We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MOST WONDERFUL B & B EVER” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Americus Garden Inn Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Americus
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Americus Garden Inn Bed & Breakfast
Save Saved
You added Americus Garden Inn Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
504 Rees Park, Americus, GA 31709   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Americus B&B and Inns
Carrollton, GA
1 review
“MOST WONDERFUL B & B EVER”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2006

I just returned from a semi-annual weekend "girl's" trip to Americus, GA with 3 of my lifetime friends. We call ourselves the "Nutty Buddies." The primary purpose of our trip was to visit President Jimmy Carter's church and attend the Sunday School class that he taught. I searched the internet for lodging in the area and decided on the Americus Garden Inn. Seeing the Carters was great and President Carter is a wonderful Sunday school teacher. But the best part of the trip was actually our stay at the Americus Garden Inn Bed & Breakfast. The owners, Kim and Susan Egelseer, are truly blessed with a special gift of making one feel welcome and special. From being greeted in the driveway, to all the special touches throughout the house, the scrumptious breakfasts.......I could go on and on.
Our only regret was that we didn't get to spend more time just enjoying the ambience of the Inn itself and less time out seeing the sights.
I recommend the Amercus Garden Inn over any other bed and breakfast in which I have stayed. It is great for a girl's getaway, like we had, or a romantic weekend for you and that special person in your life.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    594
    6
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
62
300
20
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2006

we were looking for a place to have a quiet weekend away to celebrate our 15 year anniversary and the Americus Garden Inn was exactly what we were looking for. The rooms are great, the house is wonderful and best of all the food was excellent. It was a bed and breakfast where you could be alone if you wanted or get to know the other guests. Kim and Susan couldn't make you feel anymore welcome. I would recommend this bed and breakfast to anyone.

Stayed February 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2006

We spent our 2nd Anniversary at the Americus Garden Inn and we loved it! Our room was beautiful and we enjoyed the private balcony. We added the "Sensations" package and the "Bistro Basket" and we loved both. We appreciated the organized and helpful details given about the local eating establishments and sites. We didn't have to spend any of our time researching the area, just enjoying it.

The Garden Inn met and exceeded all of the standards that one would expect from an upscale B&B; a beautiful historic home, fabulous food, and a relaxing atmosphere. Kim and Susan really devoted a great deal of energy to details and personalized service but it was their genuine enthusiasm for what they were doing that made this such a unique and warm experience.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2006

Our stay at the Americus Garden Inn was great. The hosts were delightful and very helpful in guiding our tourist activities in the area. The food was exceptional and served with style. We will most definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2006

There really ought to be a category above "excellent"...because this Inn and it's Innkeepers surely deserve it! From the moment you approach the house you sense the warmth that awaits you inside. We could not have had a better experience. The rooms are immaculate and the food was absolutely delicious!!!! We are now B&B converts and will be comparing all future experiences to this one! Our hats go off to Susan and Kim!!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2006

My husband and I were looking for a change of pace from the ordinary for our first anniversary. As we contemplated ideas for trips, we decided to try a bed and breakfast...a new experience for both of us. After our visit to Americus Garden Inn, I don't know if there are other B&Bs that could live up to our first experience. Kim and Susan were fabulous hosts. We were made to feel as if we were home from the moment we arrived. We were given a brief historical tour of the home, informed of restaurants in the area, and left to ourselves unless we needed Kim or Susan for anything. Our room was very spacious and comfortable. We had the good fortune of being the last couple to check out on Sunday morning, so we had the treat of being able to see all of the rooms. They were all spacious and comfortable and we quickly concluded that we would have been very pleased with any room. The grounds were also enjoyable. We sat on the swing in the gazebo of the backyard for a long conversation under the Saturday night sky.
As for the hosts, they were very kind, helpful, and great to carry on Sunday morning conversation with over coffee! They took wonderful care of us, even making dinner reservations at a local lodge on our behalf. The three-course breakfast at the Inn was delicious with large portions each morning. A large variety of juices as well as wonderful gourmet coffee was the perfect complement to the meal. What a great way to begin the day!
As I'm sure is the case with many places, the pace is what you make of it - we chose to mostly sit around watching movies and enjoy the jacuzzi. We did take the opportunity to visit a couple of local historical buildings, but could have easily taken in many more sites in the area. Kim and Susan were very knowledgable of the local attractions and had a wealth of information regarding each of them.
Our weekend was nothing short of fabulous, and we feel that Kim and Susan's charming personalities and lovely B&B was the centerpiece of the first of many happy anniversaries together. We know that a trip back to Americus Garden Inn will certainly be in our future.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2006

Among our many visits to B & B's we rate this one of the best. A beautiful house with spacious, clean rooms. Comfortable, quiet location near restaurants and other historical sites in the community. Susan and Kim, the hosts, asked us when making reservations about any special food requests we might have. Food was very good. They are fun to talk to and were willing to share about sites in the area.

Americus is located in a wonderful historic area. During our time there we visited Andersonville Prison, Habitat for Humanity Headquarters and Plains GE the home of former President Jimmy Carter and Roselyn. We will always remember this trip (see photo)

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americus Garden Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americus Garden Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 504 Rees Park, Americus, GA 31709
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Americus
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Americus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Americus Garden Inn Bed and Breakfast, we strive to provide a unique lodging experience in Americus, Georgia that delights and impresses our guests with gracious hospitality, impeccable cleanliness, creative, nutritious and delicious breakfast foods in comfortably elegant surroundings. Our beautiful 1847 antebellum pre-Civil war mansion is located in the residential historic district of Americus, featuring 7 spacious suites furnished with King/Queen beds, private in room bath, free parking, free WiFi, complimentary breakfast and complimentary refreshments available 24/7. Over an acre of beautifully landscaped gardens with walking trail, gazebo and koi pond. Perfect for business or pleasure. Americus Garden Inn Bed and Breakfast is an escape from the ordinary, "where history meets romance..." ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americus Garden Inn Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.