We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Impressed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Nahil Mayab Restaurant & Patio

Nahil Mayab Restaurant & Patio
Corner Guadalupe & Santa Ana Streets, Orange Walk -----, Belize
501-322-0831
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 14 Restaurants in Orange Walk
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Latin, International, Vegetarian, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Nahil Mayab Restaurant is the ideal venue in Orange Walk Town, Belize, for a family dinner, romantic date, business lunch, or to socialize. Guests can dine in our air-conditioned dining hall or in the courtyard surrounded by a lush, tropical forest garden. Choose from an array of dishes prepared by our certified chef and her team. Amenities include complimentary wireless internet and a children's playground.
Vista, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not Impressed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

We went to this restaurant based on its star review in Lonely Planet.
What a disappointment My husband ordered the Lobster Fajitas which was the better choice but the portions were small for the price and the side of beans was cold. I ordered Grilled Shrimp
which was cold and tasted terrible. I am very surprised by the good reviews of this restaurant definitely would not recommend.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    29
    8
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cathedral City, CA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“AN UNEXPECTEDLY GOOD RESTAURANT ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Orange Walk Town may not be a destination of choice for many tourists, but we were there as a base from which to visit the Mayan ruins at Lamanai. We stayed for two nights and considered ourselves fortunate to have been directed to Nahil Myab, meaning "Mayan House". The decor and furnishings are an attractive combination of mahogany furniture and a Mayan theme and the food was a very good sampling of well prepared and presented local dishes. Our four meals featured rice and beans with stewed chicken, beans and coconut rice with stewed chicken, cham cham chicken empanadas and seafood soup, all served by our waiter Jorge who also very helpfully made several local phone calls for us.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Not sure meets it's reputation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Great atmosphere-there with all Halloween stuff around. Out of the way somewhat. Staff fabulous. Despite rave reviews re food I have to say I wasn't impressed and also pretty expensive. Ate next night at tiny local "reataurant" - cost next to nothing and 5 weeks of travelling it was one of the best meals have had.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“The top restaurant is not always the best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

It was a bit of a walk at night from our hotel down some dirt lanes well hidden from the main drag. The food was good but not outstanding, but the service was excellent. We had a more enjoyable meal from the dinky diner on the main road the next night where the locals go for about a third of the price and we still haven't found anything to surpass that meal!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“So beautiful.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

I loved the food (not so much the prices), the service was slow- but considering I was with a group of about 15, it was good. Their outside area was amazing though!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nahil Mayab Restaurant & Patio also viewed

Orange Walk, Orange Walk District
Orange Walk, Orange Walk District
 
Orange Walk, Orange Walk District
Orange Walk, Orange Walk District
 

Been to Nahil Mayab Restaurant & Patio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nahil Mayab Restaurant & Patio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.