We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Old Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Windsor Hotel Americus

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Windsor Hotel Americus to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Windsor Hotel Americus
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   125 W Lamar Street, Americus, GA 31709-3546   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Americus
Marble Hill, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Grand Old Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

The Windsor is a grand old property that has been beautifully restored. Rooms are large and comfortable. It is a treat to stay here. The food is exceptional in both the lovely restaurant and the bistro downstairs..

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HistoricWindsorHotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Windsor Hotel Americus, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear 44MaryAnn44,

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you had an amazing dining experience while staying with us at the hotel. We have recently hired a new chef and have created an all new menu with quality items and affordable prices. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Thank you,

Vic Patel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    273
    65
    15
    11
    8
See reviews for
95
131
22
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
newton
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Nice rooms, clean, good beds and sheets . Poor lighting for reading. Parking far from entrance and no valet service. Historic hotel with wonderful woodwork, and large restful lobby that invites sitting. Ice only on third floor. Restaurant nice, good service, and food. In town and easy to walk to shops and restaurants ( good sandwich shop at corner of hotel).A good place to enjoy a historic hotel and visit President Carter area. Plains nearby ( can even go by train )Parking poor and no valet even for handicapped..

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, GA, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

This hotel is a jewel, imbedded in Americus GA. The charming lobby greets the traveler, and cheerful front desk service makes sure you are welcomed with southern hospitality. Our room was immaculate and the beautiful dining room with surprisingly good food, and service made this one of the best "stayovers". Homemade bisquits at breakfast, and perfectly cooked eggs, etc, were nicely served and the wait staff showed how much they cared! We stayed for two nights, wishing we could remain longer!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

This is located in the heart of historic district. The lobby is grand and the staff is wonderful. The rooms are comfortable and modernized. We had dinner and breakfast in the restaurant. The ambiance is great. The wait staff is very knowledgeable. But the food taste and quality were disappointing. Crab cakes had indian curry mixed in, and salmon was dry. The redeeming factor was the bread and it was awesome. Overall, an excellent hotel to stay.

Room Tip: Second floor has the restaurant and it is most convenient floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tx
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

If you ask at the front desk they will tell you the stories of the hauntings at this hotel- or you can find some of them on the internet. Many times you see these things with historic places and most have interesting stories. This one is no exception. This was once a place that some of the notorious gangsters would stay at many times. Stories and past aside- this hotel was beautiful! We went with a group and enjoyed ball room dancing there. We had fun in the tea room with all of the old hats. We have many pictures that I will post on a later date. I did enjoy my stay here. I don't remember them having a gym or pool added to the property. There was a spa next door I believe.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty Hawk, North Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

This hotel is an historic site. The lobby is gorgeous; the rooms are large and comfortable. The bar is very nice and the staff is extremely friendly and helpful. The negative-the restaurant would NOT serve food to anyone other than a private party on 1 of the nights we visited. Even after the party, the kitchen was CLOSED. ( We are talking maybe 9:00, even for room service or "bar food") This is unacceptable for a hotel with this much potential. Otherwise, a delightful experience.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We purchased the New Year's package which included a room, dinner +1 glass of wine, and entrance into the "club" for a night of dancing with a live band that was very good! We were there with another couple and brought in the new year together. We all had a great time. Also check out the next day was 12 noon and that helped ALOT after a night of dancing til 2am! We plan to go back again for New Year's!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Windsor Hotel Americus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Windsor Hotel Americus

Address: 125 W Lamar Street, Americus, GA 31709-3546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Americus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Americus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Windsor Hotel Americus 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Plus Windsor Hotel established in 1892 takes up a whole city block and is the centerpiece of downtown Americus. The hotel incorporates a delightfully eclectic Victorian mix of architectural elements, notably the landmark turrets and unusual array of window styles. The Windsor boasts 53 period-style guest rooms, all with plantation shutters, 12-foot ceilings and ceiling fans. All rooms have the historic charm but modern amenities to make any guest feel like home. Rooms have flat screen LG televisions, microwave and fridge, premium bedding with duvet and duvet covers, one cup pour coffee makers, and mp3 hook up from alarm clock to name a few. Wireless Internet and newspaper are complimentary for all guests. Enjoy a fantastic meal in Rosemary & Thyme Restaurant or a refreshing cocktail or our incredible bar menu at Floyd's Pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Windsor Hotel Americus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Americus

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Windsor Hotel Americus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.