We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Windsor Hotel Americus

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Windsor Hotel Americus to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Windsor Hotel Americus
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   125 W Lamar Street, Americus, GA 31709-3546   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Americus
Newhall, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Spectacular hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We truly enjoyed our stay in this hotel. The service, room and food were all exceptional. Our room was comfortable and clean. All personnel were great. Our wifi did not work, so my husband checked with the desk. He got a number to call and the technician stayed on the phone until the problem (servers not functioning on our floor) was totally solved. We were unable to eat dinner in the restaurant because it was Sunday night, but the menu looked great.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    82
    17
    13
    8
See reviews for
115
158
26
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

A charming restored hotel, right in the middle of downtown. We weren't told what to look for (that this place is different) and blew right past it at first. This is the closest elegant place to stay if you're doing Andersonville. Don't miss dinner in the 1800s style restaurant. I seldom take pictures of our motels, but this one is an exception. Wish I could post these photos for you. Reception area fireplace, etc. The bar has an outdoor 2nd floor lounge/porch. Room Wifi was great, too.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We needed to go to Americus Georgia for a family event and booked our stay at a Best Western Plus hotel called the Windsor Hotel based on TripAdvisor recommendations.... Little did we know how famous or rich in heritage this hotel was and that is not even considering how well appointed and comfortable our stay was. The hotel was build in the late 1800s but has been carefully preserved and maintained. Our room was very comfy and large. Ours had a walk in closet (don't find that in many hotels) very modern plumbing, wi-fi and excellent air conditioning (could have been a meat locker but my wife was opposed to that). There is an excellent four star restaurant on the 2nd floor and a bar / lounge with an outdoor veranda for watching the world go by while you have a drink of your choice... The staff was very attentive and cordial... Great small town feel.. Will stay here again if the situation arises.... Good value for the quality of the amenities...

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We stayed at this Hotel on our way to Florida. We wanted to visit the Andersonville Civil War site, its about 10 minutes away. This hotel was one of the nicest I have ever been in. Beautifully restored. Staff was super helpful and friendly. Hotel has balconies where you can sit outside. Met several of the local residents out walking downtown, super friendly.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newnan, GA, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Stayed at the Best Western, Windsor Hotel in Americus, GA. It is downtown, a beautifully restored old hotel with nice walking and strolling areas around the hotel, near restaurants and sites. A very nice experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We were pleased with our selection of the BW Plus Windsor Hotel. Staff was excellent and very helpful. We enjoyed our breakfast both mornings on the property. Front desk personal provided us with helpful information on the area and took the time to check times and places for us.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This hotel has undergone extensive restoration and is now a beautiful landmark in Downtown Americus, Ga complete with period furnishings. The Lobby had marble floors, lots of beautifully stained wood and an open atruim floor plan allowing me to see right up to the third floor. The balconies on each floor lead to another balcony overlooking the downtown area. The staff here is friendly and welcoming and went out of thier way to make us feel welcome. Our room was on the third floor near the rear of the hotel and thus very quiet. The room was furnished with the best matresses I have slept on in years ( I even asked where I could purchase one). The duvet coverings and soft towels were such an unexpected surprise. I couldn't help but fall in love with this place. The food at breakfast was really good and worth a try. There is also a bakery just off the lobby with great treats. The lounge inside the hotel serves a good drink at a descent price and has a very large balcony in which you can sit and watch the world go by. I liked this hotel so much I am actually going back there and have already booked my room.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Windsor Hotel Americus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Windsor Hotel Americus

Address: 125 W Lamar Street, Americus, GA 31709-3546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Americus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Americus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Windsor Hotel Americus 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Plus Windsor Hotel established in 1892 takes up a whole city block and is the centerpiece of downtown Americus. The hotel incorporates a delightfully eclectic Victorian mix of architectural elements, notably the landmark turrets and unusual array of window styles. The Windsor boasts 53 period-style guest rooms, all with plantation shutters, 12-foot ceilings and ceiling fans. All rooms have the historic charm but modern amenities to make any guest feel like home. Rooms have flat screen LG televisions, microwave and fridge, premium bedding with duvet and duvet covers, one cup pour coffee makers, and mp3 hook up from alarm clock to name a few. Wireless Internet and newspaper are complimentary for all guests. Enjoy a fantastic meal in Rosemary & Thyme Restaurant or a refreshing cocktail or our incredible bar menu at Floyd's Pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Windsor Hotel Americus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Americus

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Windsor Hotel Americus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.