We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Kack ick!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kacao

Kacao
1era Avenida 13-51 | Zona 10, Guatemala City 13-44 Z10, Guatemala
+502 2337 4188
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 278 Restaurants in Guatemala City
Price range: $8 - $45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Traditional and gourmet Guatemalan food set on a large "palapa"style architecture. Upscale traditional decoration, local music and waiters with typical outfits; great for turists, out of town clients, families and local foodies. A wonderful Guatemalan experience right in the center of the Hotel zone.
Nantucket, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Wonderful Kack ick!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Granted, I usually see more tourists than locals here, but Kacao has a wonderful ambience, great food, decent wine, and the best Kack Ick I've found outside local villages. And the two little tamales that come as a side are worth the order!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    94
    24
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Authentic Guatemalan food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

This place is good to come to if you would like to try Authentic Guatemalan food however it comes at a price. You pay more for the ambiance and the service. The traditional Pepian dishes are good but obviously more expensive here because of the location and the way it is presented.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Best Guatemalan food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

If you want to try Guatemala's local food without worrying about your stomach, this is the best place to go to. Located in Zona Viva, right in the middle of hotels and bars, this restaurant gives a great Guatemalan experience with a gourmet touch. Clean restaurant, beautiful decoration and a great location.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Excellent upscale typical Guatemalan food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We ate well throughout Guatemala. This was our favorite restaurant of all. Great pepian, steak, plantains etc. Desert with plantains and chocolate and also the Chayote squash desert. Yum!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Ethnic, but not fantastic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Friends suggested this restaurant in Guatemala City, and Trip Advisor reviewers seemed to indicate that the food was good despite the touristy ambience. We enjoyed the traditional dress of the waiters and the indigenous ambience, but found the food only so-so. We shared the ceviche, and it was good, although a little sweeter than we're used to, and some of the fish seemed to be a little 'ripe'. My companion had the lobster, which was somewhat overcooked, salty, and far from the best lobster we've had. I had the royal concoction - poultry and pork stewed in a tomato-based sauce with an interesting flavor. Overall though, I'm glad I'm a regular citizen instead of a king, if that's what they ate! Overall, fun ambience, but the food wasn't worth the time or the price.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kacao also viewed

Guatemala City, Guatemala Department
Guatemala City, Guatemala Department
 
Guatemala City, Guatemala Department
Guatemala City, Guatemala Department
 

Been to Kacao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kacao, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.