We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fine eco-experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Milpa Field Station

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Orange Walk
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Milpa Field Station
Save
You added La Milpa Field Station to your Saves list
Rio Bravo Conservation and Management Area, Orange Walk 00000, Belize   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Orange Walk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Waukesha
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A fine eco-experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

I was one of 24 that came to the field station for an Eco-tour. It was so peaceful even with the rain that didn't want to let up but that was part of the experience at this time of year. Hummingbirds, exotic birds, animals and a crocodile named Lisa. They have bunks for the adventurous and bungalows for those less adventurous. I stayed in the bunks with some of our group and had a beautiful view up on the hill of the compound. Since this is a field station I was expecting primitive accommodations. Bunk rooms were very clean and comfortable with a screen room attached and a hammock to laze the evening listening to the birds and night sounds. Even the walk to the johns was a pleasant experience and on the same level as the bunk house. Have your flashlight in hand at night to witnessed beautiful moths and geckos. Everything is lit well too with occasional outages...solar sometimes can be dicey but cool! The compost toilets, shower area and sinks were modern, clean and most of all showers after a day of hiking. I didn't know what to expect but with being on an eco-tour I felt I was rewarded with a eco experience to remember. Lets just say this was much better than some of the girl scout camps I went to years ago. Melvis was an amazing leader with his detailed description of the area ruins and wildlife which being a part of his heritage made it that much more exciting. The ladies in the kitchen made our meals pleasant and delicious and would describe some of the new veggies that we at home may not be familiar with. I for one will remember this place for years to come and hope to go back again.

Room Tip: Bungalows for the less adventurous or for couples and families. Bunks for the real experience of liv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    3
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
11
23
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Eureka, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

We drove eight hours from Mexico to visit this field station and we were so excited to get there. We could not wait for a warm welcome and have a guided tour and have the wonderful experiences everyone else seemed to have here according to the trip advisor reviews. We did not get this experience. We were never offered a guided hike and we thought we were asking good questions to Melvis but It almost seemed that he was dis interested in us. We are VERY laid back travelers and don't need much at all to be happy. Plus we ate two dinners and one breakfast ( 2 people) and the food bill was $140.00 USD. That averages to $23.00 per meal. Pretty ridiculous....and again this was never explained to us. We just wanted to feel welcomed and have Melvis take us around to point out some wildlife. But it seemed like we were just in the way. We left feeling really bummed.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We travelled as a family of 5 (3 teenage children) to La Milpa and Hillbank Field Stations. Words cannot express how wonderful it was! The setting for both places was stunning. The guides and staff could not have been more knowledgable or helpful. Melvis was our guide at LaMilpa and Jorge and Marcus guided us at Hillbank. Thyra in the office also was very helpful when I was booking the vacation. I would highly recommend either (or both) of these destinations to any family interested in an exciting, educational and unique family holiday.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belize
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

This place is a perfect getaway for when you want to be with the family and be away from everything else, while at the same time, enjoy nature at its best. Everything from the cozy beds and sustainable practices to its great food makes you want to keep coming back. It's perfect whether you want to just lay down on a hammock while the kids play basketball or volleyball or whether you want to walk nature trails and seek for wildlife...there is plenty (crocodile, white-tailed deer, wild turkeys, an array of bird species..and if you are lucky enough, a puma or a jaguar). If it is not a rainy night, the sky looks so amazing for star gazing! Overall, it is a wonderful place!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

So much could be repeated from previous post as they are all true! The lodge itself is tidy, comfortable, hospitable and serves excellent food. The rooms are spacious with very nice furnishings (albeit a very low flow on the shower) with fans that are much appreciated. We had the place to ourselves which was delighful! Vladimir and Marcos were both knowledgeable and attentive. Their ability to locate birds was very much appreciated especially the chacalacas on our night drive! The resident turkey, deer and fox were a delight to see. The Maya ruins are not to be missed either. By all means, enjoy the drive to the lodge where we saw many birds and the large Mennonite community on the way. If you enjoy a glass of wine with dinner, please take your own. They have plenty of cold beer and sodas to offer but wine was limited to a rather expensive bottle of red. They will be happy to stop in Orange Walk for you to collect some provisions. Overall - marvelous, lovely people and a vacation that we will never forget! Keep up the good work for Programme Belize!

Room Tip: We stayed in Xochill which we loved for its relative seclusion. Nice porches with comfortable chair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Our 5-night stay at La Milpa was the highlight of our trip to Belize. It's a birder's and naturalist's paradise, and you get as much or as little guiding as you want. I thoroughly concur with Paula R about the incalculable value of Vladimir's expertise and attention. From the time he collected us in Belize City to our departure, his knowledge, kindness, availability and congeniality were exemplary. The project of managing this unbroken tract of forest sensitively and sustainably is one we were delighted to support by being there. Thanks to Vladimir we had some incredible opportunities (like participating in a bird species count, visiting a site of the small-scale, impressively thought-out sustainable logging operation, and a night bird watch) and some incredible luck (seeing a rare tayra and even rarer crested eagle). Food was simple, ample and delicious and the lodgings spacious and comfortable. Truly marvellous.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangeley, Maine
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

I went to Belize in February 2013 for 10 days. I spent 4 nights at Hill Bank and 4 nights at La Milpa (The first night I spent at Birdseye View Lodge, also excellent). Jorge Estrella, who was my guide for the first 5 days, is really excellent and knowledgeable about the Rio Bravo and environs.
The next 5 days, until I left, were at La Milpa, with Vladimir Rodriguez, the Manager, and Melvis Valdez, my guide. Both are very knowledgeable on the Rio Bravo and environs, and Belize as a whole, as well. Melvis is an excellent tour guide and really cool guy! The staff at both Hill Bank and La Milpa are very courteous and professional. It was a really great trip, and a 30 year old dream of mine was fulfilled by visiting the Rio Bravo and the country of Belize.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Milpa Field Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Milpa Field Station

Address: Rio Bravo Conservation and Management Area, Orange Walk 00000, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Orange Walk District > Orange Walk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Orange Walk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The La Milpa Ecolodge and Research Center on the Rio Bravo is located only three miles from the third largest archaeological site in Belize, the La Milpa Mayan Site. Guests can experience firsthand the rich history of the Maya Civilization.For accommodations, guests can choose between charming private thatched-roof cabanas with private baths with hot/cold water. La Milpa has four cabanas with 8 units that can sleep 16 persons. Or a comfortable and tastefully decorated dormitory featuring state-of-the-art ‘green’ technology that features 100% solar powered energy, no-flush composting toilets and a rainwater collection system which sleeps 30. Dining facilities, gift shop and internet wi-fi access available on site. Hiking nature trails, jungle trekking, biking and birding are the order of the day at La Milpa. Avid birders can compile a list of more than 150 species during a three day trip to our La Milpa venue. Come Explore the Natural Mystique of the Rio Bravo...An Unparalleled Eco Adventure! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Milpa Field Station Hotel Orange Walk
La Milpa Field Station Belize/Orange Walk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Milpa Field Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.