We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wild and beautiful place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Milpa Field Station

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Orange Walk
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Milpa Field Station
Rio Bravo Conservation and Management Area, Orange Walk 00000, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Orange Walk B&B and Inns
Colrain, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wild and beautiful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We spent a month in Belize and found this place to be peaceful and extremely educational. Visitors have access to trails and birding areas that are outstanding and the services of a guide named Melvis who is highly educated in both ornithology and archeology and the Maya culture. We walked through ruins that have been left untouched (with the exception of looting in the 1930's and 1940's and some US college student research that takes place for a month or two each year now). Friendly and respectful college and high school students sometimes come on field trips on weekends, but during the week the place is so quiet except for the sounds of the diverse birds and occasionally a very distant monkey call or two. We saw 4 different kinds of trogans, spider monkeys, many different species of hawks, a fox, and dozens of other rare birds and animals and learned so much about Maya culture as well as the more modern history of Belize during our walks and during our delicious buffet style meals. If you want to learn about the wildest and most peaceful part of Belize and get great value and professional guiding for a very modest price, ths is the place for you.

Room Tip: Some of the cottages are newer but they all are spacious and many would perfect for a family or grou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    2
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
20
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at La Milpa and it was a wonderful experience. They arranged pick-up and drop-off from Crooked Tree and Belize City, respectively, and it was all easy, fast and simple. At La Milpa, we found a beautifully appointed research station. I've stayed at a lot of field stations and this one is like nothing I've seen. It's immaculate with a great aesthetic while being very comfortable. No problems with hot water and drinking water is provided in the . Meals are basic but good, healthy and plentiful (fresh-squeezed juice every day!), and they were able to accommodate dietary restrictions. The station is set up to attract birds with hummingbird feeders and fruit stations, so there are plenty of views while you enjoy an outdoor meal on the patio. There's a beer/pop fridge with self-reporting to facilitate your relaxation. There was a small class from the US and only 2 other guests while we were there, so no issues with crowds at all. Students were self-absorbed and not an issue. Absolute highlight of the trip was hosting by station director, Vladimir. Rainforest birding is difficult and he was amazing at id by sight and sound; I learned a ton from this man. Book as many trips as you can to maximize learning. He had incredible patience with us, answering our myriad questions, and he worked with warmth, humour and humility. Vladimir is a class act. Trails are all easy walking so light hikers are fine. Do bring a head lamp and some insect repellent (but expect to get some chigger bites in surprising places anyway...they don't hurt, just itch after). Do expect to tip staff. They will deserve it and this station deserves more support as a non-profit helping conserve this beautiful forest.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corozal Town, Belize
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I stayed at La Milpa with friends from South Africa at the end of February 2013. Sadly we only had one night available but even so it was a wonderful trip and I was really struck the the professionalism of the service - the warm welcome, the wealth of knowledge of the bird and animal and plant life as well as the history of the area and the willingness to share it. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. As a resident of Belize it is good to have such a great place to recommend to visiting friends.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We just spent 4 days at La Milpa with our guide Melvis and had a fantastic time. Lots of birds (Melvis is an excellent guide and knows all birds by sight and sound), monkeys, and adventure. The accomodations, food are good - basic but very nice but its the hospitality of the staff and guide that make this place. Plus there is so much to do if you are into wildlife, Mayan ruins and exploring the many trails and old logging roads around the place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

My wife and I were staying in Crooked Tree. We asked a guide where we could experience a natural jungle experience within a day trip. He commented that Lamanai was nearby, but somewhat touristy. He offered to take us to La Milpa. It was a two hour ride from Crooked Tree. But, well worth the drive. The drive to La Milpa is an educational experience as one passes through several different regions. The route takes you through the Menonite area where the agricultural mastery of the Menonite people is clearly apparent. The route follows the border between Belize and Mexico. At one point, one side of the road is Mexico and the other side is Belize. The facilities at La Milpa are very appealing. The main lodge is rustic, but solidly built and clean. The surrounding gardens are beautiful. We hiked on a number of trails in the jungle with our guide. He took us to the unrestored Mayan city. It was incredible to stand in the jungle covered square of the city that was once an advanced civilization in the distant past. We were in awe of the natural beauty of the jungle and all of the wildlife. Our favorites were the Howler monkeys, the incredible variety of tropical birds, and the leaf cutter ants. There were no annoying insects during our hikes. After experiencing a small part of La Milpa during our day trip, we decided that when we return to Belize, we would like to stay in La Milpa for several days.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed there for a couple of nights in January. Having travelled to pretty much the middle of nowhere via roads that weren't that great, we were astounded by La Milpa!! Beautifully kept and the rooms were of a good standard - plenty of space and (not that common in many out-there lodges) hot water and electricity. The location is excellent for bird-lovers, especially the hummingbirds that were permanent visitors to the feeding stations. And surprisingly we even had wi-fi!!

Probably the best asset to La Milpa was Vladimir who took us on the various walks and was in effect our host for the stay. Passionate, knowledgeable and guest-focussed, he made a pleasant stay into an exceptional one.

My only criticism was the lack of other guests - this did not bother us but I very much want La Milpa to thrive as it does such valuable work. If it is to attract more tourists, a simple name-change might help - La Milpa Eco-Lodge ??!! This is, after all, what it actually IS (as well as a field station, a reserve, an archeological site and more).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cymru/Wales
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We drove here in an ordinary saloon hire car fom Tulum. The unsurfaced road after Orange Walk was no problem and route-finding easy. The impression as you arrive in La Milpa is really striking with the small number of widely spaced cabanas in a large open area. It all looks so much better maintained than we expected. The cabana was beautiful, with electric lighting. No fridge but the fridge at the bar can be used. The food was good, although little choice and limited for vegetarians. My wife and I, and son were the only ones there, so we had Vladimir to ourselves. He was very helpful and informative throughout. Our night walk was great seeing an opossum, a couple of roosting, sleeping birds, and the best view we've ever had of a tarantula which obligingly stopped still for photos. We all enjoyed greatly our day time trip to the Maya site. But perhaps best of all was just sitting in the place itself or outside having breakfast. Not only for its tranquillity but the open area makes it very good for seeing birds. For this type of place, prices were reasonable, particulary good for single travellers who pay very little more. We booked accommodation only in advance and sorted out meals and walks after we arrived. This might be more difficult in busier times.
We would have liked to have stayed longer than the 2 days we had booked!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Milpa Field Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Milpa Field Station

Address: Rio Bravo Conservation and Management Area, Orange Walk 00000, Belize
Location: Belize > Orange Walk District > Orange Walk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Orange Walk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The La Milpa Ecolodge and Research Center on the Rio Bravo is located only three miles from the third largest archaeological site in Belize, the La Milpa Mayan Site. Guests can experience firsthand the rich history of the Maya Civilization.For accommodations, guests can choose between charming private thatched-roof cabanas with private baths with hot/cold water. La Milpa has four cabanas with 8 units that can sleep 16 persons. Or a comfortable and tastefully decorated dormitory featuring state-of-the-art ‘green’ technology that features 100% solar powered energy, no-flush composting toilets and a rainwater collection system which sleeps 30. Dining facilities, gift shop and internet wi-fi access available on site. Hiking nature trails, jungle trekking, biking and birding are the order of the day at La Milpa. Avid birders can compile a list of more than 150 species during a three day trip to our La Milpa venue. Come Explore the Natural Mystique of the Rio Bravo...An Unparalleled Eco Adventure! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Milpa Field Station Hotel Orange Walk
La Milpa Field Station Belize/Orange Walk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Milpa Field Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added La Milpa Field Station to your Saves list