We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very peaceful place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tranquility Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Tranquility Lodge to your Saves list
Tranquility Lodge
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Jacintoville, Punta Gorda 00000, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 18 Punta Gorda B&B and Inns
Rabat, Morocco
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very peaceful place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed @ Tranquility Lodge for 2 nights and we just loved it.

We chose the cabanas for a "true" jungle experience. Our hosts were just the nicest persons we've met and had very good advices (tours, restaurants and bars).

I especially recommend to visit the "swim hole" where howler monkeys come at night ! Best natural swimming pool :)

For a quite place about 15 minutes from the city, I definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    14
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
34
6
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed at Tranquility Lodge for the last 2 nights of our 2 week Belizean trip. In hindsight, I wish we had planned for more time here- it was the best part of our holiday by far.

We stayed in one of the casitas, so can only speak for that room, but it was truly spectacular. The design of the structure draws the surrounding forest into the room. There are no windows, only mesh to keep the bugs out, and when you take a shower in the all-wooden bathroom it's like showering outdoors. There is no air-con, only a ceiling fan, but it provides enough cool air to make the night comfortable. There is also no TV, but for me this is a positive: too many modern appliances, glass windows and the like would destroy the rustic, sylvan feel of the room. It embodies it's Tranquil namesake, that's for sure.

However, what made our stay truly special was Suzanne and Lee themselves. We arrived unexpectedly early, but the room was ready and they welcomed us in. They cooked for us, arranged tours for us and drove us to the bus station in Punta Gorda at 5.30am! I repeat- that's AM, the morning one! It seemed as though no request was too much trouble, and they were genuinely happy to have us stay there. I think that defines what makes a great host: some smile, are polite, and outwardly do nothing wrong, but the relationship never evolves beyond customer-vendor. Others (and Suzanne and Lee fall into this category) welcome you in as a friend, share snippets of their lives with you and make sure your holiday exceeds what you expected, not simply met with it.

They arranged the Ixcacao chocolate tour for us, which was fantastic. Juan, the owner of the farm, showed us where he grows the cacao and sugar cane, and then we got to make our own chocolate. It was really interesting, and Juan is full of facts not only about chocolate but also the ancient Maya, wildlife of Belize and all manner of quirks- I almost wish I had taken a notepad and pen to jot some of it down.

They also took us to see Belize's first Earthship (located right next to the Lubaantun Mayan ruins, so you can do both at once). Made entirely of waste and glass bottles, the Earthship is an architectural green wonder. You can see pictures of it on the internet, but they definitely don't do it any justice. To truly appreciate the building you need light streaming through the bottles, birdsong all around you and a beer in your hand! We spent a couple of hours there with Suzanne and Lee, Richard and Alisa and their childred, I only wish we had more time.

If you are going to stay in Belize, then definitely make a stop at Tranquility Lodge. I think the proof that it is so great is that I have written a review about it, and I have never written a review in my life. Not about a restaurant, hotel, book- nothing. I simply felt compelled to write this review because Suzanne and Lee deserve it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dangriga, Belize
Level Contributor
78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Moving away from the beaches to the jungle and rain forest in southern Toledo District Belize I found Tranquility Lodge. Owned by a Canadian couple, this is a quaint small lodge with Lodge rooms with Air Conditioning and TVs. Or choose a real experience in a Casita. BE AWARE that there is NO A/C or TVs in a Casita, just a ceiling fan. Lee and Suzie are the nicest couple you will ever meet! They do everything they can to get you out to experience all southern Belize has to offer. Lee has worked hard to cull through local tour operators to find the best qualified and most trusted of people to provide safe and enjoyable excursions. He and Suzie really want to do right by you and you will get great value for your travel dollar.
The grounds here are a botanist's dream come true. A plethora of organics they hadn't realized they had has now made it a mecca for wellness groups. I found a "bush medicine woman" quite by accident who knew just what was growing here and suggested they start labeling all the different plants and trees. It's in the works! The main room in the lodge is an open screened room with a pool table, a perhaps "homemade" Shuffleboard table, all kinds of games for everyone, plenty of comfy seating and tables to enjoy good food and conversation with your hosts and other guests.
Nature trails, a swimming hole and more nature than you can handle are all an easy walk-about away.
It's no 4 star resort and can only accommodate around 20-24 people at present, plans are underway to expand in the future. I can't say enough so, with Lee & Suzie's permission I can show you. Enjoy some photos!

Room Tip: As I mention, Lodge rooms have A/c and a TV. Casitas only have a ceiling fan. I chose a lodge room b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burleigh Falls, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Well our adventure to Punta Gorda ended at Tranquility Lodge and we will most definitely be back again and again. We have never been so amazed at the beauty and "Tranquility" of any other vacation spot as we were at this one.

