We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic & special place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mayan Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Mayan Inn to your Saves list
Mayan Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   3a Avenida 8a Calle 1-91 Diagonal Santo Tomas, Chichicastenango 01013, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Romantic & special place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Mayan Inn is probably not for everyone. It's not a slick 5 star. Not all the rooms have double beds to accommodate couples and the bedding can be a bit tired and scratchy. But it is such a very special place to stay. The rooms provide a cool oasis from the hot dusty streets of Chichicastenango and each one is filled with beautiful antiques and has its own fireplace which is lit for you at night.

The town isn't somewhere to linger for too long unless you have a particular reason but do plan your visit around either the Sunday or Thursday markets which are spectacular. Also visit the main church, if you can, to admire the 16th century altar and Mayan/Catholic crossover ceremonies - on Market days awash with flowers, candles and copal incense.

We didn't try dinner, but the breakfasts at the hotel are exceptionally good - be sure to order the fruit plate and a Guatemalan breakfast.

The atmosphere of the common areas are perhaps the most special thing about this hotel. In traditional Spanish Colonial courtyard style, there are many lush green spaces and cool quiet corridors filled with artefacts which make a pleasant space to sit and read or try to catch the rather weak wifi signal and catch up on emails. During the day you might be accompanied by the occasional squawk from one of the three scarlet macaws and two parrots living in the gardens. They ARE taken away at night, so have no fear of being woken by an early morning cacophony.

We just loved this hotel - a real highlight of our stay in Guatemala.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    66
    14
    10
    2
See reviews for
24
57
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

As far as location is concerned, it doesn't get better than this! The hotel is just down the street from the market and within walking distance from the colourful cemetery - the #1 and #2 tourist attractions in Chichi. There are also many restaurants and shops in the area. And yet, the entire place is peaceful and quiet. This place has everything to offer for a romantic get-away: fireplace in the room, antiques everywhere, beautiful mountain views, gorgeous gardens, macaws and marimba player in the courtyard, staff wearing traditional costumes, delicious breakfast and coffee in the morning...Heck, I stayed there by myself and still felt "romantic." There is not too much to do in Chichi compared to Antigua. So 1-2 nights should be enough. I would go back just to stay there again. But next time I will bring "someone special" with me. :=)

Room Tip: Press the button by the bed and the hotel staff will come to your room and light the fire for you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We stayed here as part of a tour with Gate 1 travel. Wow what a cool place! Each room is unique. The hotel itself is a former convent built in the 16th century (as I recall). The staff speaks english. We were in a room with twin beds and there was no way we could fit into one bed so we did have to sleep separately. If you are planning to visit the market, the Mayan Inn has the perfect location. It's literally almost at the doorstep. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

The hotel has a few good aspects but really lacks a lot that would make it a good hotel. The rooms were spacious and full of antiques including the furniture which ranged from antique to old to almost falling apart, some really getting to the end of their useful life. The room fire was laid and ready to be lit if required. The hotel is right along side of the twice weekly market and bargaining there is essential. We didn't eat in the Mayan Inn, a tip from earlier Trip Advisor reports, but our co-travellers did and found it to be pretty poor. The menu was very limited, the food took an age to come (the five of us were the only guests staying and we weren't eating there) and when the food came it was cold. There is free Wi fi in the bar, get the code from the reception. We found a good place to eat, five minutes walk away, the Don Pascual Resaurant, go left by the small church at the back of the hotel, pass the childens park and it is on the second floor. It is clean, attractively decorated and deals with day trippers to Chichi therefore has an menu in English. It is also cheap and the food is good. The breakfast we had at the Inn was in the same vain as our co-travellers evening meal, limited, slow and cold.

