We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exploring the Caribean tropics” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BlueBelize

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Punta Gorda
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
BlueBelize
Save
You added BlueBelize to your Saves list
139 Front Street, Punta Gorda, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 18 Punta Gorda B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fribourg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exploring the Caribean tropics”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2010

Are you looking for a place to explore the caribean tropics as they once were? hang around in the hammock all day and read or simply relax with a dram or three of that fabulous Belizian Rhum---? Stop looking. YOU HAVE FOUND IT!
You can expect a clean, friendly appartment, unobstructed sea views, a pad with all mods and cons, a studio large enough to accommodate your pet snake, pot belly pig or howling monkey or indeed even a member or two of your own family..? THIS IS IT!
The owners Rachel, a marine biologist and Dan, a Belizian tourist and dive guide and fly fishing instructor are keen to share with you their local, environmental and scientific knowledge at anytime if requested.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    26
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
27
55
29
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tualatin,Ore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2010

My wife and I have been to Belize 5 times. Everytime we try to go someplace new. We had never been to the Toledo district before so we decide a week there would be appropriate. We were fortunate to happen upon BlueBelize. It's location in the south part of Punta Gorda was ideal. Even though we had a car, we found ourselves walking or biking (provided with your room) anyplace we went in town. Each morning started with a wonderful continental breakfast delivered to our luxuriously appointed room, and most evenings included time spent with the delightful owners Dan and Rachael discussing the days events. If you decide to visit Punta Gorda, and you should, plan on staying here. If possible see if you can get Dan to take you fishing or snorkeling. You won't be sorry.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2010

BlueBelize is located across the lane from the Caribbean, in the southern part of Punta Gorda. It a few blocks from the city center, so it is in a quiet area, yet close enough to a variety of restaurants and the local market to be within walking distance. There is no swimming beach here, or for that matter most anywhere in PG.

The owners make the guest house B&B really special. Rachel and Dan are both friendly, and go out of their way to make guests comfortable and part of the family. Rachel is a marine biologist and the world's authority on the whale shark, and enjoys enthusiastically talking about her research with guests. Dan, a native southern Belizean, has a world of knowledge about the area and an excellent tour guide. Our hosts bring a breakfast of fresh fruit, banana bread, and juice to your room each morning. Each room has a small furnished kitchenette with refrigerator and microwave giving guests the flexibility of preparing other meals themselves. Proximity to the local outdoor market makes getting great fresh ingredients a fun and easy task.

Dan took us on an all-day tour (at a very reasonable cost) that included a trip up the Moho River, where we saw an amazing variety of birds and plants and floated by a couple of Mayan villages (in one of which we saw a single howler monkey); and an afternoon in the village of Barranco, where we were met by a couple of local guides and treated to an authentic Garifuna lunch.

The guides, Alvin and Cliff, were experts on their community and discussed every aspect of its culture, history, current lifestyle, and Garifuna spirituality. It was a fascinating afternoon. The collaboration between Dan and the Barranco folks is a new one, and they are trying very hard to provide a daylong outing that combines natural history and human history of the area to make for a very interesting trip. They have succeeded wonderfully, and deserve support as they develop the tour further.

Dan can also lead pretty much any other outing guests could want, particularly when it
comes to sea-based subjects, and has contacts who can help out when his expertise is not in a particular area. He is a very personable and genuine individual, and really cares about helping his clients learn to appreciate the area.

The combination of the ambiance of the guest house, Rachel's scientific knowledge, and Dan's tourguide acumen made BlueBelize a highlight of our three weeks in Belize.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Branch,Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2010

We arrived with prearranged plans for my husband to fish with Dan for two days but I had not made plans for myself. Rachel immediately started working on scheduling something for me. She did a great job. We had problems with our rental car during our stay and Dan helped us get what we needed. Our room was spacious and clean. I was so glad to find a comfortable bed, since others I had slept on over the previous week had felt like sleeping on plywood. Everything you needed was within walking or biking distance. They offer free use of the bicycles. A great continental breakfast with lots of fresh fruit,baked breakfast bread, and fresh squeezed juice. The hamocks on the porch were nice to lay around in and enjoy the breeze. A beautiful view of the water and mountains. It was a great place to stay. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2010

We stayed for 6 nights here in our furthest adventure south in Belize. We found the flat comfortable, clean, but not quite yet ready for occupancy since it is newly constructed. It was noisy because of the new construction but also because it is in town with all the usual noises - dogs, roosters, the occasional car or bus, and music. The town is not geared for tourism since during our stay, only two restaurants were open and recommended and they both served the same dinner fare and they supplied the lunches on our outings. We ended up doing simple meals in the flat which is great for the budget but not exactly what we planned. There is no beach but the flat had a great veranda overlooking the Bay of Honduras

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2010

We have stayed with Rachel and Dan several times while on medical missions to Punta Gorda. They are very accomodating hosts and knowledgeable about the area. The rooms are large and ours had a kitchenette with small refrigerator. The Blue Bay is within walking distance of Punta Gorda town center. Will definitely stay with them again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2010

We stayed for a week and had a fabulous breakfast delivered each morning that was plentiful and fresh. The room was spacious and clean. The hospitality was unexpectedly terrific. Rachel was knowledgeable about the community and surrounding sea and countryside. She also invited us to borrow DVD's to watch when it rained. Nice people who made our experience the best possible.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Gorda
5.0 mi away
Belcampo Lodge
Belcampo Lodge
#1 of 2 in Punta Gorda
5.0 of 5 stars 171 reviews
18.7 mi away
Hotel Finca Tatin
Hotel Finca Tatin
#5 of 9 in Livingston
4.5 of 5 stars 223 reviews
17.4 mi away
Hotel Salvador Gaviota
Hotel Salvador Gaviota
#6 of 9 in Livingston
4.0 of 5 stars 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
Posada El Delfin
Posada El Delfin
#3 of 9 in Livingston
4.5 of 5 stars 68 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tranquility Lodge
Tranquility Lodge
#5 of 18 in Punta Gorda
5.0 of 5 stars 68 reviews
0.6 mi away
St. Charles Inn
St. Charles Inn
#9 of 18 in Punta Gorda
4.0 of 5 stars 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BlueBelize? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BlueBelize

Address: 139 Front Street, Punta Gorda, Belize
Location: Belize > Toledo District > Punta Gorda
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Punta Gorda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and stay with us at our little oasis of a guesthouse that faces the breezy Caribbean Sea. We offer four single bedroom and one double bedroom self-catered flats with en suite bathrooms, living/dining/kitchenettes or full kitchen. All flats face the sea and open onto verandas or patios with hammocks just waiting for you to swing in them! To make things easy and simple we include breakfast, free WIFI and the use of bicycles in our price and we are licensed tour operators who can organise your fishing and snorkeling tours as well as visits to local waterfalls and Mayan ruins. BlueBelize is a wonderful place to relax and get away from the cold of a northern winter or use as a home away from home, a base for the many activities Southern Belize has to offer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
BlueBelize Belize/Punta Gorda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BlueBelize, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.