We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A treasure!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Novohostal

Novohostal

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
AMOMA.com Hostelworld.com
Novohostal
8a. Avenida A 17-58 | zona 13, Guatemala City 01013, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Brinnon, Washington
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A treasure!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Novohostal is a new, reasonably priced B&B very close (one minute away) to La Aurora Airport. I had a 6:00 am flight out and, living in Antigua, had no viable early morning shuttle options. The obvious solution was to go to the city the afternoon/evening before but I had no desire for a high priced Zone 9/10 hotel. With luck I found an ad for Novohostal in "Revue" magazine and made a reservation. It is small (5 rooms) but modern, comfortable, and cheerfully managed by Lucita Rocio Jordan S. in a residential neighborhood. Rooms are private with private bath option for $35 US. It is quiet, nicely appointed, friendly, with great service to the airport (even at 4:00 am!). I can not recommend it enough; finding it was like discovering a treasure.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
1
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antigua, Guatemala
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I was meeting friends who were coming from the other end of Guatemala and all we really wanted was a place to rest our heads before setting off for Nicaragua in the morning. What we got was the friendliest most helpful set of people running a hostel I've ever met. When our bus company let us down on transport the lady there insisted on ringing round to find us an alternative. Then on realising we would have a free morning in Guatemala City, she turned tour guide talking to us enthusiasticily about various museums and attractions we could fill our time with. All in all a great place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, Guatemala
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Love the Novohostal! Everytime we spend the night in Guatemala City we spend it here (as do many of my friends). Lucita is a real sweetie and does everything in her power to make your time here as comfortable and convenient as possible.

Airport pick up and drop off. Bright, modern, spacious rooms. Good little breakfast. Quiet, safe area of town.

And perfect for families!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2011

We were coming from some distance outside Guatemala city and needed to catch a morning flight back to the States, and NovoHostal made a perfect place to stay overnight. It's within a mile of the airport. Transportation there was provided by the hostess in her personal SUV. The rooms are spacious and light-filled. Everything is clean and the plumbing is modern. The staff is friendly and helpful. The cost was very moderate. One time we needed to get back into our rooms, and there was no one in the inn to answer the door; we waited until a passerby put us on to the fact that the hostess' mother lived next door. There is only one restaurant nearby (an easy walk), but we found it overly formal and pricey. The hostess got us a cab to a good pizza and pasta place a few miles away; by coincidence (?) the same cabdriver found us on the street after we ate and were standing on the curb. We would go back again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2010

Perfect for our family, this hostel was convenient and Lucita (if I am remembering her name correctly!) went out of her way to help with ordering food, print an itinerary, etc.. This is one of those gracious places that does not charge for young children, so it was also a great deal for us . . . Our very large room had access to a yard.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Novohostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novohostal

Also Known As:
Novohostal Guatemala/Guatemala City
Address: 8a. Avenida A 17-58 | zona 13, Guatemala City 01013, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NOVOHOSTAL Your place to rest in Guatemala is nice, cozy and safe place to stay in Guatemala City. Just ONE MINUTE from La Aurora Internacional Airport, whether you travel for business or pleasure to Guatemala C.A., which makes us your best choice to rest after a long trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your Novohostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novohostal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Novohostal to your Saves list