We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Station

The Station
222 W Lamar St, Americus, GA 31709
229-931-5398
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 46 Restaurants in Americus
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Fine dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Best filet mignon I ever had, had nice chat with Jimmy and Roslyn Carter at dinner he likes Shrimp and Grits.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    36
    8
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Americus, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Food Great, Server terrible”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Food was great, would not change anything. Server was rude, short, not interested in conversation, and even had a few "smart remarks" that were not taken well by members of the party (11 person party). Other servers seemed happy/nice, but ours did not. I will give them another chance, but this particular server did hurt them. Again....food was WONDERFUL.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, South Dakota
Top Contributor
304 reviews 304 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 159 cities Reviews in 159 cities
310 helpful votes 310 helpful votes
“Nice place but not fine cuisine ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

We went for dinner because local friends said it was the best in Americus. It probably is but that admittedly is a limited competition. The restaurant is split into two sections. The bar is fancier looking if you don't mind the smoke. The other side is non-smoking but has little to no ambience. Our filets were excellent pieces of beef and were grilled exactly as ordered. We had to return our first bottle of wine as it had turned bad; I doubt many full bottles are sold. The creme broulet definitely came out of a package and was lukewarm when served. Because the entrees were a great buy at $22 the place still earned 4 stars but that's being very charitable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Fine food in a small town.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Americus, Georgia, is small but has a vital downtown. This restaurant in the center serves a variety of dishes prepared with surprising care and sophistication. Service is friendly and attentive. There is a full bar. Come early or make a reservation, as it is understandably popular with locals.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, SC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Popular restaurant; not much in the way of atmosphere. Filet was excellent. Cooked perfectly; good flavor. Limited wine selections. Very nice staff.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Station also viewed

 

Been to The Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.