We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Find out why you shouldn't skip Guatemala City here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quetzalroo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Quetzalroo to your Saves list
Quetzalroo
6ta Avenida 7 - 84 zona 10, Guatemala City 10110 , Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Find out why you shouldn't skip Guatemala City here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

We capped off a lovely trip in Guatemala with a three-day stay at Quetzalroo. Most people avoid Guatemala City, but they shouldn't. A visit here is as crucial to understanding the current situation in Guatemala as any visit to more popular tourist spots. Manuel, the co-owner of Quetzalroo, loves his city -- yes, it's a crazy place, but he'll take you to places no guidebook would ever recommend -- the best place to buy coffee, Guatemala's giant central market, a stop for a bite to eat at the locals-only place where every Guatemalan knows to go to score serious home cookin'.

Plus, if you are traveling elsewhere in the country, they'll safely store extra bags for you until you return. And, of course, their airport/bus pick-up and drop-off is legendary!

The hostel itself is cozy, clean, and friendly. Books a-plenty, brand-new beds, WiFi, and the neighborhood (Zona Viva) felt safe. All in all, an excellent place to stay!

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are sunny & quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    30
    12
    9
    8
See reviews for
17
47
96
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Quebec City, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

Manuel, aka Jesus, took us for free, my girlfriend and I, right at the airport after an exhausting stay in Haiti for work. He totally felt us and kindly proposed us the right journey across Guatemala to discover, have fun but also rest and have some good sleep.
Actually, being myself an avid user of CouchSurfing, I quickly felt like being at someone's house rather than a hostel (even though he owns a really sweet and beautiful place). He took us to restaurants, markets, coffee shop... Sweetest, Kindest and the most dedicated person I met in this industry so far.
Seriously, two thumbs up for Manuel and its lovely family who made our trip in Guatemala incredible. I only wish he is not going to be listed in the Lonely Planet too quickly because I'll have to book a year in advance the next time I'll come!
Muchas gracias hermano.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

They will pick you up at the airport and get you to the proper bus stop, etc the next day. Sometimes they take everyone out to their favorite restaurant in the evening for less than $5. They really make you feel at home. Breakfast in the morning includes coffee, fruit, eggs and toast. Really nice folks!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011 via mobile

I can only agree with the rest of the reviews here - excellent hostel, great service and Manuel is a great host. He practically made my Guatemala itinerary for me and you can see that the staff here go the extra mile to make sure the guests are safe and have a good stay.

Really there is no need to look for any other place to stay in Guatemala city - this has everything you need - safety, cleanliness, good communal spaces and of course the legendary airport / pick up shuttle.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

I still am amazed how nice the two brothers are that own the place. When I was there, there were only few people staying in Quetzalroo. But still, they went out of there way bringing us to all the places we wanted to go. Good local lunch places, shopping mall, sight seeing. They pick you up from the airport or bus station and drop you again at the station or airport when you're leaving.
Also important: the beds and bathrooms are good and clean!
Quetzalroo was a great first experience in a wonderful country!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

I stayed at Quetzalroo at the beginning and end of my trip. I cannot say enough about the whole staff, salt of the earth, nice people. They got me and both my kids, (all different flights) to the hostel, introduced us to Guatemala City, and most of all we had fun the whole time. Great atmosphere, good information. I feel like we made genuine friends, and we all love guatemala. take the tour by all means.Viva Quetzalroo!!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

Manuel Jesus Romero, thanks so mch for a wonderful stay at Quetzalroo. You and your staff are obviously passionate about what your hostel and what you do - down to your mother´s homemade jam (I a now additcted to guava jam). The care you took of ensuring everyone was happy and well looked after is commendable.

Thanks so much for a wonderful city tour and the airport pick up and drop off at the bus station!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quetzalroo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quetzalroo

Address: 6ta Avenida 7 - 84 zona 10, Guatemala City 10110 , Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Quetzalroo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quetzalroo Guatemala/Guatemala City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quetzalroo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.