We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best place i ever stayed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chabil Mar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Chabil Mar to your Saves list
Chabil Mar
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Placencia Road, Placencia, Belize   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
CLICK HERE 4 SPECIALS
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Placencia
Placerville california
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“best place i ever stayed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2010

when we first arrived at Chabil Mar words can not explain our surprise, the pictures we saw on the web site did no justice to the sheer beauty we experienced. We were welcome with warm smiles and first class treatment. and yummy fruity drinks with in seconds. Our villa was the best place i have ever stayed in. We were all at home and stress free the moment we got there witch if you are a traveler you know how hard that can be some times to stress from long flights and the hustle and bustle of travel. Juan, Danny, and Mark help us with every whim and soon became our new good friends in Placencia.
We never wanted to leave the villa but when we did Danny and the others would think of things before we could even ask like an ice chest full of waters before our venture to monkey river. oh by the way if you are searching for the best strawberry daiquiri in the world Danny makes that daiquiri. Have one and your search will be over.
My brother in law Jesse proposed to his girlfriend on the dock of Chabil Mar. And it truly was a event to remember the gardener stayed an hour late just to prepare the most striking flower arrangement and palm arch we have ever seen for this occasion.
So if my constant raving of Chabil Mar was not enough to make you want to go I'm not sure what will.
Every one there exceeded our expectations and stole our hearts and we will be forever grateful for them and there friendships.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    473
    45
    10
    0
    0
See reviews for
130
278
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Denver, CO
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2010

Our stay at the Chabil Mar Villas was everything we expected and more. After reading on Trip Advisor that it was the top-rated resort in Belize, our expectations were high and we were not disappointed. The location is probably on one of the nicest stretches of beach along the Placencia shoreline. They keep it very clean and there is a picturesque thatched roof dock about 100 feet or so off the shoreline that is perfect for a nice meal setting or just simply taking in the gorgeous view. Our room was immaculate with all of the modern conveniences that you really don't get at most any other accommodation in Placencia. Specifically, it was air-conditioned with glass windows. Most places only have screened openings and so it can get a little warm (and even a little cool in the winter if a cold front comes through). It was very spacious and had a huge private balcony that overlooked the beach and ocean. The only negative about the room was that the water pressure and sometimes the hot water were a bit lacking. That was a bit surprising since it was only built about five years ago and so should have the latest plumbing systems. If there was any one thing that stood out as the most memorable aspect of Chabil Mar, it would have to be the staff. We've never been anywhere that we were treated any nicer. From the front desk (Ms. Natalie and Althea) to the food and pool guys (Juan and Danny), they were the best. They always had a smile, a kind word and would go out of there way to do anything they possibly could for us. To be fair, there was one attribute of Chabil Mar that I think could fairly easily be improved. That was the food. It was not bad but it was not great either. That's a common description of food in Belize in general but not really a valid excuse. We dined at the Inn at Roberts Grove a couple of times and recognized that really good food could be had on the peninsula. If Chabil Mar could raise the bar on the quality of their food to match or even exceed Roberts Grove, then no place else could touch it. Overall, ours was a fantastic experience and we would heartily recommend Chabil Mar to anyone seeking a tranquil and luxurious Caribbean vacation.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2010

This was our second trip to Chabil Mar and it continues to impress. While the beach is not what you'd expect (lots of weed), everything else is fantastic. The staff bend over backwards to satisfy. It's a 10 minute walk along the beach to town or you can use one of their golf carts. (Bring a flashlight if you're walking back along the beach at night!!)
The room service food is excellent! Love this place!
If you're looking for an excursion, have Percy take you through the mangrove and the jungle!! Ask for him by name at the front desk.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2009

We hosted our daughters wedding at Chabil Mar and it was a fairy tale event from start to finish.Our 80 plus guest stayed at the resort and everyone loved the entire week.
The staff was fantastic and attended our every need.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2009

We just got home from our third stay at the villas. They make it feel like a home away from home. I can't say enough about it, since obviously we choose the Chabil Mar each time we visit Placencia. It is THE #1 place to stay if you like the comforts of home, along with service that makes you feel like the rich and famous.
We love everyone there.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2009

If you want to stay in an incredibly beautiful setting, experience the best service, and taste fabulous food, THIS is the place! From the moment we arrived through our checkout, we were treated as Very Special People by everyone, including the grounds keepers. No diningroom; they have something better! Order off the menu and your meals will be served wherever you like, including poolside by candle light!
The villa's rooms were beyond reproach, the two infinity pools inviting overlooking the Caribbean Sea and the grounds were candy for the eyes.
Just down the road is an old fashioned quaint fishing and diving town with lots of casual dining and entertainment. See the pics and judge for yourself

