We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birds at your door” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hickatee Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Punta Gorda
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hickatee Cottages
Save
You added Hickatee Cottages to your Saves list
Ex-Servicemen Rd. | PO Box 148, Punta Gorda, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 18 Punta Gorda B&B and Inns
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Birds at your door”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

Fun birding every morning along the road. Enjoyed the walk through the trails on site. Day trip in our rented car to archaeologic sites was great fun. The bikes were just right for an early morning ride before the heat set in. The accommodations were clean and nice. Very cute and well maintained. Dinners on the porch were yummie. Tried flyfishing for Permit one day. Saw quite a few but they were moving fast and the wind was roaring. Did catch one big bonefish, but not a great day of fishing overall. Ian and Kate were wonderful hosts. This is the place to stay near Punta Gorda for a taste of southern Belize.

Stayed April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    10
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
161
32
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

The accomdation. ( we were " upgraded " to the willby lodge ) is stunning, the breakfast tasty, the dinner sublime, the information given excellent, the jungle surrounding the b&b is adventurous, but what really makes this place outstanding are the owners kate and ian. The whole place shows they love what they do. In our so far 2 months through centra america this is by far the best place we stayed in. ( including the sense of humor )

Peter and jeanette ( the dutchies )

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Hickatee Cottages is a warm and inviting place to stay. Kate and Ian are very knowledgeable about the area and work hard to make sure that you choose activities that are right for you. The cottages are clean and comfortably furnished, the food is very fine, and the gardens and jungle that surround the property are well maintained. The activities that Kate and Ian help to organize are so varied that they will appeal to many different people. Birding, snorkelling, cultural trips - all were well organized by the hosts, and provided excellent value. Perhaps our favourite excursion was to the Living Mayan Experience. Taking the local bus was fun, and the families who offer this activity were very friendly, informative and a delight to meet. Ask Ian and Kate how to participate in this. This is a low key and very enjoyable estabishment, definitely not for "all -inclusive" resort types - my husband and I enjoyed it immensely, and recommend it to travellers who like to be off the beaten path but still enjoy comfort and amenities.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I traveled to Punta Gorda last year and I've been meaning to write up this review ever since. I traveled to this area to visit cacao plantations and Kate and Ian were most helpful in assisting me to make the right connections. I only wish we could have stayed longer here, so I could have enjoyed more time just relaxing around the cottage. It's such a beautiful setting, just lying in a hammock on the porch would have been hours of bliss for me. The first night we arrived we were lucky to be treated to a Garifuna drumming lesson. It was so much fun, I managed to squeeze in a private lesson in town. Punta Gorda is the hidden jewel of Belize. I would highly recommend spending some time at Hickatee Cottages.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunningdale, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Punta Gorda isnt really a touristy place, it's a jump off place for many to get to Honduras and Guatemala and so many people will stay a night or two.
It definitely has a centre and about 3 parallel roads running through it, and is a

Hickatee is a jungle get away, no doubt about it. Down a long (very pot holled) road from the top of town you will find HIckatee, it takes about 10 mins in a car and 25 by foot. Made up of a few individual cottages and a main cabin which acts as the restaurant, bar, reading area etc.

Ian and Kate run the cottages and know everything you need to know about the local area - the people (on Wednesday nights they have Raymond giving a Belizean drum demo), the music (Garifuna), the politics and not to mention the animals, wildlife, insects, brids.
There are 3 trails cut through the jungle direct from the cottages that take you through 30-45 minutes of dense jungle where you can hear (and if lucky) see the howler monkeys in the trees, if not butterflies, birds and the odd jungle animal can be spotted.

The food was amazing, far better than any restaurant we found in punta gorda.
There are a whole variety of day trips (cave swimming was fantastic) that can be sorted by Ian

Cottage was clean, spacious, cool, sleeping at night with all the jungle noises so close by.
Even been a jaguar or two spotted on the grounds

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Beautiful forest setting. You are really out on the edge of human population.
The host was very informative and helpful.The food prepared by the hostess was the best in Punta Gorda.
Not many tourists in town, really get a feel for the way the locals live.
The drum demonstration was so much fun, everyone got to try and most eveyone was dancing.
The butterfly trip was wonderful!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Ian and Kate so obviously enjoy what they do and where they live that it is contagious! The Punta Gorda area was the most beautiful we found in Belize and Ian and Kate's knowledge of the Maya and the flora and fauna was truly outstanding.

The room and grounds were lovely and the food excellent. Wednesday night drumming was a great time!

Ian and Kate are very helpful with suggestions on things do and with arrangements. The Punta Gorda market looked intriguing as we drove out of town - wish we had allowed more time. The area had more to offer than the guidebook led us to believe.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hickatee Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hickatee Cottages

Address: Ex-Servicemen Rd. | PO Box 148, Punta Gorda, Belize
Location: Belize > Toledo > Punta Gorda
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Punta Gorda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Top-rated jungle B&B, just one mile from PG Town in southern Belize, Hickatee offers Caribbean-style accommodation, bar-restaurant, plunge pool, morning coffee delivered to your verandah, free bikes, over a mile of nature trails on site, and free visits to Fallen Stones Butterfly Farm. Family-run, we offer friendly service, a comfortable relaxed atmosphere, excellent value for money, and a great base from which to explore the offshore southern cayes and Toledo’s many inland attractions. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hickatee Cottages Hotel Punta Gorda
Hickatee Cottages Belize/Punta Gorda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hickatee Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.