We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent surprise, just needs more visitors!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Milpa Field Station

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Orange Walk
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Milpa Field Station
Save
You added La Milpa Field Station to your Saves list
Rio Bravo Conservation and Management Area, Orange Walk 00000, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Orange Walk B&B and Inns
wales
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Excellent surprise, just needs more visitors!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed there for a couple of nights in January. Having travelled to pretty much the middle of nowhere via roads that weren't that great, we were astounded by La Milpa!! Beautifully kept and the rooms were of a good standard - plenty of space and (not that common in many out-there lodges) hot water and electricity. The location is excellent for bird-lovers, especially the hummingbirds that were permanent visitors to the feeding stations. And surprisingly we even had wi-fi!!

Probably the best asset to La Milpa was Vladimir who took us on the various walks and was in effect our host for the stay. Passionate, knowledgeable and guest-focussed, he made a pleasant stay into an exceptional one.

My only criticism was the lack of other guests - this did not bother us but I very much want La Milpa to thrive as it does such valuable work. If it is to attract more tourists, a simple name-change might help - La Milpa Eco-Lodge ??!! This is, after all, what it actually IS (as well as a field station, a reserve, an archeological site and more).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    2
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
22
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We drove here in an ordinary saloon hire car fom Tulum. The unsurfaced road after Orange Walk was no problem and route-finding easy. The impression as you arrive in La Milpa is really striking with the small number of widely spaced cabanas in a large open area. It all looks so much better maintained than we expected. The cabana was beautiful, with electric lighting. No fridge but the fridge at the bar can be used. The food was good, although little choice and limited for vegetarians. My wife and I, and son were the only ones there, so we had Vladimir to ourselves. He was very helpful and informative throughout. Our night walk was great seeing an opossum, a couple of roosting, sleeping birds, and the best view we've ever had of a tarantula which obligingly stopped still for photos. We all enjoyed greatly our day time trip to the Maya site. But perhaps best of all was just sitting in the place itself or outside having breakfast. Not only for its tranquillity but the open area makes it very good for seeing birds. For this type of place, prices were reasonable, particulary good for single travellers who pay very little more. We booked accommodation only in advance and sorted out meals and walks after we arrived. This might be more difficult in busier times.
We would have liked to have stayed longer than the 2 days we had booked!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belize city
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

It was arranged that we will be picked at 2:00pm in Belize City and at 2:00pm Melvis who turned up to be our guide, was right in front of our gate. Ready! During the drive to La Milpa Field Station, which lasted about 2 1/2 hours, Melvis was very attentive to our needs and explained what we will encounter at La Milpa Field Station. He did not exaggerate. We were pleased with our two cabanas, one for us and one for our two grandsons. The thatch roof cabanas were spacious and comfortable with cold and hot running water and with all the necessary furniture that you would need. The food was plentiful and the boys had a ball will the small buns and the fry jacks. Miss Ruth was very attentive to us and in a way encouraged the boys for seconds. The food that Miss Ruth prepared for us was always on time and good.
Melvis was very knowledgeable and took time to explain the history of La Milpa Field Station, the Maya Ruins and the different wildlife. He was patient with us as we slowly walk the Mayan ruins of La Milpa. The Mayan ruin is about three mile from the cabanas so he drove us there. The boys toured the ruins and climbed one of the Mayan temples.

Even though it rained a lot during our two days stay we thoroughly enjoyed our visit. There was no TV, no cell phones and so we were able to rest knowing that there will be no disturbance from the outside world.
La Milpa Field Station is beautiful, peaceful, and full of wildlife and it is the place to relax.
We are from Belize City and we encourage fellow Belizean to visit this place. You will not regret it.
We would to return to la Milpa Field Station and this may be soon.

Room Tip: All the cabanas are the same. We choose the one closest to the dinning room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

The grounds and cabanas at La Milpa were beautiful. The food was average. Our guides while there, Melvis and Vladimir, were fantastic. There is lots of amazing wildlife to see and there are many well marked trails on site, so La Milpa is a great place to explore the Belizean jungle.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

We arrived at La Milpa expecting a much more rustic experience, but were pleasantly surprised at the size and comfort of our cabana. It fits so well with a trip to Lamanai that everyone should consider this pairing to keep you in the rainforest at least one or two more nights. To stay in a cabana with hot/cold running water and flush toilets in the middle of no where is like a trip back in time with the convenience of today. The view of the Milky Way was breathtaking. We also enjoyed touring the La Milpa Maya site with Melvis to see how the sites are even discovered in the dense rainforest. Melvis is a wealth of knowledge on all the flora, fauna and Maya culture.

