We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice and comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de la Fuente

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Orange Walk
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel de la Fuente
14 Main Street, Orange Walk 84, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Orange Walk
Whitehorse, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very nice and comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a junior sweet for only 10 dollars more. The rooms were modern and great. The management was extremely helpful. It was in the middle of town and well located. They had a deal with a local restaurant to have the meals charged to the rent. We had a shuttle to the local airport at very reasonable cost. When the plane was delayed they did not charge us the shuttle cost. The rooms were very clean. The excursion to laminai was well run and very informative. I recommend this hotel. The rooms clean and comfortable and the people very helpful and accommodating.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    121
    55
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
82
15
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Finland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The room was spacious and very clean. There was a refrigerator and coffee maker in the room and they provided the coffee which was nice. Basic breakfast was included in the price. The staff was extremely helpful and knowledgeable. Their boat trip to Lamanai was excellent.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We stayed there for 2 nights and wore amaized how welcoming, helpful and caring the satff was! We visited other two hotels before coming there and it is definetely the winner!
Just as we stoped at the hotel we noticed that our car was leaking petrol and before we knew it we had a mechanic cheking our car to make sure everything was well! It is better customer service that in Europe!!!! The room we had was on the second level and had comfy beds with soft bed sheets and comfy pillows, hot shower also had a cable TV, fridge, microwave, coffee machine and grounded coffee to help yourself (that's much more than other hotels had in the same price range or more expensive) More over this hotel had bycicles and kanoe for the guests to use free of charge, as it stands just next to the river. Also they offer unforgetable boat trip to beautiful Lamanai pyramids, that in our opinion its a MUST (with a car it is a very long and slow 4 hour trip on a bumpy gravel road) We definetely will stay there on our next trip to Belize. Big Thank You to Amaizing people working there!

Room Tip: rooms on the river side are very quiet, although we enjoyed room on the second level, just round the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights & were at the room right up the steps, facing Main Street. There was a communal porch for this room (room #9) & the other 2 on the level, which was nice to dry our swimsuits on.

The room was somewhat small for the two of us -- it just lacked shelf space but we were so pleased to have air conditioning & a mini-fridge! The mattress was too firm, but I can overlook that considering the price is SO CHEAP (and we traversed the entire country- our cheapest/best stay of the entire trip). The bathroom was small, but thankfully there was no lack of hot water. Due to being off of Main Street the only drawback was the noise. I used earplugs. If a large truck went down the road it sounded like it was right outside the door.

The employees were so helpful & friendly. For the price, I was not expecting a basic complimentary breakfast, but it was a wonderful surprise. The hotel also hooked us up with securing a Lamanai River tour & offers a few other excursions. Wi-Fi worked well & someone is downstairs 24/7. GREAT PLACE FOR THE MONEY!

Room Tip: Stayed in #9 that was right off of Main Street. Loud with a hard mattress. However, the streetside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Westminster
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Very clean rooms with A/C, fridge and cable. We upgraded to the 3rd floor in the building in the back and were very comfortable here. Nice shower and beautiful tile floors throughout. The owners have spent a lot of money on extra details in the building. Gorgeous solid Mahogany doors!

If you want a less pricier room, they have them in the front building. A little smaller but still very nice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, WA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We spent 4 nights at Hotel de la Fuente. We were in Orange Walk for a wedding 8 miles out of town. The hotel owners and staff were stellar! Cindy, Orlando, Yvan, Julio, and the rest of the team were very helpful, generous, informative, and gracious.

We toured the new cabins on the New River that will be open soon. They are wonderful and the property will be a very popular place to stay. We stayed in the back building at the main hotel and enjoyed privacy and roosters in the morning.

There was not an elevator, but we had A/C, WiFi, a fridge and coffee maker in the room and off street parking.

I can't recommend this hotel enough. The spirit of community and hospitality is instilled in the entire team and we were treated like family. They put out a very nice breakfast with fresh fruit, coffee and toast. I had toast with peanut butter and sliced bananas!

Room Tip: We stayed in a room on the third floor in the back with a sliding glass door to a veranda. I would r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Nice location within easy walking distance of several restaurants, food-cart vendors in the central town square and the Banquitas House of Culture. Front desk service varied from sufficient to stellar. It had a large hotel chain feel to it, but it’s a clean, safe and affordable place to spend a few days.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel de la Fuente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Fuente

Address: 14 Main Street, Orange Walk 84, Belize
Location: Belize > Orange Walk District > Orange Walk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Orange Walk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located between the banks of the New River and downtown. We offer 22 rooms which 3 are junior suites with kitchenette & 10 upgraded rooms on the newly built "East Wing" with– queen beds, flat screen TV, fridge & coffee makers. Wireless internet access throughout the property, complimentary computer with internet access & coffee in lobby. Restaurants, Stores and Panificadora La Popular bakery 1 block away. Daily Tours to Lamanai. 24 hr. security & parking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
De La Fuente Hotel
Hotel De La Fuente Belize/Orange Walk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de la Fuente, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel de la Fuente to your Saves list