We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great atmosphere, and awesome owner!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Asha's Culture Kitchen

Asha's Culture Kitchen
74 Front Street, Punta Gorda, Belize
+501 722-2724
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 19 Restaurants in Punta Gorda
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: ***Top quality seafood and barbeque in Punta Gorda***Relax at the only restaurant and bar around that is completely over the sea. Fresh meals are cooked to order with sustainably caught seafood; fish are often caught by Asha (the owner/head chef) himself. Open kitchen serves hearty dishes prepared with healthy ingredients.Listen to various styles of live music – including Creole and Garifuna drumming, Mayan marimba, and international performances – all while enjoying the Caribbean sea breeze with a view of the Guatemala highlands from across the bay.Exceptional service and competitive prices. Business practices are very environmentally friendly. Marine tours, sustainable-fishing classes, sunset-booze cruises, and cooking lessons are available. Great meeting spot to get to know the locals, meet other tourists, or get detailed information on Toledo. We cater to all needs; including large groups, food delivery, and a variety of events. Please call ahead for large groups, to-go orders, directions, or our music schedule.
Montgomery, Alabama
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food, great atmosphere, and awesome owner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We stayed in PG for 4 days with a plan to have dinner and breakfast at a variety of restaurants. We had dinner at Asha's the first night and proceeded to have dinner the remaining nights along with 2 catered breakfast! Asha (and wife) were accomodating and the food was awesome! From the twisted lobster to the great fresh salads, none of our group had any complaints. Have you ever heard grown folks rave about peanut butter and jelly sandwiches...well even his PBJ was gourmet!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    53
    9
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wow!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We were told we had to eat at Asha's. We got to PG on Tuesday, the only day Asha's is closed so Wednesday we were more than ready to judge the food for ourselves. The food Was AMAZING and the prices the best. The whole snapper was great and my kids loved the fish fingers so much so that they keep ordering it at other restaurants hoping for the same experience but haven't found it yet. The staff was very helpful and turn around time on the food was fast. If was definitely one of the best meals we've had in Belize.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua, Guatemala
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best food in Belize hands down”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Asha's Culture Kitchen is the best place to eat seafood in Punta Gorda hands down. Actually I've eaten here on 5 different occasions and every meal I've ordered here was amazing. This is the place to eat when visiting Punta Gorda. Its not the easiest to get to but trust me it's worth it. You might even get lucky and go one night he has live drumming.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A gem - looks can be deceiving”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Asha's was less than a block from where we were staying and was highly recommended. Don't let the appearance deceive you, the food is excellent and well worth the cost. Generous portions and friendly staff made for a pleasant experience ... twice! We like it so much the first night we went back the second night to enjoy it again and try different things.

We were told that the building going on next door is where the restaurant will be locating to soon which would be a very good thing indeed. The current restaurant is a bit rustic ... but in a good way.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cat Spring, Texas
2 reviews
“Surprisingly good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

I didn't know what to expect from this little shack on stilts over the ocean but it was a great experience. The cook came out and discussed the dishes with us, made recommendations, even suggesting that certain dishes weren't so good that evening. The food was excellent.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Asha's Culture Kitchen also viewed

Punta Gorda, Toledo District
 
Punta Gorda, Toledo District
Punta Gorda, Toledo District
 

Been to Asha's Culture Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Asha's Culture Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.