We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food for our group” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa de San Juan

Casa de San Juan
4a Ave. Plaza Central, Chichicastenango, Guatemala
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Guatemalan
Restaurant details
Winterville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“good food for our group”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

good food and service. would return when in Chichi again. The lemonade with soda was a special treat at the end of a long day of travel.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    7
    7
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Absolutely Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

One of the two best meals we had in Guatemala. Visited for lunch and was very surprised. The food was fresh, perfectly seasoned, and absolutely delicious. The service was very professional. For perspective, we found the restaurant to be far superior to Welten (Antigua), Casa Santo Domingo (Antigua), Hotel Atitlan (Lake Atitlan) and Jake's (Guatemala City). Would definitely choose this restaurant for your market visit.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria., VA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“One of the two restaurants we find acceptable in Chichi--nothing to write home about though.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We spend several weeks teaching in Chichi every year. This restaurant is one of the two we choose to frequent. It is wholesome, i.e., we have never been sick. There is even an option for vegetarians. The surroundings are interesting and pleasant, the service is fine. The menu is highly limited and gets boring after a while. Do not order the beef--it cannot be chewed. That being said this is one of the two in Chichi we recommend to tourists. The two higher priced hotels have food that is no better at twice the price.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Modest but elegant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

the place and the food can be defined as "modest but elegant". The restaurant is located very close to the "Steps of Santo Tomás".

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best Meal in Guatemala”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

See title...literally outstanding food and service. Best tacos I've ever had anywhere. So comfortable and beautifully decorated. A welcome respite/sanctuary from the hustle and bustle of the market...what a treat!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa de San Juan also viewed

Chichicastenango, El Quiche Department
Chichicastenango, El Quiche Department
 
Chichicastenango, El Quiche Department
Chichicastenango, El Quiche Department
 

Been to Casa de San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa de San Juan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.