We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saved the night” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. Christopher's Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Orange Walk
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
St. Christopher's Hotel
Save
You added St. Christopher's Hotel to your Saves list
#10 Main Street | Orange Walk Town, Orange Walk, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Orange Walk
Miami
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Saved the night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Myself and my husband recently stayed at this hotel while coming from Cancun and to tell you the truth after all the drama we went through in Mexico am still happy about the decision we took not to stay in Chetumal the night and to have stayed in Orange Walk. This was not the originally planned hotel but the other hotel was booked. We pay roughly around 50 something US dollars. Upon arrival the receptionist was exceptionally nice and I was so emotional with all the stuff we went through before getting at that hotel I wanted to cry such wonderful service lovely staff and security guard. The rooms had a nice king size bed wifi was available and a beautiful patio on the back of the room. The best feature of the hotel for me was the shower excellent water pressure and very clean. Thanks to the staff of this hotel I had a great stay and would come back anyday

Room Tip: Choose a room upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    23
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
17
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Carrboro, North Carolina, USA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Nice tiled room on a great property on the river. The room had some ants, but bugs are hard to get rid of here. Plumbing is better than in Mexico, but the lobby wasn't the welcoming hang out spot I had come to expect from the beach hotels.

Good value, safe, and helpful staff.

Great sunrise view from the rivers edge.

Fans worked well in the room, so ac isn't needed.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

It is located just a few blocks from the town center plaza. It is located on a large property bordering the river, and has a nice big garden and ample safe car parking. My room was nice and spacious, clean and looked comfortable. The lamp above the bed was not working and other little signs show that a more rigorous maintenance would be justified. It is family owned and their members run the place. There are no amenities in the room such as refrigerator or coffee machine, no AC in my room but they do have Wi-Fi. They offer good value for the money.

Room Tip: Rooms on ground floor (garden level) are quieter and you can walk right into the garden and relax un...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

Spent three nights here in early March. It was clean and comfortable, with wifi in the room and TV with a thousand channels. The price was reasonable and we were well treated. The grounds are lovely, with all sorts of beautiful plants, flowers and trees.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

We were booked into St Christopher's (because Hotel de la Fuente where we had a confirmed booking did not have a room) without knowing anything about it. We arrived at 4am on the bus and everything looked completely closed, shutters down etc. However the night porter heard us and welcomed us in, gave us a great room in the back building and recommended a breakfast place for later that morning. The room was large, had a/c, fridge,124 channel TV (!!!!) large bed, table and chairs and comfortable chairs on the balcony/terrace.with a side view of the garden and river. The bathroom was a bit dated. We found the staff helpful but vague! Very pleasant though. They will organize trips and you can get laundry done. The boat to Lamanai picks you up at the bottom of the garden! Orange Walk is a small quiet town and we really enjoyed a quiet break on our travels at St Christopher's.

Room Tip: The back building is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kutztown, PA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

Stayed here during a tour of Maya archaeological sites. The boat for Lamanai picked us up behind the hotel. Obviously one expects bugs at a riverfront hotel, but there were ants on parade. Check my photo of the towels, they were clean, but used black marker to identify them as St. Christopher hotel towels.

Late at night a river-tour operator offered us a "swim with the crocodiles" boat ride for $15 U.S, but I couldn't get another 4 people interested, they thought I was crazy. It didn't happen. There is not a lot to do after the Chinese Restaurants close.

Wouldn't mind the room quality, since this is a locally owned business, if they were pouring the room fees back into upgrading the place, but heard the owner brag about his sport fishing and hunting trips all over the world.

Free WiFi, but...WiFi was very spotty and dropped off; my roommate suggested that is because the owner's kid was gaming on the reception area computer. Can't say for sure.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010

St Christopher's is a spacious and pleasant hotel in a good location in Orange Walk, not far from the bus station. The rooms are large and clean, with hot water and free wireless Internet. The hotel also has a pretty garden which goes down to the New River. In general, the staff are pleasant and fairly helpful.

The hotel also can arrange tours to the Mayan ruins at Lamanai for guests through one of the tour companies in town. So, we booked a tour for the following day, paid upfront, and the next morning waited patiently by the river, yet no boat came to pick us up. After an hour of waiting, we went back to the hotel reception, the staff called the tour company who claimed never to have received a booking. The tours run by other companies had also already left, so we were seemingly stuck in Orange Walk (a town in which there is not a huge amount to do). The hotel's suggestion was to go on a tour the following day, but that would have required spending an extra night in the hotel. They were somewhat apologetic but not particularly resourceful in this situation. In the end, we ended up finding someone to take us to Lamanai by car, which was not a smooth journey, but we did see the ruins and left Orange Walk the next day as planned.

If you do stay in St Christopher's, which is a perfectly nice and peaceful place to spend a couple of nights, then I advise not taking their tour, and arranging it yourself with one of the companies in town.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St. Christopher's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Christopher's Hotel

Address: #10 Main Street | Orange Walk Town, Orange Walk, Belize
Location: Belize > Orange Walk District > Orange Walk
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Orange Walk
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
St Christophers Hotel
St. Christopher's Hotel Belize/Orange Walk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Christopher's Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.