We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chabil Mar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Chabil Mar to your Saves list
Chabil Mar
Placencia Road, Placencia, Belize   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
CONTACT US 4 BEST OFFER
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Placencia
Seneca Falls, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

There are not enough words that could truly describe our amazing stay at Chabil Mar Villas. From the moment that we arrived to the moment that we left we were treated like we were royalty. The customer service exceeded expectations. Everyone wanted to make sure that our every want and need was taken care of. This is something that we are not accustomed to. The Villas are breathtakingly located on a cove and beautifully maintained. Each villas has a view of the ocean/sea. The first morning as arrival I took my four year old daughter for a walk on the beach and we saw a small stingray and seahorse. Later on we snorkeled off Chabil's beach area and found star fish. It was a great experience for her. The pools were fabulously maintained and a great joy to spend your day in during the hot August sun. Not a cloudy or rainy day occurred during our stay. All the rain held of for the night!

If you enjoy a vacation somewhat off the beaten path then this is a vacation spot for you! We enjoyed going to the town of Placencia. It is quaint and you get to immerse yourself in their culture.

I can keep going but it would be never ending positive feedback. We especially would like to recognize the following staff that worked so hard to make our stay unforgettable - Natalie, Albert, Danny, Amen, and Senscio. All of the employees are hard workers starting early and working late! Thank you for a memorable vacation and we have never said this before about any place that we have vacationed to - We are already planning our next vacation to Chabil Mar Villas !

OH PS - on your trip to Placencia - you must eat at Omars!

Yours Truly,
Brandi, Terry, and Lilly Deeds

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    426
    42
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
118
247
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

I've stayed at Chabil Mar four times now. It is far and away the nicest place in Placencia, and much nicer even than the places I have stayed on Ambergris Cay. The villas are opulent, and the staff caters to your every whim.

The diving and flyfshing is remarkable, and the people at Chabil Mar know the best guides to connect you to.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

just returned from an exciting 3 week family holiday to Belize. We wanted the final 5 days to be somewhere relaxing after days of adventure / trips in other parts of the country.
Chabil Mar offers it all, fantastic accomodation , great meals,stunning location, lovely beach and pier (had dinner out there one evening). Above all the staff are amongst the best in the world and met all our requests in minutes. They even baked a cake, sang happy birthday and gave a free meal to my eldest son on his birthday! My youngest son wanted to fish so they organised that for us off the pier one afternoon.
To top it all off they even supplied golf carts to us free of charge for a few days use!
When we wanted to eat out they recommended places - all superb! also the village has the best ice cream shop ( made daily)that we came across in belize.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendocino, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

I've been to Belize before and loved it. But this place....wow! Far exceeded my expectations, both in terms of comfort and service. The setting is lovely; the staff is adorable and helpful above and beyond what is typical. The condo in which we stayed (#11) was absolutely immaculate with a great balcony and outdoor dining table, great fixtures and furniture and spacious rooms with fabulous bathrooms, ceiling fans and nice linens. Having the washer and dryer in the condo was a much-appreciated bonus, also.

We loved the sea kayaks, the chaises by the water, the swimming pools, and the bicycles.
The staff was so gracious with us, even when we called several times a day to ask about the wifi service after a rain. I got some axle grease on my hands one night (long story--my own fault, though) and the security guard went way out of his way to find me some detergent for my hands, and THEN he came back later to check on me!!! How sweet.
Freshly squeezed Lime juice, tranquil waters, smiling staff and gorgeous landscaping complimented this already incredibly friendly town of Placencia. I can't imagine going back and staying anywhere else now. I am completely ruined!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

We absolutely loved our stay at Chabil Mar. The air conditioning was powerful, the service was impeccable and the rooms were comfortable. The attention to detail at this resort is flawless.

Area is quiet but close to town and security staff is friendly, helpful and effective. You won't worry about your valuables here.

The grounds are lush, beautiful and well-kept. We enjoyed the staff, the pool and the beach. Albert the bar tender stands out as a favorite.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

My wife and I had the most amazing time at this place. The setting is beautiful, the attentiveness of the staff is greatly appreciated. The thai massage is truly unsurpassable.
We had great help in making decisions on what to do while we are here from the very knowledgeable staff. Even when the rain came it seemed like we were a world away on the covered deck overlooking the peaceful shore. We wish we had a couple of extra days to enjoy this serene place some more. We will definitely try to come back and stay here again and again and again!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2010

We spent the second half of our Belize honeymoon at Chabil Mar. It was absolutely wonderful. We arrived in Placencia on a tiny plane and were driven to Chabil Mar on a golf cart. We immediately were given a glass of fresh lime juice. The service during our entire stay was exceptional. Our gardenview room was beautiful. It even smelled delightful, as there was a wonderfully refreshing scent in the AC. We visited during the low season, so there were only 8 people at the resort during our stay, which meant we had the place to ourselves. It was wonderful.

Chabil Mar's 2 pools are great, as is the beach. The dock is also lovely. We spent many afternoons sitting in the pool, staring out at the ocean, while drinking Belikins. There is no dining area but you can order food to be served wherever you like, whether on your porch, by the pool, or out on the dock. We had our last meal on the dock which was absolutely beautiful, and the lobster was delicious. Our breakfasts every morning were delicious. Most nights we borrowed the bikes and rode into town for dinner.

The waitstaff was extremely attentive, always making sure we had enough drinks and food. The entire resort was absolutely spotless at all times.

While we were here, we rented the French Louie Caye for the day which was absolutely amazing. The owner of the Caye picked us up in a boat and drove us to the island. the only people there were the owner, the guide, and us. We then spent the day snorkeling with our guide, catching lobster to grill for lunch. It was beautiful. We also took a great snorkeling trip with Avadon divers. Our last day we took a boat tour of Monkey River, with Percy Gordon, king of the howlers. We saw howler monkeys, crocodiles, manatees, and iguanas. Chabil Mar setup all of these wonderful trips for us.

Staying here was so luxurious, it was like a dream. We never had to worry about a thing. We'd definitely go back there again the next time we're in Belize!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chabil Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chabil Mar

Address: Placencia Road, Placencia, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
#1 Family Hotel in Placencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chabil Mar is the Guest Exclusive Resort of Placencia, Belize. All Caribbean Front Villas and the closest full service resort to the Village of Placencia. Restaurant and Bar, two infinity beach-side pools, private beach and pier, on-site concierge services to include tour and adventure reservations. Villas are approximately 1000 square feet of living space, include a personal veranda. Al fresco dining throught the resort. A stroll along the beach, bicycle, kayak or golf cart provides easy, at your leisure access, to all Village activities. Specialize in Destination Weddings and Honeymoons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Chabil Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chabil Mar Hotel Placencia
Chabil Mar Placencia
Chabil Mar Belize/Placencia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chabil Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.