We loved the little honor bar where we threw back a few cold Belikins before a wonderfully delicious Belizean buffet. It was nice to have the option of eating out in the bar area or inside where you're screened in. We tried both options. After a full day we hit the bed early but not before sitting on our front porch watching the billions of stars overhead. Another thing we truly loved was birding with the general manager, Vladimir, who has been at La Milpa for 13 years. He knows just where to look and can imitate the calls of many birds. His birding scope gives you an up close view of even birds several hundred meters away.

If you want to get off the beaten path and still enjoy the basic amenities of a nice cabana, La Milpa is your answer. Combine it with a journey up the New River to Lamanai and you'll have 300 photos before you know it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

LaMilpa is the loveliest example of what traveling to the neo-tropics, especially for birding, is all about.

We found (with the amazing assistance of Vladimir, the station manager) 90 species the first 24 hours we were there. The cabanas are charming and very comfortable - especially the thought that has gone in to "places to put things" (hooks, shelves, counters in the bathroom, etc.). The food is simple, plentiful, delicious - the head cook, Ruth, has been in that position since the establishment of the station, 23 years ago. The LaMilpa un-excavated Maya ruins (10 minutes by vehicle, 45 minute walk) is rich in bird species, rich in spiritual feeling. And of course, watching the Oscillated Turkeys was a hoot.

But most importantly, revenue from tourism supports the mission of Programme for Belize for education (40 high school senior girls were studying there at the time of our visit), research, and conservation - 250,000 acres of protected habitat. The only drawback is the possibility of chiggers in the grassy campus area, but precautions are simple - stay on the cement walkways, treat your clothing with permethrin before coming, tuck your pants into socks, or wear tall boots.

My traveling/birding buddy and I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Black Creek B.C.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

My wife and myself and our 17 year old son spent early April in Belize and made the excellent choice to spend 2 nights at La Milpa. If you like birds and nature then this is the place. Accommodation is truly excellent with great private bathrooms. Vladimir and his staff do an excellent job of keeping you busy(if you choose) or you can wander on your own. Guided tours are best and information is non stop. A fantastic eco-system that needs to stay intact and a fantastic place to really relax and enjoy nature. We loved the oscillated turkeys, spider mondeys, toucans, parrots, roadside hawks, and countless songbirds that we encountered in our stay. An honor bar whic is pretty unique and a great thing so do not go there and screw this up. Not for everyone and a great adventure to get there but worth the trip and a must to add to Belize if you are thinking of travelling to C.A. We even saw a fawn whitetail deer on our drive out that must have been less then 2 days old and it was nursing with mom on the side of the road, what a great bonus. keep up the good work and do not let them ruin the Rio
bravo with oil exploration.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Milpa Field Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Milpa Field Station

Address: Rio Bravo Conservation and Management Area, Orange Walk 00000, Belize
Location: Belize > Orange Walk District > Orange Walk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Orange Walk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The La Milpa Ecolodge and Research Center on the Rio Bravo is located only three miles from the third largest archaeological site in Belize, the La Milpa Mayan Site. Guests can experience firsthand the rich history of the Maya Civilization.For accommodations, guests can choose between charming private thatched-roof cabanas with private baths with hot/cold water. La Milpa has four cabanas with 8 units that can sleep 16 persons. Or a comfortable and tastefully decorated dormitory featuring state-of-the-art ‘green’ technology that features 100% solar powered energy, no-flush composting toilets and a rainwater collection system which sleeps 30. Dining facilities, gift shop and internet wi-fi access available on site. Hiking nature trails, jungle trekking, biking and birding are the order of the day at La Milpa. Avid birders can compile a list of more than 150 species during a three day trip to our La Milpa venue. Come Explore the Natural Mystique of the Rio Bravo...An Unparalleled Eco Adventure! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Milpa Field Station Hotel Orange Walk
La Milpa Field Station Belize/Orange Walk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Milpa Field Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.