We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hiistoric & Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Americus Garden Inn Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Americus
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Americus Garden Inn Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Americus Garden Inn Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
504 Rees Park, Americus, GA 31709   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Americus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bracebridge, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Hiistoric & Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

On our way back to Ontario after spending 3 months in Florida, we decided to take 'back roads' instead of I-75. Our first destination was the Confederate stockade at Andersonville, not far from Americus, Georgia. I like to pre book reservations and after finding out the usual hotels/motels were full, did research and discovered the Americus Garden Inn B & B on line. They had a room so we stayed there. I'm glad the normal accommodations were booked because our stay at this B & B was wonderful. It was built before the Civil War, and hosts Susan & Kim gave us some background history on the property. Our 'Scarlett' room was great - you could have had 10 people in it, the decor vintage, but modern, extremely clean and a delight. The gardens, which our hosts did themselves were gorgeous. Susan suggested a wonderful restaurant for dinner that night and her breakfast the next morning was delicious - not necessary to have lunch that day! The outside porch and sitting area was a perfect place to sit back with a glass of wine and relax after a full day of playing tourist,

There are so many things to see in the area so we will have to return next year and stay for a longer time. We certainly will make this B & B our home base.

Room Tip: There are rooms on the ground level, so if there are any restrictions in climbing stairs, they would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    648
    7
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
76
324
22
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Alabama
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our group discovered the Americus Garden Inn Bed & Breakfast facility advertised in a national publication. We contacted Kim and Susan to make further inquiry about amenities and to make reservations for our group. We found them to be very kind, hospitable and accommodating. We made our group reservations and were surprised when each couple in our group received personal calls from Susan about their specific dietary restrictions and requirements. We arrived on our scheduled date and finally met the two people we had been communicating with. What a delightful couple they are. Many adjectives could be used to describe them, but perhaps the best would be to simply say they became like beloved family to us. Words fail me when it comes to describing the Inn and premises themselves. This home, preserved in the style of a southern mansion, offers a step back in time to a place best described by the title of Margaret Mitchell's epic saga, Gone With The Wind. One almost expects to see Scarlet O'Hara descend the elegant staircase at any moment, and then, there she is! We look forward to visiting again!

Room Tip: All rooms in this facility are "the best rooms"!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My 3 children (ages 14, 12, and 10) and I enjoyed the Magnolia Room and had a great stay. We loved Susan's tour of the gardens, were super comfortable, ate breakfast like kings & queens, and had a lovely dinner out in downtown Americus. Hiked Providence Canyon the next day and took a drive through Andersonville. So wished we could have stayed longer!!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairplay, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What a lovely, Victorian home with well cared pond and gardens. Kim and Susan are the most charming hosts, who made us very welcome and comfortable during our stay.
For breakfast, Susan prepared a delicious meal of cinnamon pancakes and shirred eggs wrapped in bacon. We slept in the balcony room on the second floor and were quite comfortable. The Inn is located within walking distance of several restaurants and downtown Americus. By far the highlight of our stay was getting to know Kim and Susan. They were knowledge about the property and shared many experiences. We look forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My sister, husband and I spent 2 nights at the Garden Inn in Americus this March. The inn keepers, Kim and Susan treated us like royalty and made us feel so welcome. The breakfasts were delicious with generous portions. The Veranda room was really something special. Should we ever get to that part of Georgia again, we will certainly stay at this B and B again!

Room Tip: I loved the Veranda Room with access to the porch and rocking chairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at The Americus Garden Inn for just two nights, and we wish it could have been more because we would have loved to spend some time just lazing in the gardens or hanging out in any part of the gorgeous house. Susan is so thoughtful and clever that she even provided us with a nightlight and a flameless candle, which were rare treats. She and Kim made us feel like part of the family and offered us a wide choice of beverages and snacks in addition to the delicious breakfasts. We stayed in The Magnolia Suite, which was very roomy, had a large bathroom, separate toilet closet and spacious dressing area. There are big windows that overlook gardens. The beds and linens are luxuriant and comfortable. Susan and Kim will tell you about the local attractions and how to best enjoy them. Our primary desire was to see Andersonville Historic Site and it was a short country drive from our lodging. We loved Americus Garden Inn, Susan and Kim, and we want to go back to see them soon!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Wonderful stay from rooms, breakfast, tourist information, and warm caring owners. I have knee issues but had no problems because of an external ramp and main floor room.
Susan and Kim are so welcoming. We were only able to stay with them 2 days this trip, but plan on staying longer next time, there is so much to do in the area.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Americus-Garden-Inn, Owner at Americus Garden Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Sally and John O:
Thank you so much for staying with us. Although the majority of our guest rooms are on the second floor, there are 2 lovely rooms on the ground floor which do not require any stairs. We are glad that you found one of those rooms to be perfect for your needs.
So many people ask us about things to do in our area. On our website we have detailed information on the places to visit along with sample itineraries for trip planning. For history buffs, there are 2 National Historic Sites within a 15 minute drive, Andersonville National Historic Site and Jimmy Carter National Historic Site. Additional sites offering historical information are the Georgia Rural Telephone Museum, the Drummer Boy Museum, Koinonia Farm, and Westville. Our location is perfect for daytrips to Albany, Warm Springs, Fort Valley, Lumpkin, Columbus and Thomasville. The Little Grand Canyon of Georgia, Providence Canyon, is just 45 minutes away and well worth a visit.
We truly appreciate your review and look forward to hosting your next visit in the near future.
Warm regards,
Kim and Susan Egelseer
Innkeepers/Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americus Garden Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americus Garden Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 504 Rees Park, Americus, GA 31709
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Americus
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Americus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Americus Garden Inn Bed and Breakfast, we strive to provide a unique lodging experience in Americus, Georgia that delights and impresses our guests with gracious hospitality, impeccable cleanliness, creative, nutritious and delicious breakfast foods in comfortably elegant surroundings. Our beautiful 1847 antebellum pre-Civil war mansion is located in the residential historic district of Americus, featuring 7 spacious suites furnished with King/Queen beds, private in room bath, free parking, free WiFi, complimentary breakfast and complimentary refreshments available 24/7. Over an acre of beautifully landscaped gardens with walking trail, gazebo and koi pond. Perfect for business or pleasure. Americus Garden Inn Bed and Breakfast is an escape from the ordinary, "where history meets romance..." ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americus Garden Inn Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.