We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic room exellent shower” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Akihito Hotel

Akihito Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Orange Walk
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Akihito Hotel
Save Saved
You added Akihito Hotel to your Saves list
22 Queen Victoria Road, Orange Walk, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 7 Orange Walk B&B and Inns
Finland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Basic room exellent shower”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The room was basic, but then what can you expect for this price? There was no door to the bathroom and even the curtain that might have been there once was missing. The room was very clean and had probably the best shower I have ever had in Belize. There was plenty of water and it was hot. The service was always good and polite.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    5
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
6
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Smithers, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This place definitely isnt fancy, but it was a comfy clean bed and decent room for a great price. Its an old concrete building that kind of looks like an old prison. But the people that run it are friendly and helpful. I guess one drawback was that the bathroom wasnt quite up to our standards, but It was a good, cheap place to spend a night anyways.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Budget travellers will want to check this place out.
The noise in the morning (6am) is all the shops on the main road opening their steel doors, so get a room in the centre of the building. Hot showers are a plus and the place is reasonably clean. Location is great and the owners are nice. We've stayed here on 3 different occasions and it was always a good deal. I broke my nose in Sarteneja, Belize and had to go to the Orange Walk hospital. I was laid up for nearly a week in this town and this hostel was a real saviour.
When you've travelled central america for a while and been in various hostels, you will really know to appreciate this place with clean linen, tiled and clean areas/rooms, great central location and of course: reliable hot water!

Having stayed in near 100 hostels in central america. I rank this one in the top 5.

Room Tip: 2nd floor, there are 2 rooms in the centre. They are much quieter being off the street. The building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Most backpackers will choose Akihito as it's the cheapest option in town. Individual rooms are not cheap, though (30$BZ), as the dorm option (15$BZ) is only available for groups of 3+. The beds are alright, and so are the bathrooms (there is some hot water!), but it's VERY noisy as it's right off the main street. There's not much to do in town (nothing at all, actually) and you're probably here for the Lamanai site, but if you're going to visit other big Maya sites while in the area, I would avoid Lamanai as it's very expensive for the value of the visit (see my other post on this matter if you're interested).

Room Tip: You can choose one with views to the courtyard or the corridor(!!), i.e. with less light, or one wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiayintsun, T'ai-wan, Taiwan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

That is a good hotel.
It's pretty cheap, but the quality not bad.
So it's very worth.
When you travel to Orange Work, Belize.
You should choose this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Walk
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

I've been staying at the hotel on and off for over three week now (I'm on a school research project), the impression/information I got is very different from previous reviews, so I figure I should make some addition/correction to some of the older reviews:

1. First of all the price from the older reviews is wrong: The hotel have no dorms, rather they have “bunk bed” rooms for $7.50 USD per person, but the catch is that you need 3+ persons to stay in the room. For those travelling in pairs the cheapest option is still $7.50 per person (they have a room with two beds for 15 USD). But if you are travelling alone the cheapest option is $15. After looking through 3-4 budget hotels in town I believe this hotel is by far the cheapest option, the second cheapest hotel in town cost about twice as much.

2.. I've seen no cockroaches so far. The place is fairly clean, although everything looks dated. There are two cleaning ladies who are constantly mopping floors etc.

3. The address listed on TA is WRONG!!! , The Hotel is not on 22 Queen Victoria Ave but rather it's on 22 Belize Corozal Road (Queen Victoria Ave is a different part of the same road). Packages sent to 22 Queen Victoria will reach the hotel though, as long as the hotel name is clearly marked on the package (also Google Maps shows the street as Queen Victoria Ave).

4. The service is very good in my opinion. The guy at the hotel went out of his way to arrange meetings for me with several local sugar factory workers, and he even fixed my laptop (All for free).

However, do expect to pay for trivial things like borrowing their phone to call for a taxis or pizza. In general the hotel will let you borrow their phone (which is prepaid) and will charge you whatever the phone company charge them (which is A LOT, expect to pay a few dollar for even very short conversations.) If you make a lot of calls the phone bills can easily outrun the hotel bill. Land line to land line calls after 6pm are free though.

5. oh and the old review is wrong about the internet: wifi costs 2.5 USD for no matter how long you stay. It’s actually not a bad deal (there is an internet cafe close by charge a minimum of 2 USD for 1 hour).

Room Tip: stay away from
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

There are no dorm beds here, you have to come with other people, so I was stuck paying for a single room. When i asked if there were cockroaches, he said "yes, but not many, and they're impossible to get rid of." The people running it are not helpful, very obnoxious and have the strangest sense of humour. They charge you for everything here, ie the 3 minutes I used the computer to check my email and they said it would be 75 cents, so I decided to use the rest of my 15 minutes to write this review. I would not recommend this hole, nor would I ever come back!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Akihito Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akihito Hotel

Address: 22 Queen Victoria Road, Orange Walk, Belize
Location: Belize > Orange Walk District > Orange Walk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Orange Walk
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Akihito Hotel Belize/Orange Walk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Akihito Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.