We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A special part of heaven!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Gregorio Hotel and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added San Gregorio Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
San Gregorio Hotel and Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Km. 29.5 en la Carretera a Santa Elena Barillas | Barillas Guatemala, Guatemala City, Guatemala   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 48 Hotels in Guatemala City
Huntsville, Alabama
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A special part of heaven!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Visiting the Land of Eternal Springtime is special in and of itself but to stay at the San Gregorio just makes it that much better. The breakfast was to die for, the rooms spotless, the spa so relaxing, and the location a glimpse of paradise. Hilda, the owner, is a very gracious hostess overseeing every detail to ensure perfection. Moreover, she and Lily on the front desk speak flawless English and are responsive to the needs of each guest on an individual basis. The location is very tranquil and picturesque with tropical birds waking you in the morning as you breathe in the fresh and invigorating air. If every hotel was like the San Gregorio, I would travel constantly. As it is, I've traveled to over 50 countries and this hotel is at the top of the list as to the places I've stayed.

Room Tip: Any room is a good room at the San Gregorio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sangregoriospa, General Manager at San Gregorio Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
It was a great privilege having you stay with us for several days and our staff as much as myself
are looking forward to your next visit.

We appreciate your comments; they motivate us to coninuously strive for excellence and to do our best to please our guests from abroad and from within Guatemala and to make them feel welcome in this most special place. Respectfully, Hildegard S. Valle, General Manager, San Gregorio Hotel & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    12
    5
    7
    1
See reviews for
4
46
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Just returned from a visit to Guatemala where we booked the entire San Gregorio Hotel with a large group in December 2012. Sra. Hilda and all of her staff were so friendly, and accommodating to our group's needs, including personalizing our meal service. What a beautiful retreat just outside of the City, and the views are spectacular. The rooms are also gorgeous. Highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This hotel is absolutely lovely! And I cant say enough about the spa!!! excellent, excellent massage, and i am a massage junkie! The rooms were beautiful, and the staff lovely! I So recommend this place! I wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

This wonderful spot provides a respite from the hustle of Guatemala City. Air is clean and crisp, view of the lake --- beautiful, Hilda and her staff could not have been more welcoming and accomodating with my travel delays. Transportation situation was made easy getting to and from the hotel. Even had a terrific massage to work out the travellers kinks. Architecturally fascinating property. Highly recommend the San Gregorio!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermagor, Austria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

just excellent !! no more to say, honest !! perfect combi of relax, wellbeing, excellent food (international and lekker local) and city excitement. pefect advise on visiting the guatemala high lights.

Room Tip: any room, no matter which!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

My hubby surprised me with a spectacular romantic escape!!
Great spa! Excellent climate! Amazing view! Exquisite food!
Had a lovely anniversary celebration!
Not far from the city and yet, we disconnect from everything.
Can't wait to go back!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas, Venezuela
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Without a doubt the place is beautiful. Very cozy rooms, amazinfg view of Amatitlan, clean facilities, relaxing spa area, overall its great.

I enjoyed breakfast and the staff in the restaurant was nice! However I thought dinner was expensive for what it represented, and the SPA was not what I expected. It was not a great massage, which is bad since that would have made my stay perfect!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to San Gregorio Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Gregorio Hotel and Spa

Address: Km. 29.5 en la Carretera a Santa Elena Barillas | Barillas Guatemala, Guatemala City, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Guatemala City
#5 Spa Hotel in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Gregorio Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This romantic first class Boutique style hotel offers modern luxurious accommodations in bungalows overlooking lake Amatitlan and the volcanos de Agua, Pacaya, Fuego and Acatenango, a gourmet restaurant, a wine bar and the unique spa that combines nature and modern facilities for your pleasure and comfort with spectacular views and landscape. A perfect choice to spend time before or after touring the country of Guatemala or Central America.RFA Certification process:We recently have been approved by the Rain Forest Alliance for adhering to principles of good practices in hotel management, starting with responsible waste treatment, ongoing recycle program, socially responsible human resource management, good neighbor policies, to mention a few. Events and Conference Center:At the end of 2011 a state of the art structure for corporate and social events with a capacity of up to 250 persons has been added. Our unique location provides a stunning setting for destination weddings and for special corporate meetings, combining nature and technology. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your San Gregorio Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Gregorio Hotel Guatemala City
San Gregorio Hotel And Spa Guatemala/Guatemala City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Gregorio Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.