We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, friendly place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BlueBelize

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Punta Gorda
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
BlueBelize
Save
You added BlueBelize to your Saves list
139 Front Street, Punta Gorda, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 16 Punta Gorda B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Pittsburg, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Lovely, friendly place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

The people who run this place are wonderful. The two little dogs, Artie and Daisy often come to visit on the porch. The views are great. The fresh made sweet bread and fruit every morning were delightful! The rooms are cute and comfy with pretty good ventilation. There is plenty of restaurants and a bank in walking distance. I would definitely recommend if you are going to be in Punta Gorda.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    26
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
27
54
27
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sherwood Park, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Stayed 1 night while travelling thru PG. Exceeded our expectations. Located on the ocean front and within walking distance to downtown and restaurants. Kate is friendly and helped us with our logistics.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Kate set me up before and during arrival, from airport transport to breakfast to recommendations about attending the market and sampling the local fruits. Perfect location from sea and town. Recommended the right places to eat and visit and talk to. But also great just to sit and chill out on a hot day with cross breeze.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

This was my first trip to Belize, travelling solo, and after carefully checking Trip Advisor, I decided on the BlueBelize. What a wonderful choice! The rooms were large, bright and airy. Everything was very clean, the bed was so comfy and the ceiling fans created a lovely breeze during the night. The grounds are beautiful - a real little oasis just minutes from town. Kate is very kind and helpful - always willing to do anything possible to make your stay better. Mornings began with a delicious, light breakfast - perfect start for a sunshine filled day. The dogs were not a problem at all - and we're always happy to see you when you returned. I will definitely stay here again and would recommend to everyone!

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Beautiful setting. Kate was very helpful in arranging trips for snorkeling and into the jungle. Breakfast was always delicious. There were two very sweet dogs on the property, but at night they would do a little too much barking as dogs usually do. The mattress was a little lumpy and had not been turned for a long time.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

First, we enjoyed our week here. Kate is a fine host, friendly and helpful.
The rooms are clean, with good fans (note: no a/c-not a big deal for us, but for some.) The view is superb, the breezes good, and because you are on the 2nd floor, the sandflies, mosquitoes and doctor flies generally leave you alone unless the breeze dies (in which case you better have bug spray-welcome to the tropics.) Killer hammocks, OK beds, lovely grounds.

Dan, who guides for them, is superb: great knowledge of the ocean and reef, natural history and fishing. A real pleasure to be with, snorkeling or fishing. We demoed a new guide for a rainforest hike who was pretty bad (no knowledge of trees or birds, and we were taken to cut over forest with very few big trees.) I doubt you'll see him there again as we were frank with Kate about his skills.

Three negatives. They are candid about cooking facilities, but the two burner portable stove is tough to use and scary. Not the place if you want to prepare most of your meals. Hot water was very much hit and miss-my wife had one hot shower in a week. Those are minor.

The dogs, however, are not. They bark at anything on wheels, two legs or four that go by, as well as when you return to the guesthouse-and it really destroys the tranquility of the place. It is frequent, obnoxious, and there appears to be little attempt to control it. The dogs also beg for food if you are eating outside on the veranda. This is not about "being a dog person" as some here have referenced. We are-we just train our dogs, some of which have lived at guest lodges.

It is a major drawback, and would potentially keep us from returning-which is unfortunate, since we really liked it. Hopefully this review-and the spirit in which it is offered--will help in remedying the situation because the rest of it is near ideal.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

This is my second time staying at the Blue Belize and I had a wonderful stay. The rooms are large, clean and meet all your needs. Location is great, right on the water, and easy walking distance to the center of town. The kitchenette is wonderful for people who are staying for longer length of time since you can go grocery shopping and make and not have to eat out all the time. The breakfast was a great start to the day with fresh squeezed juice, bread, and fruit. Excellent wifi. Kate is wonderful and makes sure that all your needs are met! I would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BlueBelize? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BlueBelize

Address: 139 Front Street, Punta Gorda, Belize
Location: Belize > Toledo District > Punta Gorda
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Punta Gorda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and stay with us at our little oasis of a guesthouse that faces the breezy Caribbean Sea. We offer four single bedroom and one double bedroom self-catered flats with en suite bathrooms, living/dining/kitchenettes or full kitchen. All flats face the sea and open onto verandas or patios with hammocks just waiting for you to swing in them! To make things easy and simple we include breakfast, free WIFI and the use of bicycles in our price and we are licensed tour operators who can organise your fishing and snorkeling tours as well as visits to local waterfalls and Mayan ruins. BlueBelize is a wonderful place to relax and get away from the cold of a northern winter or use as a home away from home, a base for the many activities Southern Belize has to offer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
BlueBelize Belize/Punta Gorda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BlueBelize, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.