We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something for both the angler and non0angler” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Belcampo Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Belcampo Lodge to your Saves list
Belcampo Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wilson Road, Punta Gorda, Belize (Formerly Machaca Hill Rainforest Canopy Lodge)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Punta Gorda
PLEASANTON
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Something for both the angler and non0angler”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

What attracted me most to this beautiful lodge on the Rio Grande River in the jungle of Belize just outside of Punta Gorda is that they have lodge personnel dedicated to events for non-anglers just as they do for fishing guides for the anglers. The lodge is situation on a knoll in the jungle with beautiful facilities. The dinning is just incredible. The room accommodations are wonderful and the service impeccable. My key reason for going was to catch large permit on a fly. Mission accomplished, one 31.5 lbs and another 25.3 lbs. Just spectacular. After a great day of fishing or seeing the Mayan ruins you can re-unite with your spouse at the rum bar. Not to be missed! The Belizean people are just great, always with a smile on their face and so well mannered. I highly recommend this lodge.

Room Tip: We stayed in Cabin #2. It was a great location set down below some of the others. Very quite excep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
75
9
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

My husband and I and our two adult daughters have just returned from a two week holiday at Belcampo from March 15 to March 29. We have travelled all over the world and I can honestly say that this was one of the best holidays we have been on. The friendly staff, rooms and facilities, food and location are excellent. We enjoyed a range of activities including: scuba diving, fly fishing, snorkling with the chef, kayaking on the Rio Grande river, birding, visiting Mayan ruins and villages and swimming in underground caves with Vince, market day in nearby Punta Gorda, and just lounging and reading by the pool. I have already booked to return next February for a birding week with Chan. Be sure if you like a good massage to book in with Joyce.

Room Tip: Cabin 5 is well located close to the pool and has a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

My husband and our two children, ages 5 and 7, just spent a remarkable 5 days at Bel Campo, and would recommend it highly.

The place itself is stunning. It’s set on the top of a hill in the midst of a rain forest jungle and the farm that (among other things) provides most of the food for the lodge and employment to a large number of local residents. The facility is tasteful, beautifully decorated and maintained – luxurious without being overstated. We ate most of our meals at the lodge, and the food is fresh and very good.

The true highlight, however, was Bel Campo’s remarkable staff, and the unique experiences they created for us. Each day we ended up engaged in some wonderful activity that had been seemingly customized to suit the ages, capacities and interests of our crew.

- We enjoyed a tour of the farm on our first full day at Bel Campo, explaining organic farming techniques and the development plans for Bel Campo in interesting detail to the three adults in the group, and finding all sorts of things – cacao, sugar cane, star fruits, chicks and chickens, pigs and piglets, for the four children, ages 4-8, in our little tour group to see, feel, taste, feed, etc.

• The farm has just begun its cacao production effort, and we were interested in learning more about the chocolate. Kelly, the Canadian cacao expert on site to assist in the program development and train the local staff, customized what is usually a 6 hour long, technical education program better suited for an adult audience into fun and interesting kid-friendly session during which we got to learn about – and participate in – the chocolate making process. We had the truffles the kids “made” for dessert at dinner!

• We spent a happy day snorkeling with the chef (the talented Brandon – who whipped up yummy fish tacos for us on the boat, and then, in response to my husband's interest in tasting “authentic Belizean” cuisine worked his grandmother’s rice and beans recipe into the dinner that was served to us the next day). We were guided on this outing by Captain Jack – whose family history in the region is fascinating – and by Desmond, a talented young guide who was seemingly everywhere during our visit (picking us up at the airport, helping the girls and I with bikes, and leading our scuba trip). The threesome found spots for us to snorkel where we could ease the little girls into an experience they quickly came to love – and we all had a very happy day.

To a person, the staff worked hard to welcome us and to make the stay special – right down to the end, when many of our new friends came to wave us off as we left for the airport.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Belcampo Belize offers something for everyone: fly fishing, kayaking, snorkeling, bird watching, Mayan ruins, cave exploration, culinary excellence, relaxation and eco-tourism. The accommodations are first class and the friendly staff go out of their way to make sure your every need is met. Don't miss birding with Chan, snorkeling with the chef and a Mayan ruins excursion with Vince. Exotic birds and howler monkeys can be seen and heard from your balcony among the treetops while soaking in your private tub. Spectacular!

Room Tip: The 4 new ridge suites are huge, offer outstanding views and a gorgeous infinity edge pool right out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

We (3 adults and 4 kids 7-12) spent 6 nights at Belcampo from Mar 7-12. It was truly an amazing experience. We stayed in 2 Jungle suites and we found these to be awesome. We also essentially had the whole resort to ourselves!!! The rooms were very clean and spacious with an amazing view. The two queen sized beds were very comfortable. The views from the ridge pool were amazing and truly showed the vastness of the uninterrupted rainforest.

The staff was very attentive, especially to the kids and everyone knew us by our first names after just one introduction. Mara, Renee, Ducky, Mark, Dwayne, Melita, Desmond, Chan, Vince....etc all left an great impression on us and went out of their way to ensure we were taken care of.

The grounds are amazing with lots of wildlife just outside your door. We stayed in suites 5 & 6 which was below the ficus tree that was full of fruit. Every morning we were greeted by at least 10 Keel billed toucans as well as a number of other bird species. We saw howler monkeys every day and in fact for three of the days there were up to eight monkeys feeding on the fruit of the ficus tree. The kids thought this was awesome! We also heard them every day.....and night too :). Birding with Chan is a must to gain an appreciation for the biodiversity of the flora and fauna.

