quetzalroo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quetzalroo

Address: 6ta Avenida 7 - 84 zona 10, Guatemala City 10110 , Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 Specialty lodging in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Quetzalroo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quetzalroo Guatemala/Guatemala City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quetzalroo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.