We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paniscea Restaurant - CLOSED

Paniscea Restaurant
Main Street, Orange Walk 0000, Belize
501-623-7200
Improve this listing
Price range: $2 - $24
Cuisines: Contemporary, International, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Set on a beautiful river setting in Orange Walk Belize this open air restaurant features excellent service, a diverse and exquisite menu at affordable prices...a rare find in Belize. Just opened on New Year's eve 2011!!
New Westminster
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed dinner one night and drinks the next. The food was really good and the servers friendly. The owners, Doug and Lucy were great. Took time to stop by the table and chat. We found out that Doug was from Victoria, BC, which is where my wife was born. Never know who you're going to meet up with!

Highly recommend Paniscea for food and/or drinks - you can't go wrong.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    10
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“It keeps calling me back for the beers, shots and ceviche!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

The best ceviches in Orange Walk, I keep going back for the ceviche everytime just don't get brave with the peppers. And I forgot the name of it but there's a specialty shot that they also make, I do recommend asking about it, it's a part of the experience at Paniscea that you don't want to miss, located beside river, it can be great for a romantic night out as well.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
2 reviews
“Friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

The food and drinks were fresh and tasted wonderful! I would eat here again! The restaurant sits right on a river so watch out for misquitos.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Our own restaurant?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Traveling before the real tourist season hit, we came upon this little gem when it was recommended by staff at the Hotel de la Fuente. The view of the river is very nice, but the high point is definitely the staff and Lucy! Lucy is one of the owners and she stopped by for a visit to share her knowledge of the area. When we first stopped in, the restaurant/bar was in the process of opening for the day. We sampled the licuados as we enjoyed being the only patrons. Our bartender produced some of the best, most professionally prepared drinks of our trip! Try the Mudslide on a hot afternoon and don't blame me if you get a brain-freeze when drinking it too fast!

Oh, yeah... the cook is a local woman (Lucy's mother) and if I wasn't already married...

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Its Gr8!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

Gr8 environment, apart from the bugs.
Bugspray is provided.
Stone's throw away from 2 of the best hotels in OrangeWalk.
The waitstaff are very knowledgeable at what they do & actually want to help out.
Theyre gr8. Got a chance to meet the owner. He introduced himself.
The place has been revamped tremendously. Great job with the food & drink selection, man.
The server Rogy makes the best mixed drinks.
Kudos, Rogy.
Will be returning soon. Hopefully with tables for only two.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paniscea Restaurant also viewed

Orange Walk, Orange Walk District
Orange Walk, Orange Walk District
 
Orange Walk, Orange Walk District
Orange Walk, Orange Walk District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paniscea Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.