We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our First Stay At a B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Americus Garden Inn Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Americus
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Americus Garden Inn Bed & Breakfast
504 Rees Park, Americus, GA 31709   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Americus B&B and Inns
A TripAdvisor Member
“Our First Stay At a B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2005

While planning a trip to Columbus, Georgia, to attend the graduation ceremony of our grandson from basic training at Fort Benning, we decided to incorporate a long planned visit to Plains. We had read Jimmy Carter’s book, An Hour Before Daylight, found it so descriptive of life there that we wanted to see it for ourselves.
Americus, Georgia, near Plains, appeared to be a convenient place to stay, with the added advantage of being within a short distance of another historic site, Andersonville and the Prisoner of War Museum, another long planned visit.
So, where to stay in Americus?
A search on the internet turned up the usual motels. But then we had an idea. We had never stayed at a Bed and Breakfast. Certainly in a town whose roots were deep in the antebellum South there must be some place, some house, that would give us a sense of time and place. And we found it. The minute we saw the photograph of Americus Garden Inn, a large Romantic Victorian house with Italianate embellishments we knew that was where we wanted to stay. We booked three nights during the first weekend in December—Saturday through Monday.
On Saturday afternoon we visited Andersonville and on Sunday we attended the Maranatha Baptist Church in Plains, listened to Jimmy Carter teach a Sunday school class, stayed for the church service and had our picture taken with the Carters. We toured the Carter farm in the afternoon. Added attractions were the Rural Telephone Museum at Leslie and the Global Village at Habitat for Humanity in Americus.
What made this mini vacation so excellent was the fact that we had chosen the Americus Garden Inn as our operational base. Innkeepers Susan and Kim Egelseer are very caring hosts. We were thoroughly briefed on local restaurants, places we wanted to visit, shown the best routes to get where we wanted to go, served three wonderful gourmet breakfasts—no two alike—had elegant accommodations and were made to feel comfortably at home in the cozy Veranda Suite.
In retrospect our stay was too short to take advantage of all the amenities offered such as the Inn’s extensive VHS tape collection, or simply spending a quiet afternoon reading in the living room and listening to the baby grand piano that plays a concert all by itself. A walking tour of nearby historic homes, had the weather been more suitable, could have added to our pleasure, and spending a tranquil evening on the veranda overlooking Rees Park under a southern moon would have been unforgettable. If there is a more congenial B&B it’s probably on another planet.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

592 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    585
    6
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
61
294
20
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2005

We spent 2 nights at the Americus Garden Inn B&B. The Inn and the innkeepers exceeded our expectaions. It was a wonderful experience. We would highly recommend them.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2005

I had never experienced a stay at a B&B before. After two nights at the Americus Garden Inn, I've been bitten by the B&B bug! We stayed in Americus after researching the area around Plains, GA. (Our mission was to attend Sunday School with Jimmy Carter.) The 1847 house made us "FEEL" the history of the area. It was beautifully restored, yet complete with all the amenities and security you'd want to have.

THE CITY: Americus has much more to offer than Plains, Ga. It's close enough to be convenient - for those who come to see Jimmy Carter, his home, and the president's museum. But Americus has more to offer in the way of restaurants and history. Americus Garden Inn is right in the historic district. You can stroll the neighborhood and admire the historic mansions. Your can tour the headquarters for Habitat for Humanity. (We also enjoyed the town's community theatre, which has recently undergone a million- dollar renovation.)

AMERICUS GARDEN INN: The inn is totally charming. The owners, Susan and Kim, will gladly share its history and point out details about its structure. Each room has a private bath and is individually decorated. The decor throughout is a feast for your eyes. You can relax in a rocking chair on the front porch.... or on a swing in the backyard. We stayed in the "library room" on the first floor, right across from the dining room and the kitchen. The double-door entrance to our room made us feel regal. Be sure to ask if it's possible to see some of the other bedrooms, as each had its own ambiance. If you're interested, there are also historic videos related to the area.

THE HOSTS: Total hospitality is the best way I can think of to compliment Susan and Kim. They were warm and welcoming. They spent limitless time sharing information about their historic inn and the area. They had an information area at the inn's entrance that included maps, restaurant menus, and area attractions. They served breakfasts that were absolutely delicious... with attention to nutrition, too. Susan packed homemade chocolate-nut bread to us to take. Believe it or not, Susan is glad to share any of her recipes! We couldn't have asked for more!

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2005

We have stayed in numerous B&Bs and found the
Americus Garden Inn to be the most delightful.
The facilities, breakfasts and hospitality of
Susan and Kim were unbeatable. We hope to return
there one day and will advise our children and
friends to be sure to stay there whenever in the
area.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2005

This B & B is much above the average. We have stayed at numerous B&Bs around the country and this one is tops. The hospitality of Susan and Kim and the great breakfast make it a stnadout. Don't miss staying here if you will be in the Americus area.

Stayed October 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2005

Susan & Kim are very warm, caring innkeepers with a wonderful Victorian home to share--very kind to my family & most accomodating. The breakfast is the best-don't miss it! We would definitely stay there again! nancy phelan

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2005

This was our first experience at "A Bed And Breakfast" and we were profoundly impressed. From the moment we arrived until the moment we departed we were pampered royally. Kim and Susan were so gracious as our hosts and served us with joy. They have truly set the bar so high that we will have difficulty staying at any other bed and breakfast because of our expectations. The breakfast was such that we felt like royalty; we never expected such unique but delicious courses. We definitely will recommend this place to all of our friends and are purchasing gift certificates for family members for Christmas presents. We are eager to return in the near future.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Americus Garden Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americus Garden Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 504 Rees Park, Americus, GA 31709
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Americus
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Americus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Americus Garden Inn Bed and Breakfast, we strive to provide a unique lodging experience in Americus, Georgia that delights and impresses our guests with gracious hospitality, impeccable cleanliness, creative, nutritious and delicious breakfast foods in comfortably elegant surroundings. Our beautiful 1847 antebellum pre-Civil war mansion is located in the residential historic district of Americus, featuring 7 spacious suites furnished with King/Queen beds, private in room bath, free parking, free WiFi, complimentary breakfast and complimentary refreshments available 24/7. Over an acre of beautifully landscaped gardens with walking trail, gazebo and koi pond. Perfect for business or pleasure. Americus Garden Inn Bed and Breakfast is an escape from the ordinary, "where history meets romance..." ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americus Garden Inn Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Americus Garden Inn Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list