We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely a must!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cocktail Tours Guatemala

Cocktail Tours Guatemala
19 Avenida 16-36 Zona 10, Guatemala City 01010, Guatemala
502 2363-2330
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
NH
Level Contributor
111 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Definitely a must!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We did a one day trip from San Ignacio with Elias Cambranes. (Excellent guide with duo citizenship--research him on Trip Advisor.) We debated between Tikal and Caracol and so glad we chose Tikal. Leaving San Ignacio at 6AM, with a quick bathroom stop, we were walking into Tikal at 9 AM, well ahead of the crowds. We had ample time to tour all the temples, pyramids, and palaces of this Mayan treasure. Well worth the 2 1/2 hour ride, during which our guide Elias gave us the history, customs etc, of both Guatemala and Belize.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    25
    8
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Tikal is a fanastic place to see the Mayan ruins and the animals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed in the Jungle Lodge as we wanted to be in close proximity to the actual park. We paid for a private guide, as we arrive about midday, and only had the afternoon to go around it. The ruins are quite spectacular, but it would be good to have a guide book to refer to when you are viewing them. The trail up to the ruins is quite steep and the high temperature and very high humidity means that is it very hard going.

The other highlight is the number of animalsa and bird you see around the ruins. We saw howler monkeys, toucan, parrots and a whole tribe of coatis.

A well worth visit which is not really known about. When we were there, there was practically no-one else there - as much for the wild life as for the ruins

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Tour with Excellent Guide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

We recently took a day tour to Tikal from San Ignacio, Belize with Pacz tours. Our guide was "Juice" (nick-name) and he is the best! He is of Mayan decent and has an obvious knowledge and interest in the Mayan culture and the Tikal site. We feel we were well served and Thank everyone in the area for their helpfulness.
Also went on a day trip to limestone caves with Max with Maximum tours in San Ignacio. Again, very knowledgeable and an excellent guide.
OUR ONLY VERY BAD EXPERIENCE IN BELIZE WAS WITH CRYSTAL AUTO RENTAL. When returning our rented Jeep at the airport in Belize City we were charged $350. (American) for a broken plastic frame that holds the license plate! As we were catching a plane we felt there was nothing we could do.
Please alert future travels to this establishment, CRYSTAL AUTO RENTAL.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brooklyn
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tikal, Guatamela”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

The excavated site of the ancient Myan settlement at Tikal was really impressive. I expected the day to be hot, humid and mosquito filled. We were lucky that none of those found us. We had a morning guided tour of the Park and its excavated religious monuments and homes of the upper class Myans. We also saw some wild life. The Tikal Jungle Lodge where we stayed was in keeping with the atmosphere but much more comfortable than we ever expected.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“WOW OH WOW!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

I had to WORK, on Engineering projects (road construction, water wells, school) in Guatemala for 6 months, in the Peten region, and it is an Archaeologists DREAM. I was allowed to go to Tikal four different times, and take groups of Engineers with me. Talk about Pyramids, these ones you can climb up! (If you have the stamina!) They are still uncovering more of Tikal City every year, and so every year there are new areas of discovery. An amazing city, and like Ephesus, it was abandoned to the forest 1500 years ago. Very, very worth the visit(s), because there is much more than you can see in a day. Stay in the local area overnight, or go back down to lake Flores, and stay on the island. Too much to describe, with howler monkeys and wild peacocks, and ancient....everything.

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cocktail Tours Guatemala also viewed

Guatemala City, Guatemala Department
Guatemala City, Guatemala Department
 
Guatemala City, Guatemala Department
Guatemala City, Guatemala Department
 

Been to Cocktail Tours Guatemala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cocktail Tours Guatemala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.