If you are looking for beauty, nature, quiet (other than the sounds of birds and "other" things like Howler Monkeys through the night), than this is where to go. It's romantic, educational and fun. The people you meet are so warm. They make you feel very welcome. Especially the owners, Lee and Suzanne; They have a way of making every guest feel like family.

We went there from Belize City to Punta Gorda on James Bus Lines. It just happened to be the hottest day ever!! I thought "These old school busses won't have A/C so I'm glad it's empty and we can each have our own little school bus two seater with a window open". Well... We were wrong about that one!! The bus was so full. Turns out we were on the milk run. But what an adventure! We met some of the most interesting people on that 5 hour bus ride. Towards the end, we find out this bus company knows of Tranquility Lodge and say we will love it there!

Arrived a little hot and sweaty and were immediately welcomed in to this little piece of heaven. The instant breeze and a nice cold drink settled us right down and the rest was incredible. There are tours Suzanne and Lee will get you confirmed to go on (with a discount). Sometimes they go with you.

The best part was meeting people from all over the world and sitting there chatting and getting to make some new friends. And that Lester's Bar? Lots of Fun and that man can cook!! He even cooks at Tranquility Lodge sometimes. It's soooo good!

Hope you have as much fun as we did!
Denise & Dennis

Room Tip: All of the rooms are amazing! If you want air conditioning do not choose a casita. They're all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This review is long overdue as we stayed at the Tranquility Lodge in December. However, I have not forgotten the attention and care that Lee and Suzanne provided to us! We basically wanted to do every possible activity in a few days and they made it happen! Lee was amazing, he knows everyone in the community and the best guides--birdwatching, ruins, chocolate tour, etc-- are just a phone call away. Seriously, the hosts at Tranquility work so hard to make you comfortable and to experience everything the area offers (which is A LOT)! The grounds of the lodge are beautiful and FULL of birds and wildlife, which is wonderful. The room we stayed in was definitely more on the rustic side, we had air conditioning though (which was awesome, but I feel bad because we left it on at night and apparently it froze the condensation on the kitchen floor above us). Also, if you plan on snorkeling, I recommend bringing your own snorkel gear (I wished I had it on our whole trip in Belize, we were in other areas for 2 weeks prior to staying in Punta Gorda). GO ON THE CHOCOLATE FARM/MAKING TOUR!!! Ask for Juan (who both owns the chocolate farm and is an amazing guide of the area) to show you the ruins-- his wife is also awesome!!! The bird guy they know is also great, although I can't remember his name right now!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

If you want the experience of staying in a rain forest with all the comforts of home this is the place for you. Amazing flowers, trees and nature paths. Your host and hostess (Lee and Suzanne) know everything about the local tours and adventures. All I had to do was show up and they took over.

The lodge's main room is huge and sports Shuffleboard, Pool table, Television and Meals. The rooms under the lodge are clean and comfy. I had a great stay and highly recommend. :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placencia
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

3 of us from Placencia stayed one night (Chocolate Festival weekend) and we were all very happy and impressed with the comfort and amenities of the casita we stayed in.
The entire upper half of the casita is (lightweight curtain covered) screen making it feel as if you are living in the great outdoors. The bathroom is especially great.
Rustic but has dependable electricity and potable running water.
Lee and Suzanne were wonderful hosts, bringing us anything we asked for to make us as comfortable and happy as possible.
Breakfast (included) was wonderful and plentiful.
I will stay again when in the area and recommend it to my guests that want to visit further south.
Quiet, wonderful, jungly experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Gorda
4.7 mi away
Belcampo Lodge
Belcampo Lodge
#1 of 2 in Punta Gorda
5.0 of 5 stars 172 reviews
19.1 mi away
Hotel Finca Tatin
Hotel Finca Tatin
#5 of 9 in Livingston
4.5 of 5 stars 224 reviews
19.1 mi away
Posada El Delfin
Posada El Delfin
#3 of 9 in Livingston
4.5 of 5 stars 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Hotel Salvador Gaviota
Hotel Salvador Gaviota
#6 of 9 in Livingston
4.0 of 5 stars 28 reviews
0.5 mi away
St. Charles Inn
St. Charles Inn
#9 of 18 in Punta Gorda
4.0 of 5 stars 39 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beya Suites
Beya Suites
#11 of 18 in Punta Gorda
4.0 of 5 stars 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tranquility Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquility Lodge

Address: Jacintoville, Punta Gorda 00000, Belize
Location: Belize > Toledo District > Punta Gorda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Punta Gorda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tranquility Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a peaceful, secluded setting on 20 acres of lush tropical gardens and jungle, Tranquility Lodge is the first choice for discerning travelers to Southern Belize. Use the lodge as your base for exploring the cultural, archaeological, and ecoadventure activities of Toledo District. Afterwards, enjoy tranquil spa services, superb dining, and casually elegant yet affordable accommodations. Tranquility Lodge - Wild by Nature, Tranquil by Design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Tranquility Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tranquility Lodge Belize/Punta Gorda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tranquility Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.