We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like Being at Home without the Work” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Americus Garden Inn Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Americus
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Americus Garden Inn Bed & Breakfast
Save Saved
You added Americus Garden Inn Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
504 Rees Park, Americus, GA 31709   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Americus B&B and Inns
Florida
1 review
“Like Being at Home without the Work”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2009

Kim & Sue create a unique combination of the friendliness of family, helpfulness of a personal tour guide, and the incomparable culinary experience of the best chef to provide visitors with a special travel experience. This B&B is one of the best I've ever visited, and I've traveled around the world.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

598 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    591
    6
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
62
298
20
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
lep8149
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2009

I knew after talking on the phone with Susan, that we were in for an absolutely wonderful experience. When we pulled into the driveway, we took a step back in time. The Garden Inn is a beautiful antebellum home with an expertly maintained garden and landscape. We were welcomed on the porch by our hosts Susan and Kim and were offered fresh baked chocolate chip cookies still warm from the oven. It was like coming home from a very long trip. Susan and Kim are simply wonderful caring people who love their inn and catering to their guests. They were very helpful in suggesting places to eat and area attractions. The Magnolia Suite was magnificent down to the smallest detail and was absolutely spotless. The highlight of our stay had to be that "Welcome Home Feeling" from Susan and Kim and Susan's gourmet breakfast fit for a king. The only thing that we didn't like was having to leave on Sunday morning. We will definitely be back in the Fall, hopefully for a longer visit.
Larry and Vicki

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Americus Garden Inn Bed and Breakfast. Husband and wife owners Kim and Susan are completely hands-on, wonderfully charming and are full of information about things to see and do in the area - and there are quite a few! Breakfasts are scrumptious, and chocolate chip cookies are always available. The property itself is absolutely georgeous, filled with antiques. We stayed in the Scarlet Room, which is huge and has a huge bathroom. The gardens surrounding the home are beautiful, and we enjoyed chatting on the porch with our hosts and other guests. We mentioned we'd just gotten engaged, and a "congrats" banner appeared above our door! Not only is the Inn comfortable and beautiful, a stay here is also an excellent value... we can't imagine why anyone would stay in a chain when they can have an experience like this! Thanks Susan and Kim, we'll see you again! Noelle & Steve

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2009

My sister and I recently spent a weekend at the Americus Garden Inn and we were truly impressed with everything. We planned to visit some of the historic sites and state parks in the area. Kim and Susan really helped with suggestions of where to eat and events that were happening in the area that particular weekend which led to some unexpected fun and memories. They really became our tour guides. The food was great. The room felt comfortable and clean. If you have never tried a bed and breakfast, let this be your first. It was a great weekend and our thanks goes to Kim and Susan who made us feel comfortable and very welcome.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basin Bayou, FL
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2009

Our 1st-ever stay at a B&B and we are hooked! We stayed in the Veranda Room, a bottom-floor, strategically-located very large suite with a sitting area, very comfortable king bed and extra-large bath. The grounds and gardens were beautiful and peaceful and the inn atmosphere warm, restful and relaxing. The owners, Kim & Susan, are an amazing husband and wife team who felt more like our long-lost friends rather than the inn proprietors. Kim greeted us by name upon our arrival and knew/remembered exactly what we were in town for though he was also greeting other guests who arrived seconds before we did. From fresh baked cookies each evening to Susan's ABSOLUTELY INCREDIBLE gourmet breakfasts, the dining was nothing less than fabulous. It was Kim & Susan's extra attention to detail (ironed sheets, lounging robes, linen turndowns, drawn draperies each evening, re-stocked chocolates in our room because we were pigs and ate all of it as soon as we got there!) and the way that they personally took care of us and our needs (right-on suggestions for dinner dining, sightseeing/touring hints, and just friendly chats & conversation) that made for a VERY memorable and special weekend for us. Both my husband (who HATES to travel) and I are looking forward to returning soon!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2009

Our experience at the Americus Garden Inn was one to remember. My husband an I had wanted to do a day trip from the Atlanta area and I went online to find something near both Andersonville and Plains, GA. We wanted to see the National Prisoner of War museum at Andersonville and visit the home of former President Jimmy Carter. Americus is located between the two and it seemed like a perfect fit. I spoke with Susan on the phone and she was prepared to tell me how best to organize our trip and get the most out of the locations we had selected. When we arrived at the Inn, Kim met us at our car and gave us a tour of the house. Susan had made chocolate chip cookies and we had a bowl of chocolate treats on our bed. I was extremely impressed with the book of restaurant menus from all the nearby restaurants. It made choosing a place for dinner so simple. The room was beautiful and the whole Inn sparkled. The ultimate finish was one of Susan's award winning breakfast. We were lucky to sample her cinnamon griddle cakes along with homemade bluberry muffins, fruit ,and a delicious egg dish. The house is surrounded with beautiful gardens and serene places to sit. My only regret was that we just spent one night. We will definitely be returning. We have stayed at many B&B's across the US and abroad and the Americus Garden Inn is by far the nicest. Thanks Kim and Susan for sharing your beautiful Inn with us. Debbie and Joe

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2009

Kim and Susan are truly delightful hosts providing real "Southern Hospitality" in the old tradition. My wife and I are already looking for excuses to go back to Americus. However, just staying at this inn again is the only excuse one needs.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americus Garden Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americus Garden Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 504 Rees Park, Americus, GA 31709
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Americus
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Americus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Americus Garden Inn Bed and Breakfast, we strive to provide a unique lodging experience in Americus, Georgia that delights and impresses our guests with gracious hospitality, impeccable cleanliness, creative, nutritious and delicious breakfast foods in comfortably elegant surroundings. Our beautiful 1847 antebellum pre-Civil war mansion is located in the residential historic district of Americus, featuring 7 spacious suites furnished with King/Queen beds, private in room bath, free parking, free WiFi, complimentary breakfast and complimentary refreshments available 24/7. Over an acre of beautifully landscaped gardens with walking trail, gazebo and koi pond. Perfect for business or pleasure. Americus Garden Inn Bed and Breakfast is an escape from the ordinary, "where history meets romance..." ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americus Garden Inn Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.