The food was delicious and there was generally 3 items to select for dinner. They were also willing to customize to taste....ie. if you don't like cilantro which is used heavily in most dishes. The only area for improvement would be for the children's menu as they generally only had two items (cheese or chicken quesadillas and mac n cheese or spaghetti) to select from. Over a few days, the kids got tired of the same thing. The coffee was very good and included coffee delivery every morning to your suite!

We did two excursions - zip lining/river tubing and the mayan ruin/cave swim. The mayan tour trip was amazing and the guide (Vince) took us to his home for a traditional lunch including make your own tortillas. From there you walk a short distance to the cave swim which was a real refreshing treat! The zip lining portion of the tour was a lot of fun however the river tubing although refreshing got boring after a while.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sussex
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We have just returned from Belize where for four nights we stayed in the Bel Campo lodge. The lodge is very good, lovely large rooms, huge bathrooms that look out over the rain forest. There is a balcony with easy chairs & a hammock in each room & the balcony is netted from biting insects.
The staff are attentive & helpful& the food is good, much of it from the farm belonging to the lodge.There are guides to explain the wonderful birdlife & plenty of things to do, such as walking & kyaking, swimming in the pool. We had a wonderful time & considering where it is situated, in a rain forest could not fault it. There was a spa but we didn't use it so cannot vouch for that.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

My husband & I came here for our honeymoon. We wanted to go somewhere that could pamper us as well as provide us with many activities, & we most definitely agree that we picked the right place. Customer service was exceptional, they arranged all connecting flights & transportation needed to get to & from the resort. Upon arrival they greet you with fresh cold ginger drinks & a cold wet washcloth infused with herbs to cool off with. There are many ways to entertain yourself while at Belcampo, if you prefer self guided activities there are many to choose from as well. Our biggest disappointment was not having enough time in each day to do more.
Our first day we chose to relax, we went into PG for a few hours before going to their spa (Miss Joyce will relax a husband like no one else can). On our 2nd day we went into town to visit the market. There we picked up some handmade Maya gold jewelry. I also purchased some fabric & found a man to make a skirt out of it. Later, we toured their farm & nursery, which takes about 2 hours. The third day was spent snorkeling with the chef. The crew on board was Captain Jack, Brandon the chef, Mark on drinks & Desmond for our safety. It was an excellent party, and ended with us eating the conchs we collected. On Friday we swam deep into a cave, visited a small Maya village, made tortillas with a young Maya girl in the traditional way, & were guests in a locals home for lunch. It was an honor that we would never have expected. Afterwards we toured an ancient Maya site & learned a little about their history in Belize. On our last day we went off the resort to go zip lining & tubing. We met Andrew & his beautiful daughter Andrea. After zip lining we went tubing down the river, laughing & joking with our guides.
So what makes Belcampo different from any other resort? Well, to tell you all of the ways would take too long, so I'll just tell you what stood out to us. Everybody remembers your names, they all shake your hands when they meet you, they all seem to be part of a great, happy family & truly seem to love their jobs. I can't stress enough how important this is to us. When you are at Belcampo you do not feel like a guest, rather a friend who has not come to visit in a long time. And while a sustainable farm/resort should not be exceptional, it is. If they can not produce something themselves then they source it locally (which is not very much). The food is amazing, which is usually my biggest complaint at resorts.
Belcampo Belize is truly a one of a kind, authentic vacation. If you are looking for a relaxing vacation or an action packed one, you'll find plenty to do here. 

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Belcampo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belcampo Lodge

Address: Wilson Road, Punta Gorda, Belize (Formerly Machaca Hill Rainforest Canopy Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Toledo > Punta Gorda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Punta Gorda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Belcampo Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Agritourism-chic in Punta Gorda: a Jungle Lodge, organic farm and a 12,000-acre nature reserve Set in the verdant hills above the Caribbean coast of southern Belize in the town of Punta Gorda. From our dock you can embark on our tranquil cruises on the jungle reaches of the Rio Grande, or our guided snorkeling and fishing adventures on the Caribbean Sea. Nim Li Punit and many other attractions are located nearby. At the heart of Belcampo Belize is the Main Lodge with our Jungle Farm Restaurant, the Rum Bar, the Jungle Spa, lounge areas, a swimming pool, and observation decks that open to stunning vistas of the coast, the Maya Mountains and a seemingly endless pristine rainforest. Our 16 individual, spacious suites are well appointed with plush beds, screened fresh-air verandas, and spa-style bathrooms with floor to ceiling tropical rainforest views. Take our private tram to the riverside dock where kayaks and canoes are available for complimentary use on the Rio Grande, or visit our air-conditioned gym. Belcampo Lodge has 16 private suites offering the best in luxury and comfort. A testament to Belize's natural beauty and craftsmanship, nearly every detail, from the woodwork to the tiles to the artwork, is sourced from local artisans. Whether you're relaxing on one of the canopy beds or lounging on your own private veranda, you will experience the magic of the jungle within the comfort of your room. Enjoy a drink in our Rum Room with ingredients sourced from our own Cocktail Garden. Meals (including complimentary breakfast daily) are served in our Jungle Farm restaurant, We produce on-site more than 70% of the food we serve to Lodge guests. With extensive gardens, tropical fruit trees, and livestock, our day-to-day food production is a hive of activity year round. We invite our guests to explore Belcampo Lodge and the surrounding nature reserve through our complimentary self-guided tours. •Canoe/Kayak on the Rio Grande •Onsite Hiking •The Jungle Gym •Mountain Bikes •Farm Tour Optional tours available are: •Snorkeling •Scuba diving •Fly fishing •Birding •Cultural tours ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Belcampo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belcampo Hotel Punta Gorda
Belcampo Lodge Belize/Punta Gorda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belcampo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.