We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place on the river” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St. Christopher's Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Orange Walk
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
St. Christopher's Hotel
Save Saved
You added St. Christopher's Hotel to your Saves list
#10 Main Street | Orange Walk Town, Orange Walk, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Orange Walk
Fergus Falls, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good place on the river”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This is as older hotel, run by a family. We found the rooms clean large and adequate for our needs. The staff was very welcoming, friendly and ready to accommodate our needs. We had booked a tour to mayan ruins south of the city, a tour that goes along the river. We were able to meet the tour at the river just outside the hotel area as arranged by the hotel staff. We would come back to this hotel if in the area again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    22
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
15
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

We only stayed here for one night as we were passing through to visit the Lamanai Mayan Ruins. The main pictire of the hotel does not do the hotel any justice at all. There is a spacious reception with free coffee and bananas, there is also free wifi. The rooms are large and comfortable and while they may not be the the most current decor everything was clean and tidy and well maintained and the beds were comfortable. The hotel has beautiful grounds and is set back on the banks of the New River. Our tour boat picked us up from the dock at the hotel when we went on our trip which was another bonus. This is a family run business and everyone we spoke to was very helpful and hospitable. I would definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Myself and my husband recently stayed at this hotel while coming from Cancun and to tell you the truth after all the drama we went through in Mexico am still happy about the decision we took not to stay in Chetumal the night and to have stayed in Orange Walk. This was not the originally planned hotel but the other hotel was booked. We pay roughly around 50 something US dollars. Upon arrival the receptionist was exceptionally nice and I was so emotional with all the stuff we went through before getting at that hotel I wanted to cry such wonderful service lovely staff and security guard. The rooms had a nice king size bed wifi was available and a beautiful patio on the back of the room. The best feature of the hotel for me was the shower excellent water pressure and very clean. Thanks to the staff of this hotel I had a great stay and would come back anyday

Room Tip: Choose a room upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrboro, North Carolina, USA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Nice tiled room on a great property on the river. The room had some ants, but bugs are hard to get rid of here. Plumbing is better than in Mexico, but the lobby wasn't the welcoming hang out spot I had come to expect from the beach hotels.

Good value, safe, and helpful staff.

Great sunrise view from the rivers edge.

Fans worked well in the room, so ac isn't needed.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

It is located just a few blocks from the town center plaza. It is located on a large property bordering the river, and has a nice big garden and ample safe car parking. My room was nice and spacious, clean and looked comfortable. The lamp above the bed was not working and other little signs show that a more rigorous maintenance would be justified. It is family owned and their members run the place. There are no amenities in the room such as refrigerator or coffee machine, no AC in my room but they do have Wi-Fi. They offer good value for the money.

Room Tip: Rooms on ground floor (garden level) are quieter and you can walk right into the garden and relax un...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

Spent three nights here in early March. It was clean and comfortable, with wifi in the room and TV with a thousand channels. The price was reasonable and we were well treated. The grounds are lovely, with all sorts of beautiful plants, flowers and trees.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

We were booked into St Christopher's (because Hotel de la Fuente where we had a confirmed booking did not have a room) without knowing anything about it. We arrived at 4am on the bus and everything looked completely closed, shutters down etc. However the night porter heard us and welcomed us in, gave us a great room in the back building and recommended a breakfast place for later that morning. The room was large, had a/c, fridge,124 channel TV (!!!!) large bed, table and chairs and comfortable chairs on the balcony/terrace.with a side view of the garden and river. The bathroom was a bit dated. We found the staff helpful but vague! Very pleasant though. They will organize trips and you can get laundry done. The boat to Lamanai picks you up at the bottom of the garden! Orange Walk is a small quiet town and we really enjoyed a quiet break on our travels at St Christopher's.

Room Tip: The back building is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to St. Christopher's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Christopher's Hotel

Address: #10 Main Street | Orange Walk Town, Orange Walk, Belize
Location: Belize > Orange Walk District > Orange Walk
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Orange Walk
Also Known As:
St Christophers Hotel
St. Christopher's Hotel Belize/Orange Walk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Christopher's Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.