We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The name should be Excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nahil Mayab Restaurant & Patio

Nahil Mayab Restaurant & Patio
Corner Guadalupe & Santa Ana Streets, Orange Walk -----, Belize
501-322-0831
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 14 Restaurants in Orange Walk
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Latin, International, Spanish, Vegetarian, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Nahil Mayab Restaurant is the ideal venue in Orange Walk Town, Belize, for a family dinner, romantic date, business lunch, or to socialize. Guests can dine in our air-conditioned dining hall or in the courtyard surrounded by a lush, tropical forest garden. Choose from an array of dishes prepared by our certified chef and her team. Amenities include complimentary wireless internet and a children's playground.
Shepherdsville
Level Contributor
69 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“The name should be Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

Excellent look, Excellent food, Excellent staff. Great place to hang out with friends and enjoy excellent food. The staff is friendly and gracious.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    29
    8
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarteneja, Belize
1 review
“Plantains to die for.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I have to say it's not only the plantains that made this visit special, it was also the atmosphere, the people, and the ease of planning and hosting a meeting at the restaurant. The plantains were the icing on the cake. The entire process leading up to hosting the meeting was steady, and everything promised was well delivered. The staff, including the owner, that I worked with were helpful, knowledgeable, and extended excellent customer service. The day of the meeting everything went off without a hitch, and the refreshments and food were simply delicious. The coffee had hints of cinnamon, and the juices, watermelon, lime and orange, were fresh. The staff kept all of these refilled, and readily available. When lunchtime came around, the stew chicken, rice and beans, salad, potato salad, and plantains were a hit. Everyone enjoyed the food, and had nothing, but good things to say about the taste. To top it off, we were served Lemon Tart for dessert, and again, Nahil Mayab delivered excellent quality. A must go if you are ever in OWT, and don't forget to order the plantains!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
192 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere & food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

The atmosphere here is great. When we arrived we were given the option of indoor(air-conditioning/no bugs) or outdoor (beautiful garden) seating.

There is a happy hour beverage menu -- although I think it could encompass a few more drinks. My partner ordered the tacos & said they were the best he had anywhere (in the USA OR Belize)! I ordered pork which was so juicy & tender. I really enjoyed the side dishes that came with it & was able to find a certain style of plantains here (plantains amarillos as they're called in Puerto Rico) even though it was not on the menu. Thanks so much! Highly recommend!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Walk
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worth it.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Visited Nahil Mayab for a lil girls night . Surprisingly great salpicon! & the mojitos are a must! The atmosphere is also good but it was a bit too quiet.Would visit again for a more formal outing or date.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NahilMayabRestaurant, General Manager at Nahil Mayab Restaurant & Patio, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Hello IndyO23,

I am pleased to hear that you loved the salpicón, the mojitos and the atmosphere when you visited us for your lil girls night. Sorry to hear that the ambience was a bit too quiet. Please suggest how we could spice it up a bit more, so our restaurant could be more appealing for other "lil girls nights".

Regards,

Osmany Salas
GM, Nahil Mayab Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rincon, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Pleasant spot for dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Ate here twice for dinner during our stay in Orange Walk. The restaurant is visually appealing, clean and with friendly service. We opted to eat indoors due to the heat/humidity outdoors and it was comfortable. The patio did look very nice though. We had the Mayan quesadilla and the chicken cham cham..both were very good. Reasonably priced entrees. Very good overall experience.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nahil Mayab Restaurant & Patio also viewed

Orange Walk, Orange Walk District
Orange Walk, Orange Walk District
 
Orange Walk, Orange Walk District
Orange Walk, Orange Walk District
 

Been to Nahil Mayab Restaurant & Patio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nahil Mayab Restaurant & Patio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.