We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stay at your own risk” 1 of 5 stars
Review of St. Christopher's Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Orange Walk
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
St. Christopher's Hotel
Save
You added St. Christopher's Hotel to your Saves list
#10 Main Street | Orange Walk Town, Orange Walk, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Orange Walk
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“stay at your own risk”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010

My husband made reservations for us at this hotel last month and we were quite surprised to find that an oil company had set up headquarters there. There was machinery and equipment everywhere. Waking up to this activity is not the most pleasant scene while on vacation.
That aside, the rooms were big, clean and made of concrete. We felt safe.
I suggest you inquire when making reservations if the oil company is still there. I understand they have been there since the start of the year.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    23
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
17
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, SC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2010

If you are in Orange Walk, Belize stay at the St. Christopher's hotel. Nice rooms, easy walk to downtown, the market, and stores. Great location to go out and explore northern Belize. The staff is very friendly and most helpful.

Enjoyed setting in the chairs in front of the room and talking with other guest. Loved walking to the market and eating at the food court. When in Belize make sure you eat fry jack -

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2009

Stayed here 3 nights in a large spacious AC room with comfortable beds. The hotel is on the river and has a large well-maintained garden. Nearby restaurants were good and the staff were very helpful and friendly. We had our laundry done here with no problem at all. We explored the town each morning, sampling the many small food vendors for breakfast.
We booked a river trip to the Mayan ruins of Lamani and this is well worth half it, the local guides are very knowledgeable and the ruins are excellent.
We explored the local area and up to Corozal from here.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2009

Stayed here for two nights Feb 2009 .Large clean rooms with A/C perfectly adequate for a two night stay so that we could do the Lamini trip which was one of the highlights of our Belize holiday. Organised the trip with Lamani Tours - excellent guideand lunch . No breakfast at the hotel so you have to eat out . Preferred this hotel over De La Fuenta which is next door only because it had grounds and access to the river. Both hotels are good value and we would have stayed in either. Also spent a day at Crooked Tree Reserve - well worth the effort . Orange Walk is a little short on good places to eat but recommend the Riverside Retreat which has a place right on the river and serves good food but take your bug repellent.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
460 reviews 460 reviews
313 hotel reviews
Reviews in 335 cities Reviews in 335 cities
413 helpful votes 413 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2009

I guess we came on a day when all the nice people were off. Sent laundry in at 7 am and when we came back were told the maid had too many rooms to clean, sorry. However, only a couple of rooms were occupied. The TV did not work and they could not fix the reception. The bedspreads and towels are literally falling apart. Now the hotel is very cheap so you get what you pay for. Super basic rooms. Clean sheets and towels. They arranged a very nice river tour to Lamanai. The River tour is a great and only reason to come to this town.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2008

Excellent hotel in the heart of Orange Walk. The Urbina family is very accomodating. We recommend this hotel heartily.

Stayed March 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2007

I also would STRONGLY recommend this hotel. We paid 45 US for 2 beds with air. Great value. The review from mikeymo1741 is right on so I will not repeat his review.

I spent my first evening in Belize soaking up the sites from the steps of the Hotel St. Christopher. Enjoyed watching people live their daily lives. Shared a few smokes when asked (you will be asked!). Pretty much everyone says 'HI' to you. Talked with the owner for about 20 min that evening and got a good education on the city. He used to work at the local sugar mill (you will pass on the way into town). Very nice man.

The town is very small so you are just a few blocks from the center of town. If you have traveled enough to end up in Orange Walk Town on your own you will find this a friendly easy place to get to know the people of Belize. Not such a tourist area. We rented a car and found Belize safe and easy to navigate.

Got coffee at the hotel next door in the morning as our lobby was not yet open. I asked to buy some and we ended up with several cups each no charge. Nice people working and hanging out there that morning.

1 day in Orange Walk Town was enough. Drove to Lamanai for a day trip. See that review.

  • Liked — Value, Friendly Owners
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St. Christopher's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Christopher's Hotel

Address: #10 Main Street | Orange Walk Town, Orange Walk, Belize
Location: Belize > Orange Walk District > Orange Walk
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Orange Walk
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
St Christophers Hotel
St. Christopher's Hotel Belize/Orange Walk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Christopher's Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.