We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home base” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de la Fuente

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Orange Walk
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel de la Fuente
Save
You added Hotel de la Fuente to your Saves list
14 Main Street, Orange Walk 84, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Orange Walk
Missoula, Montana
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Home base”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Hotel de la Fuente was the perfect home base for all of the adventures for our first few days in Belize. It was nice to come back to a comfortable clean room. They prepared us a delicious breakfast each day.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    61
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
26
92
16
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edson, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

We had a lovely stay here. The room was clean and pleasant. The staff were very helpful and friendly. They serve a nice little breakfast here. We booked a tour to Lamanai from here and it was very well done and a great price. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belize
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Hotel de la Fuente is my preferred accomodation whenever I stay in this part of Belize.
It's a perfect place when you are planning to do the Lamanai Mayan Site tour.
The stuff at the hotel is very friendly and if you book the tour with them it's only a 3 minutes walk to the river where the boat trip starts.
The hotel is clean and the rooms are well equipped.

One thing is for sure - I will be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

So hospitable and generous! Our family of 5 (3 of which are kids under 6) found the staff and facilities here better than expected.

We stayed for 2 nights and did the Ruins boat tour on day two. A great experience all around. The staff recommended great restaurants and even carried a canoe (free when you stay there) to the river for our family to have a nice evening paddle amongst the abundance of wildlife.

They also gave us a free ride to the bus station at the end of our trip. Everyone was pleasant and accommodating in every way.

Great wifi, cable and air conditioning as well. Book this place for your stay in Orange Walk.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Hotel de la Fuente is a very affordable hotel, but still delivers all the amenities you'll need. The rooms come with airco, a more than decent shower, refridgerator, excellent wifi and even a tv.
The staff is helpful and they responded very accomodatingly to an unforseen change in our itinerary. A -so far unknown- gem is the riverside restaurant Paniscea, associated with the hotel. The equally affordable, authenticly mayan-mexican fare was some of the best we ever ate in Belize. The service, both in the hotel and the restaurant, was impeccable.
Great value for your money!! You can't go wrong by chosing this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corozal Town, Belize
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Very beautiful place to stay. We only stayed one night and took a tour to the ruins. The river tour was beautiful and calming even seen a monkey!! The staff was very nice and the rooms very clean. Will be back again!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

After staying here for 3-nights in February 2014 and spending some time to explore Orange Walk itself, Hotel De La Fuente has to be one of the better hotels in town. Good showers and AC. Great wireless Internet and staff! The hotel staff also has great recommendations for restaurants and will book very good tours with good tour companies. The breakfast options are also good and enjoyable in their contemporary style lobby and common meeting area.

The hotel staff recommended what turns out to be the top 2 restaurants as rated on TripAdvisor:
1) Paniscea Restaurant
2) Nahil Mayab

I agree with their recommendations.

Of the two Chinese restaurants in Orange Walk, I have to say that Lee’s Chinese Restaurant was a bit disappointing (even for Chinese food in Belize which is generally lacking compared to the good Chinese in the US or Canada) while OK Restaurant which seemed to be one of very few restaurants open on Sunday night and their food was really not bad for Chinese food in Belize. They have fresh squeezed fruit juices!

Panificadora La Popular has very cheap and quick breakfast food and drinks as a bakery for anyone in a hurry to catch transportation or to meet an early tour.

Just walk by and check out some other hotels in Orange Walk and I'm sure Hotel De La Fuente is the place to stay. Not the cheapest place but IMHO the best value for comfortable accommodations.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de la Fuente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Fuente

Address: 14 Main Street, Orange Walk 84, Belize
Location: Belize > Orange Walk District > Orange Walk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Orange Walk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located between the banks of the New River and downtown. We offer 22 rooms which 3 are junior suites with kitchenette & 10 upgraded rooms on the newly built "East Wing" with– queen beds, flat screen TV, fridge & coffee makers. Wireless internet access throughout the property, complimentary computer with internet access & coffee in lobby. Restaurants, Stores and Panificadora La Popular bakery 1 block away. Daily Tours to Lamanai. 24 hr. security & parking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
De La Fuente Hotel
Hotel De La Fuente Belize/Orange Walk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de la Fuente, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.