We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good and clean, not gourmet food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Guatefriend's Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Guatefriend's Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Guatefriend's Bed & Breakfast
16 Calle 7-40 Zona 13, Aurora 1, Guatemala City 01013, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 38 Guatemala City B&B and Inns
La Liberta
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“very good and clean, not gourmet food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Softest most comfortable bed I've slept in, super clean, Ruth is super kind, and I liked the availability of everything. Great hostel but the gourmet feast no longer exists. Still great hostel choice but don't expect those kinds of breakfasts. Loved it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    14
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
5
13
26
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I lived in Guatemala for 2 years, and any time I needed or wanted to stay near to the airport (closer than Antigua) this was the place. Joe and Ana are spectacular. They pick you up on a whim, bend over backwards to suite your needs, make delicious food, and maintain an air of happy relaxation. My girlfriend and I wanted to go to an orchid show - he said, "so do I, let's go". Turns out, Joe studied orchids and other tropical plants in Florida, is an excellent photographer, and has some 20 or 30 species at the Inn - among other plants. Another night we missed our plane and needed a doctor's note so Delta didn't charge us for rebooking. Ana knew an excellent doctor who was able to meet us that next morning and save our entire trip! Thank you so much! Fantastic service at a fair price.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Me and Marianna we two lost english girls scared for our lives in guatamala city one september when joe kindly took us in (we were pretty poor) cooked us dinner and introduced us to anna and his children who were wonderful. We were cooked great dinners every night (with yummy dessert), interesting conversation and an overall brilliant experience we're still talking about two years later! We had promised we'd leave a review but until this time haven't got round to it, but drinking wine together and reminiscing we were overcome by guilt! Hope your family is well! (ps we stayed in 2010 but it wouldnt let us put that far back on this!)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Guatefriend's is a great place. It is clean, showers are warm, it is safe and the host went out of her way to make us feel comfortable. If you need a place to stay in Guatemala and you are an American you will be pleasantly accommodated.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

Guatefriends is a great starting point for Guatemala. It's very warm, safe and clean, with hot showers, and Joe and Anna go out of their way to ensure your safety. This is more important in Guatemala than most parts of Central America in my opinion. Make sure you use their pickup and dropoff service - not only will you be scammed by the taxis otherwise (which is irritating but harmless), they will drive you all around some of the least safe parts of the city and ask unsavoury characters for "directions" before reaching your destination. Joe is a good cook who does exotic dishes, but I have a fairly bland palate due to some complex health issues, so I wound up eating out.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

Visiting, here for the first time, Rutt (Ruth) speaks perfect english, and hostel is clean, and spacious. I would recommend hee as a first stop off

Room Tip: Ring the hostel from the Airport and they will pick you up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

I'm also very late with my review and have been meaning to write it since I got back to London. I've done a lot of travelling all over the world and have probably stayed in at least 150 different hotels/hostels/B&Bs and Guatefriends B&B in Guatemala City is easily one of my favourites. I found them randomly on the internet and only booked for one night as I hadn't heard many positive things about the city but I ended up staying for three nights and kept coming back over the 2 months that I spent travelling around the country. Joe & Ana were such welcoming hosts and I soon felt part of the family. They were the first people I met in Guatemala and were a great introduction to a beautiful country. They're fun and informative and it's obviously important to them that you have a good time whilst you're staying there. I was to sad to leave but I hope to visit again in the future. Joe & Ana - thank you!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Guatefriend's Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guatefriend's Bed & Breakfast

Address: 16 Calle 7-40 Zona 13, Aurora 1, Guatemala City 01013, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Guatemala Department > Guatemala City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Guatemala City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Guatefriend's Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guatefriend's Bed & Breakfast Guatemala/Guatemala City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guatefriend's Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.