We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deserted and expensive” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Santo Tomas Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chichicastenango
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Santo Tomas Hotel
Save
You added Santo Tomas Hotel to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7 Av 5 - 32 Zona unica, Chichicastenango, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Deserted and expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

Stayed one night here, lovely hotel but empty and slightly spooky. Lack of other guests may be due to the high price of room.

Room was huge and clean with very comfortable bed. Didn't eat in restaurant as breakfast not included.

During day Hotel appears to be the collection area for coach tours (and threadbare parrots...).

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    55
    25
    3
    4
See reviews for
24
37
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, England
Level Contributor
151 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2011

This is ideal especially if you are staying in town on the night before the market. Rooms are a good size and quite comfortable, although no room safes. There is a safe at reception and it is a good idea to make use of it if you are visiting the crowded market. Breakfast is served by waiters an there is a good choice.
Free wifi throughout most of the hotel

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

The only nice thing about this hotel is the garden in the center and the big buckets with callalilies they have everywhere in the corridors.... the rooms are very basic and the beds are extremely hard, not much different than sleeping in the floor. It was very cold at nigh and the only heating in the room was a small fire place at the entrance which was divided form the bedroom by a wall, so there was no heat at all in the actual bedroom and the fire anyways died after an hour or so. There are no amenities of any kind, and forget about trying to sleep late or take a nap... there are loud parrots in the garden, and a band playing marimba (which can be nice for a while but becomes very loud and irritating). There are not safes in the rooms and signs saying the hotel does not take any responsibility for stolen valuables... It was a little unsettling as the hotel is very opened and the rooms are all overlooking a central courtyard that has very easy access from the street. That said, the hotel has an excellent location and it seems clean, but for what they offer the rates should be less than half of what they are. I am not sure there are many other choices that would be any better in town.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2010

This hotel is extremely overpriced for what it offers. There are similar quality hotels for significantly less money. Perhaps being in Lonely Planet made them think too highly of themselves. They added charges anyway they could. Further, they have unsightly, sick looking parrot with their wings clipped on perches in the courtyard.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2010

I've just returned from staying at the Hotel and it was during a very cold spell in the Highlands. The rooms are heated only with a small fireplace that would die out after only an hour or so of attempting to heat. It made sleeping very difficult because of the chill. Then, in the morning, the showers were only warm - it presented some small challenges for getting ready in the mornings. Restaurant was very, very nice. The food was good. The location for the market was unbelievable. Literally walking out the main door of the hotel put you into the shopping market. It was tremendous and quite a shopping experience - especially bargaining with the sellers. Made for an enjoyable and memorable experience.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terre Haute, Indiana
Level Contributor
270 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2010

Because of mudslides which resulted in fatalities and road closures, we were unable to reach Lake Atitlan. Our guide recommended that we go to Chichicastenango as an alternate location. He had made reservations at Santo Tomas Hotel for us. We were a little disappointed at first because we wanted to see the lake, but after arriving at the hotel, we were absolutely delighted.

The ambience, service, lobby, courtyard, rooms were wonderful. The staff in traditional dress, the detailed decoration on the walls, the attentiveness of the employees were unmatched anywhere. The owner was on site and was interested in our needs.

The hotel provided a restaurant, bar, swimming pool, fitness center as well as numerous places to stroll and enjoy the wall decor. At times it felt as if I were in some castle with all of the beautiful things to see.

I might add our large group consisted of 12 people. A bonus for us was the Sunday market. You could not go wrong staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2010

We had no idea how grand this hotel was when we booked it. It is a huge hotel, filled with art of all kinds, but especially religious art.

Besides being overwhelmed by the grandness and the art, we got special pleasure from the many parrots in the courtyard, the swimming pool, the restaurant with good food, the waiters in traditional clothing, and the musicians who played in the courtyard during meals.

The food is rather expensive, but the prices and quality matched the high level of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chichicastenango
14.0 mi away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#4 of 30 in Panajachel
4.5 of 5 stars 458 reviews
15.2 mi away
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature...
#3 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
4.5 of 5 stars 360 reviews
18.0 mi away
Villa Santa Catarina
Villa Santa Catarina
#11 of 30 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 stars 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Villas Balam Ya
Villas Balam Ya
#2 of 30 in Panajachel
4.5 of 5 stars 87 reviews
16.0 mi away
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
#1 of 2 in Jaibalito
4.5 of 5 stars 484 reviews
14.7 mi away
Hotel Playa Linda
Hotel Playa Linda
#18 of 30 in Panajachel
3.5 of 5 stars 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santo Tomas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santo Tomas Hotel

Address: 7 Av 5 - 32 Zona unica, Chichicastenango, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > El Quiche Department > Chichicastenango
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Chichicastenan...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Santo Tomas Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Also Known As:
Santo Tomas Chichicastenango
Hotel Santo Tomas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santo Tomas Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.