We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An awesome hotel in Guatemala City” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dai Nonni Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Dai Nonni Hotel to your Saves list
Dai Nonni Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 Av. "A" 5-30 zona 13, Guatemala City 01013, Guatemala   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #4 of 47 Hotels in Guatemala City
Campinas, SP
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“An awesome hotel in Guatemala City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

I came to this hotel through tripadvisor's comments and I really didn't get disappointed. The staff is really amazing, very helpful, polite and friendly. The rooms are comfortble and very clean. There's free wi-fi internet, cable tv, breakfast. It's not as fancy as those 4-5 stars hotels in Guatemala, however this hotel have an excellent Cost-Benefit relation. There's one downside that is the location. The street looked a bit dark in the night and not so inviting to a solo walk. it's not so close to the "Zona Viva", where the restaurants, shops are. Well, for this matter, there's always a taxi that you can call.
In my opinion this hotel is very, very recommendable.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    29
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
11
45
17
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2010

This little place looked as good, if not better than some photos make out. The room was very large and comfortable with large bathroom to match. The service was very hospitable from all staff - especially the night guy, he was very friendly and ready to give advice should you want it, be it on local eateries, places to see in Guatemala or recommending a hotel in Flores! He even called up the bus lines to help us book our tickets to Flores.

Pros:
- Big bathroom with hot water
- Comfy bed
- Tasty breakfast (though nothing too special)
- friendly and helpful staff
- a short taxi ride to the town center (Zone 1)
- good WiFi internet

Cons:
- More fast food chains in walking distance than restaurants

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

Stayed at Dai Nonni for about a week and a half. The staff could not have been more helpful - calling cabs, making sure our luggage was secure while we took various trips around Gaute, airport pickups at late hours. They were equally accommodating with kitchen access for groceries and leftovers. In short, they succeed at making things easy for their visitors. Breakfasts were generous and tasty. The location cannot be beat for proximity to Zona Viva and shops along Americas. I would definitely return here.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2010

We recently stayed at Dai Nonni Hotel and all we can say about this place, the owner, and the staff is extremely positive. We had already contacted them through several emails to make some arrangements prior to our arrival, and their feedback assured us that staying at Dai Nonni was going to be an excellent experience. Needless to say, we would have never made a better choice. The hotel is located close to the airport in a nice area of Guatemala City. The rooms are spacious, comfortable, and outstandingly clean.
The breakfast area on the outside has a very pleasant atmosphere. The staff is the greatest you could ever expect: professional, efficient, attentive, and above all, extremely friendly. They really made us feel part of the family, and we would definitely like to go back to Dai Nonni some day soon. Our most sincere gratitude to Fulvia and Vilma for all their help and recommendations!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

the staff were super helpful and accommodating, the hotel is small, sweet, and clean, and just 10 mins away from the airport which makes it a great place to stay if you are flying in or out. they even pack you a breakfast bag for early morning departures!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

I had a great experience here. I was picked up at the airport by the hotel. They gave us juice when we arrived, were super attentive and were a pleasure to speak to. The area were they are located is really nice and close to the airport. The hotel is extremely cozy and clean!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
World CItizens
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2010

Met owner of Hotel Dai Nonni. Very nice. Very nice hotel if a bit overpriced, but was worth it for a quiet, nice room with HOT showers, and lunch packed for us for our early morning the next day.

TicaBus from San Salvador to Guatemala City – first impressions of Guatemala City – big, sprawling, more modern, at least in appearance, than any other city we’ve been in, in central America, except Panama City.

Taxi driver (even though we had pre-arranged that it would cost only $5 for both of us from TicaBus to the hotel), tried (after we were in the taxi with him) to get us to travel with him or his connections to other tourist destinations in Guatemala.

Then he tried to get us to change hotels, telling us we were in a bad, ugly neighborhood. When we said no, he literally stopped all conversation with us.

He then struggled to find our hotel (even though he had said he knew where it was). He stopped and asked for directions twice.

He got us to the hotel, and made up something about having to charge us $15. We refused. I conveyed that he had said $5… he insisted on $15 (we had been in the taxi less than 15 minutes (with two stops).

After we refused, he backed off to $10, saying something else about meaning $5 per person, which was just a lie since he told me at the TicaBus terminal it was $5 ¨para los dos¨.

He had a crucifix and a flag of Guatemala on his windshield. I wish I knew enough Spanish, and had been enough in the moment, to have said (as I handed him $10), ¨You love Guatemala?¨ ¨You love Jesus?¨

To which he would have responded ¨yes¨

And I would have said ¨You are the first Guatemalan I have met. Nice first impression…¨and then I would have quoted the bible verse about ¨Whatever you do unto the least of my brothers, you do also unto me¨

At least that would have had the possibility of having an impact on his future swindling.

Instead, I handed him $10 and got out of the taxi not bothering to close the door.

It was not the most forgiving or Christian response on my part either.

I'm digressing a bit.

Dai Nonni was a nice house converted into a hotel.

Other experiences at Dai Nonni included laying low, walking to independence plaza (nearby), eating at ¨Friends¨sports bar, a Hollywood themed restaurant (also nearby - try the hearts of palm and pesto salad. Awesome!).

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dai Nonni Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dai Nonni Hotel

Address: 15 Av. "A" 5-30 zona 13, Guatemala City 01013, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Guatemala City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Guatemala City
#5 Business Hotel in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dai Nonni Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The decoration with mahogany, cedar and pine offers our guests a cozy atmosphere, warm and quiet together with personalized service and style ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Dai Nonni Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dai Nonni Hotel Guatemala/Guatemala City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dai Nonni Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.