We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lamanai Outpost Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Orange Walk
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lamanai Outpost Lodge
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Lamanai Outpost | P.O. Box 63, Orange Walk, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Orange Walk B&B and Inns
NJ, USA
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Wonderful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We loved the boat trip to get there, the daily activities and the property, the beautiful sunsets and sunrises. Do not miss the sunset cocktail cruise and the spotlight safari, both big highlights of our trip. The ruins were interesting, but the troop of howler monkeys made our day.

Food was very good, and lots of it; coffee and warm, fresh baked muffins every morning, ready before the birding trip; then coffee and tea available all day long. There is a small gift shop with sun screen, bug repellant, Benadryl, Tylenol, etc. – great to have in the middle of the jungle.

The staff was absolutely wonderful, and the nature guides very good. The shower had hot water, with good pressure. Really, a lot of attention to detail (good pillows, comfortable beds, umbrellas available in case of rain, wi-fi by the restaurant, good bar, etc.) and all that made for a great stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    139
    34
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
31
103
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We enjoyed everything about our 3 day stay.
The trip there on the New River & seeing wildlife on the way.
The mayan ruins----just us,a troupe of Howler monkeys & the guide. Amazing.
The jetty,cocktail cruise,air boat & crodidile tagging & walking round the area were all excellent.
Cabana spacious & rustic.
Would love to go again.

Room Tip: Cabana with a view of Lagoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands, UK
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

If you want to see the Mayan site of Lamanai early in the morning with just you and a guide in the place, then there is only one place to stay - here! But even if you are not overkeen on Mayan sites, there are loads of trips and activities to do. Or just sit by the lagoon with a good book! All the staff are very good. The food is excellent - fresh and local and with good portions. But the trip there and back by speedboat up and down thr iver is worth the price of admission on its own!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensbury, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Ask for cabana that has a water view. We actually had a family of howler monkeys cross our deck in the middle of the day. Numerous activities to choose from. Lamanai ruins tour, sunrise adventures including the jungle at dawn, maya medicine and village tour, sunset cocktail cruise on the river, spotlight safari after dinner, creatures of the night tour, and my personal favorite the crocodile encounter on an airboat at night. Food is excellent, every day is a different, savory and plentiful treat. For example today breakfast was coffee, a large bowl of tropical fruit and citrus plate, Belizean scrambled eggs served with bacon, beans and flour tortillas. Lunch was creamed spinach and tortilla points,boneless chicken chimole served with coconut rice and Mexican corn salad and for dessert, Belizean carrot cake. Dinner. Lemon garlic fish with pasta and steam veggies and coconut pie for dessert. The service is impeccable.
We rented a car at the airport and drove. Just before Orange Walk we made a left turn, sign for Lamanai, onto a potholed strewn hellish road to nowhere. We went through a town call Guinea Grass to the point of confusion and befuddlement. We waived to a car passing us by, and typical of most Belizeans, the gentlemen was happy to help us and draw us a map. We continued through the next town of Shipyard when a truck waived us to stop and asked us if we were en route to Lamania Outpost. His name was Reuben and he was concerned about the two foolish gringos driving on this road. He was an angel from heaven and he had us follow him to the lodge. It took us about three hours from the airport, not going over 20mph on the dirt roads. Upon arrival we were immediately greeted by three of the staff and they carried our bags on their backs to the picturesque thatched hut near the water. It is truly relaxing here. You can sit and look at the river on their dock, chat with your fellow adventurers as everyone is like family, or partipate in the numerous daily activities. You will not be bored unless you choose to. This resort is moderately priced and worth every penny. A wonderful and relaxing spot, knowledgeable and super friendly staff, and highly recommended to return again.

Room Tip: Ask for cabana that has a water view. We actually had a family of howler monkeys cross our deck in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chestertown, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The adventure to Lamanai begins after about an hour's drive from the airport. That's when you board a small boat that takes you on a very scenic ride up the New River. Along the way, your guide will stop to point out a variety of flora and fauna. Just past the dock of the Lamanai ruins, your boat pulls up to the charming dock of Lamanai Outpost Lodge.