Room Tip: Rooms adjacent to the road gets some early morning traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark R, General Manager at Mayan Inn, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Mr. Antony B:

Thanks for your recent comments, we are taking them seriously as our goal is to improve every day. In order to achieve this, we would appreciate if you could please let us know in which room you stayed. Regarding the food, we are sorry you did not try our cuisine, however we are making changes to it according to our guests preferences.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

This was our fourth trip to Chichicastenango. It was time to try the Mayan Inn.
We were assigned a personal assistant,Tomas, to light the fire at night, serve meals,
and generally to look after our needs which included making sure we didn't leave
anything in the room upon departure (of course, I did.) The room,on the second level, No. 14, was exquisite, I spent the entire afternoon just lounging. The view reminded me of an Italian hill town except that this is uniquely Chichi and in the distance there were Mayan women doing their chores. At dawn,only in Chichi, cannons go off and just as in the countryside around the world, beds chirp,dogs bark, roosters crow and chickens clack as they lay eggs. The bar located adjacent to the courtyard garden is classic,takes one back to the 1930's, and serves a good Cuba libre.
The dining room has a very limited menu that could be expanded by offering specials. One doesn't
come to Chichi to dine. However,one does have to eat and there are few good choices . Hotel Sto.Tomas offers a buffet on market days and that is a good option for Mayan Inn to consider.

Room Tip: Submit your requirements at the time of reservation. Always consider the value to you of an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I would not recommend staying the night in chichicantenango. They are known as the best pickpocketers in world and do not disappoint. The market is pretty good during the day, but I would have much rather made it a day trip. The hotel is right 'downtown'. This is not a good thing. Ridiculously loud fireworks continued until 2am with only a small break until 5am. The hotel isn't completely terrible, but is definitely not worth the price. Stay at one of the other awesome cities of guatemala!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark R, Manager at Mayan Inn, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Estudiantedomundo:

We at Mayan Inn are really sorry to hear that you may have had a bad experience with pickpocketers when you were in Chichicastenango, unfortunately, this is something that happens all over the world in markets and for this reason we warn all of our guest before going to the market to please be careful with the wallets.

In Chichicastenango every year from December 13th to the 21st is the Feast of Santo Tomas the patron saint of Chichicastenango, during this period of time we have all kinds of activities as part of this feast. Also on December 21st, 2012 we had a double celebration in Chichicastenango as it was part of our Mayan Culture the end of the 13 Bak´tun, the beginning of a new era and for this reason you were able during your visit to Chichicastenango see all the ceremonies and special events conmemorating the new Bak'tun and the Feast of Santo Tomas as part of the traditions of hundreds of years here in Chichicastenango.

Furthermore, our hotel is located near the main plaza, Saint Tomas Church, and the cementery, you were in the center of all the main activities and ceremonies for this important ocation in the Mayan Culture, it was like been in a hotel in Time Square for New Years Eve in New York.

We are sorry you didn't enjoy your visit to Chichicastenango and take advantage of everything that was going on in our town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

This hotel couldn't be in a better location for exploring Chichi and the market, which is literally on the doorstep of the hotel. We were there in early January, and on our first night I'm pretty sure we were the only people staying in the hotel! The bar and restaurant weren't even open! The room was big and filled with old furniture. The bed was adequate, but what the bed lacked in comfort the room made up for in quaint charm. We used the fireplace both nights, and it was really nice to have.
Staff was great, the costumes were a bit odd, but we rolled with it! We ate in the restaurant on the second night after my mother got TERRIBLE food poisoning at the restaurant in the main square. Don Julio something? Anyway, the meal was fine, if a bit expensive. The night before the market the hotel was a bit more lively, but still I don't think there were more than 8 rooms occupied.
There isn't much to do in Chichi besides the market, but we amused ourselves by walking up to the shrine on the hill and wandering around the cemetery.
I have absolutely no complaints about the Mayan Inn whatsoever! Much less touristy that the other big hotel in town whose name is escaping me.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mayan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayan Inn

Address: 3a Avenida 8a Calle 1-91 Diagonal Santo Tomas, Chichicastenango 01013, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > El Quiche Department > Chichicastenango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Chichicastenan...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mayan Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Mayan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayan Hotel Chichicastenango

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mayan Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.