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2009

We chose Chabil Mar Villas based on all of the great tripadvisor reviews - we were NOT disappointed, we definitely made the right choice! Do not put any stock into the other couple of reviews that are mediocre.
Chabil Mar villas are beautiful and the grounds are very well kept. The villa was clean and the maid always cleaned according to our schedule. When we arrived, there was a card in our room welcoming us to the villas along with a vase of fresh tropical flowers and complimentary Belizean chocolate bars for each of us, an appreciated touch! We ate breakfast every morning on our porch and it was wonderful. All of the food that we ate at Chabil Mar was excellent and fresh. I even had some chicken strips and you could tell that they were fresh, sooo good. The ceviche is awesome. We caught some of our own fish and gave them to the kitchen to cook up - it was fantastic. We did that 3 nights in a row and every time it was the same high quality preparation and beautiful food presentation. They did a great job (plus it was nice to not have to clean/gut our own fish while on vacation!). They have a roaming kitchen, meaning there is no actual sit-down place, but rather a menu in your villa and you can order anything from the menu and have it delivered to whereever you want to eat it - on the beach, by the pool, on your porch, etc. A very neat concept and they don't charge extra for it. Their menu prices are reasonable, especially for a hotel of this price range (not cheap by any means though). But, plan to spend an average of $10+ per meal (depending on what you get of course) per person - of course that can get pricey over time. We bought some snacks and milk/cereal at the local grocery shop and don't forget that there is a full kitchen in each villa.
The staff is the best that we've ever come across (and we've done a lot of traveling). The front desk staff; Robert, Althea and Natalie, are super friendly, caring and will do anything to make your stay perfect. Take their advice on tour operators and tours in general.
The waitstaff - the ones that bring you your food from the kitchen/drinks, etc - Marc, Amin and DeShaun are the nicest guys. They are all so genuinely friendly, without being fake. They are completely attentive to you, the guest, and always have a smile on their faces.
The day security guard, Chris, is very friendly too - he has all kinds of practical advice on things to do, etc, if you ask him. Really nice guy, and just fun to talk to.
I actually can't even say enough about all of the staff at Chabil Mar - they go above and beyond, super friendly and we really enjoyed having conversations with them.
There are 2 pools - great temperature, easy to just wade right in. I think we got lucky when we were there, because we pretty much had the pools to ourselves the entire time. The atmosphere is great - tropical, quiet and peaceful. They do play some music on the speakers, but we found it to be relaxing (not spring-breakish at all - we've been to spring break locations and this is the complete opposite).
The villas are a short golf cart drive into town, which we didn't mind whatsoever. The food that we ate in Placencia was all very good. Remember that this is a town that caters to tourists, so prices reflect that at the stores/tours somewhat. You still can get a full meal - fish, rice/beans, vegetables for $12US (at Wendy's - NOT the fast food chain!). Also remember that most all prices are in Belizean currency, unless otherwise noted. I always ask to make sure though. While we were in Placencia, we did a bunch of snorkeling tours, which were great, the monkey river tour, and diving with Avadon Divers - our total experience was excellent. If you like a non-touristy experience and are interested in doing more privatized activities (instead of with a boat full of people), then ask the front desk to arrange a tour with Percy. He's the best and you can designate what you do and for how long. The best choice we made was using him as our guide, but we are adventurous and up for anything (and definitely not bothered by swearing! lol).
We were at Chabil Mar for 9 days, and enjoyed every minute of it. My husband's birthday was half way through our visit and the staff surprised us with a big chocolate birthday cake for my husband! I had no idea about it and was very grateful, we thought it was so nice of them to do that.
A note about the rooms themselves - the bathrooms were tiled/decorated really neatly, the beds were very comfortable (important to me), the hot water in the shower was constant and consistent, the villa itself was a good size, ample room. They give you great hand made soaps in the bathroom too. Loved the free WIFI and the air conditioning was nice to have. The grounds were beautiful and the paths easy to walk on. We did go over to Turtle Inn and found that their pool was small and the paths a little rocky to walk on, plus they don't have air conditioning or free wifi, so that was a big factor in us choosing Chabil Mar over Turtle Inn, and we are glad we did.
Obviously, we had an excellent time at Chabil Mar and would go there again in a heartbeat. You won't be disappointed!
Thank you to everyone at Chabil Mar for making this the best vacation we've ever had!! =)

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chabil Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chabil Mar

Address: Placencia Road, Placencia, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
#1 Luxury Hotel in Placencia
#1 Family Hotel in Placencia
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chabil Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chabil Mar is the Guest Exclusive Resort of Placencia, Belize. All Caribbean Front Villas and the closest full service resort to the Village of Placencia. Restaurant and Bar, two infinity beach-side pools, private beach and pier, on-site concierge services to include tour and adventure reservations. Villas are approximately 1000 square feet of living space, include a personal veranda. Al fresco dining throught the resort. A stroll along the beach, bicycle, kayak or golf cart provides easy, at your leisure access, to all Village activities. Specialize in Destination Weddings and Honeymoons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Chabil Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chabil Mar Hotel Placencia
Chabil Mar Placencia
Chabil Mar Belize/Placencia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chabil Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.