We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dos Lunas

Dos Lunas
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Dos Lunas to your Saves list
Dos Lunas
21 Calle 10-92 | Zona 13 Aurora II, Guatemala City, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 37 Guatemala City B&B and Inns
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

My two friends and I had a great experience at Dos Lunas! The rooms were clean, the facility is nice, and Lorena and her husband are wonderful. The food they have available is also quite good. We really have no complaints except that it is a bit isolated in a (very safe!) compound in Zone 13, which was a 50Q cab ride from the excitement of Zone 10. So, if being able to come in and out throughout the day while exploring Guatemala City is a requirement, know that you will be taking many 15 min cab rides. However, it is incredibly close to the airport, which made it a great choice for us! We would definitely stay again upon arriving in Guatemala.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    9
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
17
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Centennial, Colorado
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We got into Guatemala City very late at night, but the driver, Victor, was right on time and waiting for us. He was incredibly friendly. He worked with our poor Spanish, speaking slowly and defining words for us. He was very patient and even tried speaking some in English despite the fact that that was clearly not a strong language of his. The hostel is in a private neighborhood with a security guard, so I felt very safe. When we got to the hotel, the manager greeted us and gave us fresh drinking water. The price ended up being a couple dollars less than we were originally told. The rooms were small yet perfect for what we needed. They provided us with bedding and clean towels. When we got up at 5:00am the next day, the manager was already up making a small breakfast for us. The driver once again arrived promptly on time. He drove us to the bus station, giving us an informal tour of the city on the way there, and bought our tickets for us and made sure we were completely set before leaving. I was very impressed with this hostel, especially the friendliness of the staff, and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watauga
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

They picked us up from the airport from a late evening flight and took us to the hotel (just 2 or 3 minutes away). We were barely in time to order a late evening dinner, which was also delicious. The room was clean and neat and we shared a bathroom with 2 other rooms. After a good night's sleep, we enjoyed a good, Guatemalan breakfast (free) with other clients from around the world, entertained by Lorena's husband (can't remember his name) who served us from the kitchen. It was all perfect for our needs.

Room Tip: The downstairs rooms are easier to negotiate if you've got a lot of luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I recently had to pass through Guatemala City - my flight arrived in the early morning, but I couldn't catch my shuttle until almost midday.
Dos Lunas was perfect for getting a shower, a few hours sleep and a great breakfast.
They were really helpful.
A great place in a secure neighbourhood - perfect for the budget traveller in need of an overnight stay, or even a few hours like me.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Lorena, at dos lunas is charming, delightful, warm hearted, welcoming and helpfull. making phone calls and arranging reservations for our on ward travels to Tikal. Provides a great service for the frugul traveler. Rooms are simple, clean, effiecient.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

If you are flying out of Guatemala City airport, and must stay in Guatemala City the evening before, this is the perfect location. It is safe, the owners are friendly (and speak English) and the meals are relatively tasty. The room comes with free wi-fi, and the hotel will organise a free airport shuttle service for you - no matter what time your flight is.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed here the night before our early flight to Nicaragua and is really was excellent. The owners are very friendly and helpful. Our room was clean and tidy and there was a communal lounge area for chilling or catching up on emails. We didn't want to venture out into the city so were quite happy to relax for a while. The owner made us the most amazing Italian food with fresh herbs from the garden. The next morning, as promised, Victor collected us at 3.00am and took us to the airport. Great place, ideally situated for the airport,.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dos Lunas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dos Lunas

Address: 21 Calle 10-92 | Zona 13 Aurora II, Guatemala City, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Dos Lunas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dos Lunas Guatemala/Guatemala City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dos Lunas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.