We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location with great birding and fantastic service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tranquility Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Tranquility Lodge to your Saves list
Tranquility Lodge
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Jacintoville, Punta Gorda 00000, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 18 Punta Gorda B&B and Inns
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
“Excellent location with great birding and fantastic service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

My husband and I visited while visiting the Punta Gorda area. The location was an easy drive into town and being just off the highway guaranteed us excellent accessibility. Sheila made sure our every need was met and Rusty was very helpful with spotting and naming birds I had never seen. The food was excellent, hotel staff was friendly and helpful and rooms were immaculately clean and air conditioned. Nights were amazingly peaceful. Can't wait to go back for a longer stay. Thanks Sheila and Rusty.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
32
6
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011 via mobile

We just stayed one night, but it was lovely. The cabana is nicely decorated, really spacious, with very comfy beds! Lots of little touches like handmade soaps which are made by their neighbor. It is a really easy place to find and Sheila can recommend activities to do in the area.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011

The kudos that are richly deserved for Tranquility Lodge are as much about the style and savvy of its owners/managers as about the place itself. Sheila and Rusty have pitch-perfect touch as innkeepers, which reflects years of experience in the Belize hospitality industry, an obvious affinity for all things Belizean, and an eagerness to share always-intelligent and spot-on recommendations for planning drives, days, and diversions.
We stayed five days at Tranquility Lodge, a great location from which to
explore southern Belize. Our large room/cabana was recently redecorated, super, super clean and nestled near the jungle growth on the quiet grounds occupied by the Lodge. Sheila’s delicious breakfasts are served in a spacious informal dining room with an open second-floor vista onto this very private site’s landscape.

Tranquility is near the Southern Highway, convenient to Mayan ruins at
Lubaantun and Nim Li Punit. We had a car rental, great for exploring the area – but beware – the secondary roads are dirt and rock and rutted. Tranquility is a 15 minute drive from Coleman’s Café on the Southern Highway and Marion’s in Punta Gorda, both serving delicious and very inexpensive Belizean fare. You serve yourself in Perlene and Tom Coleman’s kitchen and can sit outside, often with them, chatting. Marion’s is in town, overlooking the bay. For a foodie highlight, treat yourself to lunch or dinner at Chef Rob’s in Hopkins, about an hours drive from Tranquility. Amazing food – fresh, creative, and well priced.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2011

Tranquility Lodge is a beautiful and relaxing place to stay! The rooms are so comfortable and the setting is wonderfully peaceful. I recommend this great place to anyone looking for lodging in the Toledo District! And the owners, Rusty and Sheila, are great too!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2011

We spent one night at the lodge and loved it. The quiet location with a fresh water swimming spot was perfect. The room was very clean and nicely decorated most importantly a comfortable bed and hot water shower! Sheila was very hospitable and accommodating to all of our needs. Breakfast was a taste of home, it was great and a set us up well for the rest of the day. We would go back anytime.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ignacio, Belize
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2011

Recently, while travelling to southern Belize, a colleague and I stayed at Tranquility Lodge. We really didn’t have any expectations as to what Tranquility might be like, but in all of 10 seconds we realized that, not only did we find the lodge to be beautiful, but the proprietors to be even more so. Sheila and Rusty Nale are the ultimate hosts. They have run several different hotels in their 19 plus years in Belize, and Tranquility Lodge is their pièce de résistance.

We were welcomed as family more than travelers. Our room was a slice of heaven in a beautiful jungle setting, and the breakfast each morning was even better than the one before. Laundry was wonderfully reasonable, the swimming hole is something out of a movie, and the owners are some of the kindest people I have ever had the pleasure to meet. If you are travelling through Toledo District in Belize, there is only one choice as far as accommodations.

Tranquility Lodge will amaze you, treat you and you will fall in love with the grounds as soon as you lay eyes on them. I can’t say enough great things about Sheila, Rusty, their staff and what they have accomplished by building such a tranquil and comforting lodge. Do yourself a favor and stay at Tranquility Lodge. It’s the treat of treats.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Kentucky
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

We stayed with at Tranquility lodge for an 8 day trip. The advice and planning that Rusty and Sheila provided was second to none. We stayed in a casita, and enjoyed the peaceful nature of the surroundings.

The food and attention to detail was extremely delightful. We can not recommend staying at Tranquility Lodge enough.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tranquility Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquility Lodge

Address: Jacintoville, Punta Gorda 00000, Belize
Location: Belize > Toledo > Punta Gorda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Punta Gorda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tranquility Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a peaceful, secluded setting on 20 acres of lush tropical gardens and jungle, Tranquility Lodge is the first choice for discerning travelers to Southern Belize. Use the lodge as your base for exploring the cultural, archaeological, and ecoadventure activities of Toledo District. Afterwards, enjoy tranquil spa services, superb dining, and casually elegant yet affordable accommodations. Tranquility Lodge - Wild by Nature, Tranquil by Design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Tranquility Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tranquility Lodge Belize/Punta Gorda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tranquility Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.