We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Anniversary” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Windsor Hotel Americus

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Windsor Hotel Americus to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Windsor Hotel Americus
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   125 W Lamar Street, Americus, GA 31709-3546   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Americus
Certificate of Excellence
Sharpsburg, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic Anniversary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Our daughter and son-in-law sent us to the Windsor Hotel as a surprise for our 40th Wedding Anniversary. The front desk clerk greeted us like we were celebrities and from then on it was the stay of a lifetime. Stepping back into the past with the memorable decor surrounding us, we spent the next 24 hours in luxury. Parking was right outside our door which made it so easy to come and go at our leisure. From the history of the Hotel to the food at Floyds pub everything was top rate. We especially enjoyed the 1 1/2 hour tour of the Hotel given by the knowledgeable Kurt Peterson. That led us to wondering the halls after midnight to search for the ghosts that have been said to haunt the hotel. Needless to say, there were no cold spots that evening at the Hotel. We were very fortunate to have stayed in the Bridal Suite where the views from the turret were exceptional. The accommadations were excellent and we would highly recommend the Windsor and look forward to returning in the near future.

Room Tip: The Executive or Bridal Suites are well worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    97
    20
    16
    8
See reviews for
133
190
28
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pigeon Forge, Tennessee
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

The Hotel and its decor is beautiful and really takes you back. Parking was right in front, had a bite to eat at Floyds pub and a drink, then went to to see a play. The room was excellent and the AC worked well. But, when the sun went down the local college filled Floyds pub and the noise was horrendous, it went on into the night...I finally fell asleep at 2am and the noise was still going on, thank goodness we bought a fan with us that drowned a lot of the noise, then when the "kids" left the bar the all walked out yelling and screaming. Unfortunately, there is not much else to do in Americus but you don't have to travel far for something to do, Plains Ga was wonderful. We will stay at the Hotel again and hope and pray that the bar will not be so busy. The breakfast was delicious and value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

I stayed at the Best Western Windsor Hotel on September 5, 2012, and I would definitely recommend it. As soon as you walk in the door - the side entrance in my case - you feel as though you are taking a trip back in time. There is no metered parking on the street, so I was able to park overnight without having to worry about a ticket. I usually check out at the last possible moment, so this was a major relief for me. My room was clean and the bathroom was clean and modern. The air conditioning worked well on a hot summer evening. The head chef came to the Windsor from one of the big casinos in Las Vegas; I believe it was Wynn's. The dining room has a relaxed and subdued aura, and breakfast is served in the same restaurant.
The hotel was full the night I stayed, but it was so quiet that I did not hear a sound the entire evening. The Windsor is located right in the middle of town, so the newly opened tourist information center is only a block down the street. This hotel is a real gem; I only wish I were able to stay for more than one night.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granger, Indiana
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

On August 9th my wife and I stayed at Best Western Windsor Hotel in Americus the night before we went to near by Plains, GA to see the President Carter sites.
The staff was very nice and helpful with information and suggestions. The desk clerk was helpful with directions, some material and some very good suggestions for our next day visit to Plains. The room rate was good and the BED WAS HEAVEN. This is an old historic property with a lot of character but the updates make it a very comfortable stay. We had dinner and breakfast at the hotel and both were very good. We had dinner in the bar. Lots of locals which is a good sign. The food was very good. It is a bit loud. Our server at breakfast was very good and took the time to talk with us and make some suggestions for our day ahead. All in all a very positive experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleburg, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

If you like antiques then this is the place for you. The hotel has tons of charm and beauty from the past. The room has very high ceilings and a large bathroom. Everything was neat, clean and comfortable. The guide in our romm had a menu for the resturant (which is open until 10pm) that was outdated and stated there was a 10% discount for staying at the hotel, which was incorrect. We ate at Floyd's Pub which was fine. The food was good but a little overpriced. The hotel is close to Andersonville National Historic Site and the Jimmy Carter National Historical Site.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicpatel, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Windsor Hotel Americus, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Dear sbwalt,

Thank you for your time in writing a review of your stay here at the historic BEST WESTERN PLUS Windsor Hotel. We appreciate your comments. As you know, we are a historic hotel, so all of our rooms are unique - there are no two rooms alike, but all have historically accurate furnishings, high ceilings, plantation shutters on the windows. Each room also comes with a fridge and microwave, and flat-screen television.

In reference to your comment regarding our in-room directories, we are in the process of updating that information regarding our new restaurant Rosemary & Thyme, which is open every day for breakfast from 6:30am to 9:30am, and open for evening meals Monday-Thursday from 5:00pm to 9:00pm, and Friday-Saturday 5:00pm-10:00pm. We look forward to seeing you again, so you can enjoy more of Executive Chef Shutsa's signature dining.

Again, thank you for spending the time writing your review. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

I stayed at the Windsor Hotel a few weeks ago after hearing so much about it from my co-workers. I was pleasantly surprised with how my stay was! The bedding was very comfortable, wireless was top notch, and my room was very spacious for being a single room.

The service I received from each of the staff members at the Windsor is what will be bringing me back, though. I was greeted very warmly by Kurt when I checked in, and he was a wealth of information on what to see and do in the area. He even told me about his favorite local pub that offered live bluegrass music! The staff in the Rosemary and Thyme restaurant and Floyd's Pub were excellent; Floyd was a great breakfast server, and Amanda in the lounge was an attentive bartender.

I checked out rather early that next morning, and was pleased to find an actual person behind the desk! Miss Megan explained that they are staffed 24/7, so it was nice to have someone wish me well, rather than get my bill under the door like other corporate-style hotels. I will be back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharpsburg, Georgia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

This grand hotel is amazing. Such charm ! Kurt went above and beyond and gave us a tour of the hotel. Breakfast was elegant and our server Floyd was very hospitable. Floyd's Pub was nice with cozy seating outside overlooking the street. Clean rooms. Everyone was friendly and professional. Not a lot to do in this little gem of a town, which makes it even better ! Great stay !

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Americus
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn Americus
Quality Inn Americus
#2 of 6 in Americus
4.0 of 5 stars 84 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Americus
Hampton Inn Americus
#3 of 6 in Americus
3.5 of 5 stars 172 reviews
1.5 mi away
Days Inn Americus
Days Inn Americus
#4 of 6 in Americus
3.5 of 5 stars 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Lake Blackshear Resort and Golf Club
24.6 mi away
Country Hearth Inn & Suites
19.8 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#1 of 3 in Montezuma
5.0 of 5 stars 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Windsor Hotel Americus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Windsor Hotel Americus

Address: 125 W Lamar Street, Americus, GA 31709-3546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Americus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Americus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Windsor Hotel Americus 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Plus Windsor Hotel established in 1892 takes up a whole city block and is the centerpiece of downtown Americus. The hotel incorporates a delightfully eclectic Victorian mix of architectural elements, notably the landmark turrets and unusual array of window styles. The Windsor boasts 53 period-style guest rooms, all with plantation shutters, 12-foot ceilings and ceiling fans. All rooms have the historic charm but modern amenities to make any guest feel like home. Rooms have flat screen LG televisions, microwave and fridge, premium bedding with duvet and duvet covers, one cup pour coffee makers, and mp3 hook up from alarm clock to name a few. Wireless Internet and newspaper are complimentary for all guests. Enjoy a fantastic meal in Rosemary & Thyme Restaurant or a refreshing cocktail or our incredible bar menu at Floyd's Pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Windsor Hotel Americus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Americus

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Windsor Hotel Americus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.