We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we wanted” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de la Fuente

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Orange Walk
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel de la Fuente
Save
You added Hotel de la Fuente to your Saves list
14 Main Street, Orange Walk 84, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Orange Walk
Certificate of Excellence
Orange Walk, Belize
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Just what we wanted”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

Came to orange walk just for a day to go to lamanai and spend the night before leaving Belize. After spending 6 weeks in make shift cabanas on a beach with no electricity this was just what we wanted! Air con, very clean and comfy bed and hot water! Te your to lamanai from the hotel was a great day out, really worth the money and a great guide too!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    67
    13
    2
    0
See reviews for
27
98
18
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

This was my first time to Belize with my best friend who had visited Orange Walk previously a year before. The rooms were clean,beds comfortable, good wifi, and the bathroom was my favorite. All of the staff was beyond any positive word I could come up with in my vocabulary.The staff did security walk throughs at night and made me safe (being outside of the U.S for the 1st time n all). We celebrated my friends birthday while over there and they even bought her a cake and sang happy birthday! They made us feel like family and I would stay there again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
58 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

From our guide book I was expecting this hotel to be on the river. Well, the river is somewhere back there but this is definitely an in-town hotel. And boy is the town ugly and dusty. That said, if you want to see the Maya ruins of Lamanai and don't want to pay and arm and a leg for the more expensive lodges down river this is a great choice.

We paid about $20 USD each for a room with a double bed and a single (we were a party of three). This was a great deal as the room was spotlessly clean and included free wifi, cable, a fridge, a microwave, full-force A/C that's adjustable, and a very hot and strong shower. Breakfast is included: bananas, coffee, toast with PB/jam (good enough for me!). It's very close to the river departure point and near the Orange Walk downtown strip.

The staff were helpful and booked our Lamanai trip for us and let us store our bags while we were away on the tour. I didn't love Orange Walk but this hotel was cozy and well-equipped and it made our stay enjoyable enough.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We have travelled for 4 months in South and Central America.
This would be one of the best hotels overall we have stayed in.
The room was spacious and clean.
The bathroom a good adequate size. Tons of hot water.
No problems with Wifi (excellent strength), Air Con or TV.
Staff were absolutely excellent.
They booked tours for us and our onward travel up on to Mexico - no problems at all.
They kindly printed off some paperwork we needed.
They even introduced us to Tacos for breakfast - all at no extra charge.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

De La Fuente may be the best hotel in Orange Walk but it does not make it a good hotel.
We booked 5 months in advance and had junior suite # 307 (most expensive room)
1) When we arrived, we asked about the tours to Lamanai (the reception desk is also a travel agency) : the prices quoted at the reception were higher than the ones displayed in the room !
2) We had to pay the Lamanai entrance fee for our 3 years old son even if it is free for children below 5 in Belize: As I said so to the guy at the reception, he told me he would charge us anyway and... he charged us (5 USD)
3) This is the only hotel in Belize where we saw in the room a comparison of the prices of electricity between US / Mexico / Belize... to make us understand we should save it
4) Air conditioning was very very weak, not much better than a fan: Very difficult to sleep. When we mentioned that at the reception, the guy did not seem to care at all.

One positive point nevertheless: Though having booked for 2 nights, we checked out after the 1st night without any problem (and without any attempt to make us stay...)

To make it short, it is probably better to get up earlier and leave, for example, from Belize City to make the Lamanai Tour: Boats leave at 9:30 AM and are back at 3:30 PM.

Room Tip: Avoid junior suite 307
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed in Orange Walk for two nights and based on the reviews of this and other hotels didn't even consider staying anywhere else. Just about everything was perfect at the Hotel de la Fuente. Our room (number 204) was large and in the back of the main building, so quiet. The beds were comfortable, and the TV had something like 200 channels. The wifi was the strongest of any hotel we stayed in during our 16 days in Belize, Guatemala and Mexico. The service was fantastic - Yvan was very helpful from the reservation to check-out. We arranged a trip to Lamanai through the hotel and it was great (you can see my review elsewhere).

The only thing that I could fault the hotel for was its breakfast. They don't have a restaurant, so there is no place to serve breakfast, but they have a little continental breakfast available in the lobby. I don't think they make the most of the opportunity - there was only pieces of watermelon, coffee and bread to toast with some butter and jam. When the bread ran out, someone ran to the store to buy more. If they are going to offer this, they should try a little harder and offer some juice for those who don't drink coffee and maybe some rolls or bananas.

Otherwise, a perfect stay at the Hotel de la Fuente!

Room Tip: We stayed in the main building but in the back (room 204) and it was very quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Stayed 2 comfortable nights in this clean and quite hotel. Great staff. Delicious continental breakfast each AM. Free bicycles and a canoe for guests to use. Enjoyed riding around Orange Walk and seeing the sites. Would happily stay there again. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The rooms in the front are less expensive and have some street noise, but it quiets down at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orange Walk
19.6 mi away
Maruba Resort Jungle Spa
23.0 mi away
Almond Tree Hotel Resort
Almond Tree Hotel Resort
#1 of 6 in Corozal Town
4.5 of 5 stars 133 reviews
24.6 mi away
Mirador Hotel
Mirador Hotel
#6 of 6 in Corozal Town
3.0 of 5 stars 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 20 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 stars 185 reviews
23.1 mi away
Tumben Ha, Hotel de Cabanas Ecologicas
0.0 mi away
Portofino Beach Resort
Portofino Beach Resort
#23 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Fuente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Fuente

Address: 14 Main Street, Orange Walk 84, Belize
Location: Belize > Orange Walk District > Orange Walk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Orange Walk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located between the banks of the New River and downtown. We offer 22 rooms which 3 are junior suites with kitchenette & 10 upgraded rooms on the newly built "East Wing" with– queen beds, flat screen TV, fridge & coffee makers. Wireless internet access throughout the property, complimentary computer with internet access & coffee in lobby. Restaurants, Stores and Panificadora La Popular bakery 1 block away. Daily Tours to Lamanai. 24 hr. security & parking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
De La Fuente Hotel
Hotel De La Fuente Belize/Orange Walk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de la Fuente, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.