We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pretty hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Santo Tomas Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chichicastenango
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Santo Tomas Hotel
Save
You added Santo Tomas Hotel to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7 Av 5 - 32 Zona unica, Chichicastenango, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“pretty hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2010

very pretty place. comfortable and clean rooms. nice pool. great location. good inhouse restaurant though we did eat just breakfast there. everything was fabulous except that the staff seemed very indifferent for a $100/night hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    52
    23
    3
    4
See reviews for
23
35
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yellowknife, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2010

From the outside, this hotel is definitely not the most inspiring of buildings, however step through the front door and the traveler is greeted by an expansive courtyard garden, complete with many colorful plants, birds, fountains, lots of places to sit and relax in the afternoon sun. Further exploration reveals yet more courtyards off the main and a swimming pool on the upper level.
Rooms are clean comfortable and nicely decorated, perhaps a bit noisy as there is no insulation between rooms however, the hotel still has a nice relaxing atmosphere. Restaurant service is friendly with authentic Guatemalan dishes, and the menu is quite varied. Water is "agua pur".
Location is central and great for market days.
Great Spot

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2010

No doubt, this hotel should be the best hotel in Chichi: the building and decoration is beautiful; the rooms are great; the swimming pool seemed very fine, but...
because this hotel receives a lot of tourist packed in buses, you'll not get a so personalized service than in smaller hotels, which could not be a problem for you; be aware of the room you choose, or you can get a room facing the street - as I got - and you'll begin to ear the noisy trucks at the street at 4am; and those parrots during the day in the garden... I almost wanted to kill them, as they were so noisy.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2010

Disclaimer: We didn't stay at the Hotel Tomas. We were staying at Lake Atitlan, but took a bus to Chichi for the Sunday market, where we were promptly pickpocketed. (Ego salvage: this is despite being seasoned travelers, stashing money in multiple places on our persons, and my husband having lived in Central America for 2.5 years).

As Hotel Tomas is pretty centrally located, once we realized my husband's wallet was gone we hightailed it back there to try to take stock, cancel our cards, etc. They were nice and let us use their guest computer, even though we weren't guests.

But then their guest computer was having issues connecting to the internet, so they actually let us into their personal office to use their computer to get the phone numbers for our three credit card companies. Then they let us use their front desk phone to call internationally to cancel the cards (we paid for the use, but they charged very acceptable rates for this). Once again: this was even though we were not guests.

They were very, very kind to us and saved our butts hugely. We got the whole ugly mess cleaned up within an hour's time, and after our friends bought us some drinks (@ the Hotel Tomas bar) to soothe our wounds, we were back out at the market again with what money the pickpockets didn't get.

In short, Hotel Tomas was really, really awesome to us and helped us really fix what could have been a disastrous and terrible day. I wanted to make sure their good dead did not go unpunished.

Other pros: 1. From what we saw of the lobby area they are very clean and westerner-friendly.

2. They have several birds (parrots) that you can check out, get close to, interact with in their central atrium. Very cool.

3. Clean bathroom.

4. Cheap postcards on sale.

Only cons: Like I said, we never saw past the lobby, but the lobby itself was tourist hell. I think this is probably because of the central location and westerner-friendliness. It was absolutely rotten with every loud, elderly, fat, slow, waist-pouch and visor-wearing group of American/German/Asian/whatever tourists that had just gotten of their bus and decide to walk around in a confused haze.

That was pretty annoying, but what are you going to do? They still saved my skin, and were very, very kind about it, and for that I am and always will be very, very grateful.

Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2010

I stayed at Santo Tomas for a week in January as part of a mission trip. I didn't know what to expect--I knew we were working at a remote village outside of ChiChi--and I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. Our room was spacious, the bed was a bit firm but comfy overall, there were plenty of warm blankets and hot water. I was thrilled to find a hairdryer b/c it was a bit on the chilly side. It was possible to get a fire built in the room, but my experience with in-room fires in other countries made me opt to just put on an extra blanket instead.

The room was very clean, as were the common areas of the hotel. The garden was gorgeous and the passageways and rooms filled with antiques. The computer/internet connection worked most of the time and was free! We ate dinner and breakfast at the hotel every day, and I loved the eggs, black beans, and tortillas. They offered decent vegetarian options at dinner and excellent fresh tropical fruit for desserts.

I brought earplugs because of past experiences in other cities, but found after the first night that I didn't need to use them. There was a little street noise--our room faced a gas station--but it quieted down quickly. There were occasional dogs or roosters, but we were up early to travel to the worksite and it really wasn't a problem.

The location was good--close to the market, farmacia, other stores.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2009

The location is unbeatable. It gives you the ability to take comfortable breaks from the market, and to be able to walk around with minimal belongings. The place is beautiful.

My complaints are that the staff seem disinterested, and the fires in both of our rooms belched thick smoke back into the rooms. There was no way we could go to sleep until we have made sure the fires were out and the smoke had cleared. I'm guessing that the chimneys are either poorly designed, or that they are in serious need of cleaning.

The website claims that the swimming pool is heated. It was freezing.

Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia, USA
Top Contributor
421 reviews 421 reviews
130 hotel reviews
Reviews in 256 cities Reviews in 256 cities
407 helpful votes 407 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2009

This large, fairly new hotel, just steps from the twice-weekly market in Chichicastenango, is a gem. Our triple room )actually two rooms) was equipped with a fireplace, which was supplied with wood and fired up by the staff at our request. We were on the second floor, far from the street, and the room was absolutely quiet. Lighting was very poor, as we found to be the case throughout the country. The second floor swimming pool, artifacts and antiques scattered about the premises, the fully equipped bar with fireplace, and the huge restaurant were all unexpected amenities. The lunch buffet, while expensive by local standards, was particularly nice. And the colorful parrots perched around the courtyard during the day were a special treat. Friendly and efficient staff made this a great place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Santo Tomas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santo Tomas Hotel

Address: 7 Av 5 - 32 Zona unica, Chichicastenango, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > El Quiche Department > Chichicastenango
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Chichicastenan...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Santo Tomas Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Also Known As:
Santo Tomas Chichicastenango
Hotel Santo Tomas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santo Tomas Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.