We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazingly blue water and great hike!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tenorio National Park

Tenorio National Park
100 miles N of San Jose | 10.673°N 85.015°W, Costa Rica
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #126 of 345 Attractions in Costa Rica
Type: National Parks, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Crown jewel of Northern Costa Rica
Cary, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazingly blue water and great hike!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

I spent several hours here hiking the complete loop and all the side trails. What an amazingly, beautiful place. I visited in early May, at the end of the dry season and in contrast to much of very dry, scraggly looking Guanacaste province, this hike was through gorgeous, lush tropical forests. At one point you can see where the Rio Celeste mixes with the sulfur coming up from under ground and it turns the water an unbelievably turquoise blue color. At another point hikers can actually sit in the jacuzzi like pools formed at the edge of the river. As one poster mentioned, the hike can be challenging in some places with steep rocky & muddy inclines. It is well worth it though - we saw lots of cool plants, birds, lizards and even capuchin monkeys!

I really enjoyed this park and highly recommend visiting.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    14
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
58 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Breathtaking blue water but only short hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

We drive from Liberia and it was about as much driving as walking once u get there because it's only about a 8k loop. However the water is AMAZING!!! there is a meeting of two rivers you cannot miss where water is clear and turns blue! Nice hike and great break from heat. Only problem we had was the ticketing agent who ripped us off with a bad exchange rate. Shame on you!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Very nice park, breathtaking lagoon but challenging terrain!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We went to Tenorio National Park during our vacation. This is a truly beautiful place and the blue lagoon (and adjacent falls) and volcano are really great. However, just know that getting there by car is very slow since the road is very bad. Also, the terrain to get to the blue lagoon is very tough. There are rocks everywhere as well as mud. Our kids really struggle and we almost gave up at some point. However, after finally getting there, we enjoyed the location and it is now a great souvenir. Overall, a challenging place to visit but an an unforgettable sight...

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veenendaal, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
53 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Worth visiting!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

Spent one day here, slept in bijagua (see other reviews)

Rough, long (1 hour) unpaved road to get up to the park. Nice trail, did a round trip including all (short) side trails.

Didn't see much wildlife. The biggest sightseeing is the forest and off course the mineral blue water, which looks on your photo as if it is photoshopped, but it is really that blue!

Don't forget the bring a poncho to be sure, even in dry season (jan/febr). Trail can be quite muddy because of quite some rain! You can clean your shoes at the ranger station. There are also toilets.

Definitely worth the visit!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

beautiful park! the fun begins when you take the dirt road to get to the park (you really need a 4WD), the surroundings are gorgeous and you drive right through the rainforest. The park is awsome, cause it's pretty wild, with dirt tracks and some cool wild animals around. It's a tough hike, but truly worth it. The Lago Azul is one of the most beautiful things I've ever seen.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tenorio National Park also viewed

Tenorio Volcano National Park, Province of Guanacaste
Canas, Province of Guanacaste
 
Province of Guanacaste, Costa Rica
Area de Conservacion Guanacaste, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Tenorio National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tenorio National Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.