This was our second visit to the lodge, and we were very pleased that little had changed since our last visit in 2001. Although we love to vacation in Belize primarily for the excellent snorkeling offshore, the mainland is very much worth exploring. We have been to various regions of the country and Lamanai offers much of what we have grown to love about Belize. The lodge is built on the edge of the New River and surrounded by jungle. Guests are offered the choice of two complimentary guided activities per day, and there are additional optional tours. In addition, there are hiking trails to explore on you own, and the Lamanai ruins are within walking distance of the lodge.

The accommodations are beautiful. Belizean wood and thatched roofs are perfect for the jungle atmosphere. The only drawback of using those materials is that it makes for a fairly dark room. Since we were not in our room very much, it wasn't a problem, but for anyone wanting to read at night, it was a bit of an eye strain with the limited lighting. Showers were hot, and the ceiling fan made sleeping very comfortable.

The food at Lamanai is delicious Belizean fare. We enjoyed every meal and it was a treat to be introduced to some new dishes. I still have (and use) a recipe that the chef shared with me on our first visit.

The guides take pride in their work and they are a wealth of knowledge. My husband and I were lucky to have our own private guide when we explored the Lamanai ruins. We arrived early in the morning, and it seemed as if we were the only people at the park. Toward the end of our tour, we witnessed a huge group from a cruise ship with their single guide. I am certain that they were not able to explore the ruins and it's surroundings with as much insight as our guide offered.

Because Lamanai Outpost Lodge is so remote, howler monkeys still roam the area. On our last morning, a large troop of howlers were nestled in the trees above the lodges walkways. It was a scene straight out of National Geographic, and I spent many wonderful memorable moments observing and photographing.

Lamanai is not for everyone, but if you want to experience Belize....it's history and some of the beautiful nature it has to offer, this is a great location to begin your exploration.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed 4 nights at the Lamanai Outpost Lodge from January 7-11, 2013. My experience was wonderful. From the beginning at the pickup at the Belize International Airport, I was greeted with smiles and kindness. The lodge was in a beautiful rain forest setting close to a lagoon. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The guides were knowledgeable about the birds, fauna and area. All the activities I participated in were interesting and fun. I saw over 70 different birds. I really enjoyed the "Spotlight Cruise" where I could see birds roosting. The area is beautiful, serene, relaxing and I wouldn't hesitate to return. The food was fresh, tasty and healthful. The desserts were fantastic. I don't usually eat dessert, but I licked my plate (just kidding) at the lodge. My room was in the garden area, and it was comfortable and quiet, with the exception of an occasional Howler Monkey call in the wee hours. The only challenge, and not a big deal, was the lighting in the rooms was very dim. Getting up in age doesn't help. That's the only thing I would recommend is that they provide a bit more lighting. I'm ready to go back.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, get a room where you can see the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We spent 4 very enjoyable nights at Lamani Outpost, experiencing all the trips on offer as part of our package. The trip to the ruins was particularly memorable and made all the more enjoyable by being able to enjoy it before all the hoardes from the cruise ships arrived later in the day! We had a lagoon view room which was comfortable if a little on the dark side. The hammocks outside were most welcoming after an early morning excursion. Food was very good and always served with a smile. The guides were also excellent. We mostly went out with Raul who was very knowledgeable and good fun too. The howler monkeys were most entertaining, once we had worked out what was making the incredible noise. We returned after breakfast one morning to find six of them in the trees right outside our room including a mother & baby - great show! Another highlight was the cookery lesson at a local restaurant - it's not easy to make corn tortillas from scratch and we have the photos to prove it! We can certainly recommend Lamanai for a mixture of adventure and relaxation in the jungle.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lamanai Outpost Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamanai Outpost Lodge

Address: Lamanai Outpost | P.O. Box 63, Orange Walk, Belize
Location: Belize > Orange Walk District > Orange Walk
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Orange Walk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lamanai Outpost Lodge 3*
Also Known As:
Lamanai Outpost Hotel Orange Walk
Lamanai Outpost Lodge Belize/Orange Walk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lamanai Outpost Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Lamanai Outpost Lodge to your Saves list